PDA

View Full Version : General help from people with experience

craigjuk
14th November 2006, 15:00
Hi there, wondering if people can help me sort out everything, here is my situation..

I'm here because i would like to have a show on a radio station, however i have no experience at all of this, so i figured if i got my own station started i could use this to broadcast when i wanted to, and get myself some experience and learn as i went along.

I've got the station, its all set up, however im only allowed about 20 listeners and its streaming at 24kps.

I've searched the forum and read a load of stuff both on here and on other websites, but to be honest theres that much information saying things its all a bit blurred really.

What im after is some advice from someone who has experience of starting from scratch, all i have at the moment is my station, nothing else.

Extra bandwidth? how much? how cheap?
How to promote things? again, cost?
A radio website?
A license? which one?

I've seen guides and things which give me options for the above, but im looking for peoples experiences in getting the above.

And of course, if i do go the way i want to, i want to be an actual show DJ not just on my own station, unless other people became involved in my station.

I hope that half makes sense, sorry if it doesnt, and any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Craig

sputnik radio
14th November 2006, 15:45
I sent you a PM

Nick@ss
14th November 2006, 17:00
For bandwidth see http://www.radiotoolbox.com/hosts
there are plenty of reviewed hosts there for you to look at, dont spend a fortune just grow into what you need.

Look for quality hosting as getting a station up and running is hard enough without having the main element eg the server falling over and creating more work and a bad image,
There are plenty of options available for you to keep your server 24/7 when no one is live and reducing the work for you, so its worth looking into different sites.