PDA

View Full Version : our little spectrum analyser


g1981c
21st June 2001, 02:51
it does not show any lines for the bass region - what the ? I am sure that would not be a huge technical problem to fix this. I mean if you gonna do something - do it right, or take that defective analyser completely off the winamp

It pisses me off cuz i hear bass on my speakers (my computer is connected to mini-system) but i do not see any representation of it on the analyser

sgtfuzzbubble011
21st June 2001, 04:37
I can see a response (albeit a small one) from the spectrum analyzer all the way down at 25hz. Bass freqs range from about 160hz or so on down, so the spectrum analyzer isn't broken. :)

s1138
21st June 2001, 13:05
does the song have any bass in it?

g1981c
21st June 2001, 17:19
perhaps it does work in some weird way but thats not how its supposed to work, MOST musical sound energy lies around 80 hz or so; and that analyser at most gives a single line for all of that - have they heard of logarithmic scale? octaves?

i suspect they might have devided the sound like 0-1000, 1000-2000, 2000-3000, 3000-4000 etc... well thats retarded;

it should be like, 20-40, 40-80, 80-160, 160-320 etc - LOGARITHMIC

all i know is that i play 20 hz test tone and 100 hz test tone and the same line lights up - BS

John M
21st June 2001, 17:51
my, we're idiots. :rolleyes:

ampburner
21st June 2001, 22:04
dude you're taking this way too serious...the only purpose of the analyzer is to sit there and look kool. And it does :)

simon snowflake
21st June 2001, 22:34
as far as i know (but who am i) it works with/like the EQ-bars.
[b]60 170 310 600 1000 3000 12000 14000 16000[b]

g1981c
22nd June 2001, 06:26
i know that its purpose is to sit there, look cool and have blinking lights; but you put out so many versions of winamp already; and there aren't really any improvements

"minibrowser functionality improved" - so what, who needs it?

it's not hard to make this useless blinking device into something more respectable, so why not do it

g1981c
22nd June 2001, 06:52
by the way simon, 160/60 = 2.7 but 16000/14000 = only 1.14; that is not logarithmic scale at all;

indeed the way they represented bass is exactly the way it sounds on cheap desktop speakers, perhaps they should allow for it to be changed in the options, so that analyser could work both ways

sgtfuzzbubble011
23rd June 2001, 03:19
Preferences --> Options --> Visualization

Then set your spectrum analyzer to thin bands. This should give you more of what you were looking for. :)

s1138
23rd June 2001, 03:31
there are over a hundred winamp vis plugins, and you want to use the one built into winamp:D

oh well, whatever floats your boat

Charmander
3rd July 2001, 05:23
The WVS Simple Analyser May Not Be Bars but use it any way. Set it to top then X2 and make the second one the oscilloscope that way its like both the built in ones as it almost should be. another factor with bass. Is it Hard ware Driven (DBB) (DBFB) (X-Bass). Switch To The DEE plugin for winamp. It Can give greater control like an external subwoofer control knob for frequency and intensity and even for flat stereos/sound blaster. "3D sound".

Winsane
11th July 2001, 05:10
You can find a little more info on this subject (though no solutions) in these two threads:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=41143
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=41482

chiquita chad
11th July 2001, 05:36
here's a link to solve your bitching g1981c
dont go loco over spilled milk kid (http://sonique.com)

Master of the Obvious
12th July 2001, 15:32
*gasp* Chiquita, that's NOT the solution, it's the easy way out. Don't ruin your life like that! You still have plenty going for you! Don't destroy your life by using Sonique!

nateJC
12th July 2001, 19:55
No, no, put down the Sonique. Put it down slowly! PUT IT DOWN!! OH, GOD!!!! NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hate it when Forum members take themselves out this way. Anyone seen the mop around?

P.S. to Master of the Obvious: If you had mastered the obvious, you would know that your sig is obviously too large. The general rule is under 15KB in size and a total of 12,500 pixels (Image height x Image width = Total number of pixels).

bob6969696
6th May 2007, 20:30
so when is the sepctrum analyser gonna be fixed back to normal, as in when frequencies from about 30hz to 20khz showed up and not like now where its from i'd guess 3khz and up with the last 4-5 bars unused since there isnt frequencies over 20khz we can hear, so its not in the music. Anyways what im getting at is when is it gonna be fixed, version 5.34 and still no change.

ElChevelle
6th May 2007, 20:43
What's the frequency Kenneth?

Mr Jones
7th May 2007, 11:17
bob6969696, you signed up and dug up a 6 year old thread to ask your question?

Muppet.

siebe83
7th May 2007, 11:30
Nah, he signed up, waited for 2 years and then dug up a 6 year old thread to ask his question.

Prowler7
7th May 2007, 22:39
I wasn't satisfied with any of the existing spectrum analysers, so I revived a plugin I originally coded in 1998.

Hopefully it will be published soon, until then you can find it in a dev forum thread: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=270809

Wildrose-Wally
8th May 2007, 01:38
Originally posted by Prowler7
Hopefully it will be published soon,
Wisfull thinking. It Likely will be a while before any plugins get published, as there is nobody really reviewing them.

Prowler7
8th May 2007, 02:17
Originally posted by Wildrose-Wally
Wisfull thinking. It Likely will be a while before any plugins get published, as there is nobody really reviewing them. Crud. Well you have "reviewer" under your name, what happened, you retired? :p

Mr Jones
8th May 2007, 06:32
Originally posted by Prowler7
I wasn't satisfied with any of the existing spectrum analysers, so I revived a plugin I originally coded in 1998.

Hopefully it will be published soon, until then you can find it in a dev forum thread: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=270809

I remeber that, was probably the first and only plugin I installed back in the day.

I might review it myself as I know what it does and how it should behave, I might only be a lowly skin reviewer like Wally, but dabble occasionally in plugz.

Mr Jones
8th May 2007, 06:33
Originally posted by siebe83
Nah, he signed up, waited for 2 years and then dug up a 6 year old thread to ask his question.

Double muppet in that case.

Prowler7
24th May 2007, 15:42
So somehow my Classic Spectrum Analyzer plugin exe turned into a 0 byte download. Naturally I got no response in the dev forum about the problem, so I decided to re-submit the exe, so there it sits in unpublished limbo.

Mr Jones
24th May 2007, 16:34
It'll be sitting there for some time now as publishing is currently offline due to the site changes taking place at the minute.

TheElusiveMelon
24th May 2007, 19:25
I remember the last major overhaul there was here. I submitted a bunch of skins, forgot about them, then got a ton of emails about 6 months later telling me they were published :D