PDA

View Full Version : Testing...


Vchat20
13th May 2003, 13:05
Testing MY Connection to see If I can handle 128kbps. Tune in HERE (http://65.40.72.97:8000/listen.pls)

matt2kjones
13th May 2003, 13:18
just tuned in and its broadcasting at 24k not 128k

but apart from that its streaming just fine

whats your upload bandwidth, let us know and we can tell you how many listeners u can handle

Vchat20
13th May 2003, 13:21
are you sure? I am sure I had it set at 128k

anyways, my upload is about like 150k or so. im not sure. I did this as an alternative to dslreports and the like cuz they dont seem too accurate to me.

well, im gonna try again. same link as shown above.

Vchat20
13th May 2003, 13:35
well, its running. did test it myself though and it was 128kbps. not sure if that would be different for you since you would use a totally different ip than me. but technically it should be exactly the same, so dont see the problem.

matt2kjones
13th May 2003, 13:46
just connected again and its 128k now

but 5 secs into the track it buffered

then started playing, then buffered, then playing then buffered

and so on

tested it on a 1024k/sec connection

Vchat20
13th May 2003, 13:49
hmm. guess I cant handle it. I know I can listen to 128k streams, but cant broadcast apparently.

Just a question: how different is 96kbps from 128kbps in sound quality?

DJHotIce
13th May 2003, 21:18
yes I get the error sometimes too! matt2kjones do you use RealPlayer?

MStar
13th May 2003, 22:42
Originally posted by Vchat20
hmm. guess I cant handle it. I know I can listen to 128k streams, but cant broadcast apparently.

Just a question: how different is 96kbps from 128kbps in sound quality?

Not Much, You Can Even Safely Go Down To 56kbps Mono And It Sounds Fine.

Vchat20
13th May 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by DJHotIce
yes I get the error sometimes too! matt2kjones do you use RealPlayer?

from the DNAS log it looks like he was using Winamp 2.9 .

Psythik
13th May 2003, 23:11
96k tends to have a little less treble and more bass. Plus rock music sounds pretty bad on it, due to the fact that drums and guitars don't sound great on lower biterates (drums will sound like they're played with broken sticks and guitars will sound like they're underwater), although its not too horrible. However, it sounds fine with rap, trance, and other higher pitched music. However, don't go lower than 80k, esp. if you're using Shoutcast Source 1.8.2 (56k sounds fine on 1.8.0, though.)

rgATL
13th May 2003, 23:43
The 128 --> 24 problem could be this bug: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=89324 I had that problem too, so I use encoder/output 1 for 24 and encoder/output 2 for 128.

rg.

dirtysouthradio
14th May 2003, 09:13
I USE 24 K IT SOUNDS FINE FOR MY RAP MUSIC

DJHotIce
14th May 2003, 20:52
freaky! Thats a possiblility really! we'll if its a bug or not! I got 128 at that time! huh!

CluelessIce
15th May 2003, 06:59
I HAVE TO AGREE WITH ScYtH_2088..I NOW MANY STIL DEALING WITH DAIL UP. BUT TO RUN ON 24K JUST FOR MORE LISNERS IS NOT VERY GOOD IDE.AND MUSIK THAT ARE ENCODED IN 128KBPS SOUND TARIBLE AT 24K

dirtysouthradio
15th May 2003, 07:30
not really tune in to my station and see

www.dirtysouthradio.com

Jack Takahashi
15th May 2003, 11:04
Just a question. Can I have my DSP upload directly to a website and have people stream from there or do they have to be linked to my pc directly through my own localhost server?
Thanks in advance :)

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 11:13
if you want your mp3's to sound better then you simply do this.

buy a good encoder, or find a good encoder.

the better the encoder, the better it will sound, even if its at lower bitrates.

{quote]
Just a question. Can I have my DSP upload directly to a website and have people stream from there or do they have to be linked to my pc directly through my own localhost server?
Thanks in advance
[/quote]

you can have your dsp upload to a remote DNAS server at a host. By free hosts dont tend to run DNAS servers as they are bandwidth intensive.

you can however, stream tracks 'on demand' from your site. If you not sure what 'on-demand' is then do a search for it.

Jack Takahashi
15th May 2003, 11:18
How can you make a host run a remote DNAS server?

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 11:23
well most webhosts wont.

if your looking for remote hosting then you need to find a DNAS host.

but you need to be willing to pay for per listener

there are many DNAS hosts that post on these boards

do a search for: DNAS hosting

that will return a bunch of threads. some are even offering free DNAS hosting (dont know whether its genuin offer, but who knows???)

Jack Takahashi
15th May 2003, 11:30
heh, alrighty, thanks a lot matt. By the way congrats, you got a great radio there :D

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 11:32
thanx and your welcome,

good luck with shoutcast :)

Vchat20
22nd May 2003, 23:02
ok. im still tesintg here. trying to find the optimum bitrate for dialup users. and so far i seem to find 40kbps, 16khz, stereo to be quite good. only one problem, it uses 5kbps and not 4kbps like the normal 24kbps bitrate does, so I think it is going to be an issue for dialuppers. but just to test, anyone is welcome but im looking for 56kers only at this point. tune in @ http://65.164.21.235:8000/listen.pls

P.S. i am using Sam encoders plugin with the Radium codec already installed if that makes much difference from the usual shoutcast plugin

Jay
22nd May 2003, 23:41
generally the optimal bitrate for dialup is 24kbps as dialup users have a dynamic connection and rarely ever actually acheive a decent consistant connection above 32kbps.

Jay

Vchat20
22nd May 2003, 23:46
yes, but you seem to forget I said it is 16khz and not 22khz so it allows more room for the kbps part.

anyways, can a dialup user plz test this?

Vchat20
24th May 2003, 21:19
im testing again as I have not gotten a clear answer from dialup users. the listen link is http://65.164.21.235:8000/listen.pls