PDA

View Full Version : Linux/Windows Lan Problem


DJ Black
15th May 2003, 15:49
Hi everyone, somehow I got stuck and I need help urgently.I've able to broadcast inside the LAN of 13 pc's (NT workstations) being connected to the net by my ISP using a linux box ,am really new to linux myself.I'd be glad if anyone could help me cos I'd read most of the answers in the forum and have not come across any possible solution to mine.I'd be glad if anyone here reading could refer me to any.
_____________________________________________________________________

<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] initializing (usermax:32 portbase:8000)...
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] No ban file found (sc_serv.ban)
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] No rip file found (sc_serv.rip)
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] opening source socket
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] source thread starting
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] opening client socket
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [source] listening for connection on port 8001
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] Client Stream thread [0] starting
<05/15/03@02:56:42> [main] client main thread starting
<05/15/03@02:56:57> [source] connected from 192.168.0.xxx (local ip)
<05/15/03@02:56:57> [source] icy-name:Radio Ghana ; icy-genre:high life
<05/15/03@02:56:57> [source] icy-pub:1 ; icy-br:24 ; icy-url:http://www.shoutcast.com
<05/15/03@02:56:57> [source] icy-irc:#shoutcast ; icy-icq:0 ; icy-aim:N/A
<05/15/03@02:57:00> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<05/15/03@02:57:00> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (Cannot see your station/computer (IP: 216.252.xxx.xxx:8000 (Linux box ip ) ) from the Internet, disable Internet Sharing/NAT/firewall/ISP cache (Connection refused))
<05/15/03@03:02:02> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<05/15/03@03:02:02> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (Cannot see your station/computer (IP: 216.252.xxx.xxx:8000) from the Internet, disable Internet Sharing/NAT/firewall/ISP cache (Connection refused))
<05/15/03@03:07:05> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
____________________________________________________________________


This is the error I keep getting and so none of my friends outside my LAN can listen,it's only the Clients in the LAN that are able to tune in,pls what best can I do about this.Any response would be very much appriciated.

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 15:53
which system is the dnas running on, the linux gateway, or one of the windows pc's connected to the linux box

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 16:10
Pls its running on one of the windows pc's connected to the linux box

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 16:13
ok then. i take it you are running a firewall on the linux machine which allows the work stations to access the internet yes??? if no, let me know how your achieving this.

if you are using a firewall, you need to forward, 'route' all requests sent to the linux box, on port 8000, to the windows box, which runs the dnas server.

do you understand what i mean???

also, is there any reason ur running the dnas on the windows machine and not the linux one???

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 16:24
okay,I called my isp to disable the firewall and they've done,so now I'm not behind any fireall and I can even ping yahoo direct from any of the windows pc's using the win command prompt.

I thought about installing the DNAS on the linux,but I don't know how to do that,I do have root access to the linux box,so I am able to access most of the configurations ,but fact is am pretty new at linux,so I would wish if you could advice what to do?should I build my own linux box and configure it and then install the DNAS,would that take yearsss ? Or could you help me install the DNAS ? am just confused about what to do .Pls advise :(

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 16:27
also ,how about the forward you talked about ? could it be possible to have any outside request ,forwarded to the windows pc running the DNAS? If yes pls how ?Thankx

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 16:30
the dnas is pratically completly the same when it runs on the linux box.

does ur server have ssh access???

if so, u could create a user, i could install it for you, then it would all be running fine, thats up to you.

firstly tho, how does you network operate, is the linux machine acting as a gateway or router???

or do u have a seperate router?

let me know

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 16:32
Originally posted by DJ Black
also ,how about the forward you talked about ? could it be possible to have any outside request ,forwarded to the windows pc running the DNAS? If yes pls how ?Thankx

yes thats what i meant. What allows the lan pc's access to the internet. do you have a router???

or, is the linux machien set up as a gateway

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 16:46
okay,thanks for all your quick response,pls the linux is what connects me to my ISP,I don't have any other thing,it has two network cards, one that talks to my ISP and one that talks to the windows based LAN.As I said am pretty new to Linux,I think creating an account for u to install won't be any problem,but then could u let me know how i could do that? thankx, but then I don't know if you could see my IP on the net ?I could email you the ip

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 19:03
mate, i tell you what

goto http://www.webmin.com

download that control panel

its a web based administration panel for linux

it makes everything much easier, like adding users and such...

once u got that, let me know, and i will install the DNAS for you.

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 19:53
I did go to redhat's website and read on creating accounts,I've now created an account on the linux box ,but i'd wish if you could promise installing it on a directory where it would be dificult for my ISP to detect cos I don't want them to know i've got root access.If that's not possible then I guess I'd got to build a linux box myself and then swap it with what they gave me and use it just when I wanna streaming.How about that ? Pls advice.

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 19:59
ok but isn't the linux box ur machine??? or is it ur isps???

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 20:15
it is the ISP'S pls ,could i build my own ,and is it possible to do that ,or i need special traiing?pls advice

Tom
15th May 2003, 20:22
Have you tried contacting your ISP and asking them if they could setup ipchains or iptables on the Linux box to forward tcp traffic on port 8000 to a machine on your LAN?

Tom

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 20:25
i've got a spare pc with good spec's that I could easily load linux on .Pls advice what to do

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 20:32
mate your better off running it on your own system

your isp might not be impressed if you install the DNAS on their system

DJ Black
15th May 2003, 20:55
thanks , ur guess was as good as mine,I guess i'd got to get my own box and swap it with their's whenever I wanna stream.I'd get back to you in due time.thanks so much for ya resourcefulness

matt2kjones
15th May 2003, 21:13
no problem, just send me a private message or post a new thread if u need anymore help in the future...