Old 15th January 2011, 04:08   #1
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Setting up Sc.Serv

I've been trying to set this up for a few days now, have read through others trials as well as the guide present here <Which is useful, but what value should be be put where in the config files, would alleviate a lot of confusion I think.> and still am unable to get my server running.

I am running a Win7 32 machine and intend to use the Winamp Plug-in.

I've downloaded the newest build of DNAS and then used the Config Builder to generate the following configuration file:

;DNAS configuration file built with the SHOUTcast 2 Configuration Builder

configrewrite=0
yp1debug=0
yp2debug=0
shoutcastsourcedebug=0
uvox2sourcedebug=0
shoutcast1clientdebug=0
shoutcast2clientdebug=0
relayshoutcastdebug=0
relayuvoxdebug=0
relaydebug=0
streamdatadebug=0
httpstyledebug=0
statsdebug=0
microserverdebug=0
threadrunnerdebug=0
rtmpclientdebug=0
maxspecialfilesize=30000000
songhistory=40
namelookups=1
maxheaderlinesize=2048
maxheaderlinecount=100
buffertype=0
fixedbuffersize=1048576
bufferhardlimit=16777216
password=password
adminpassword=password
flashpolicyfile=c:\program files\shoutcast\crossdomain.xml
portbase=8000
requirestreamconfigs=1
yp2=1
log=1
screenlog=1
logfile=c:\program files\shoutcast\sc_serv.log
w3cenable=0
w3clog=c:\program files\shoutcast\sc_w3c.log
publicserver=always
metainterval=8192
ypaddr=yp.shoutcast.com
ypport=60
ypPath=/yp2
ypTimeout=60
ypmaxretries=10
ypreportinterval=300
ypminreportinterval=10
banfile=c:\program files\shoutcast\sc_serv.ban
ripfile=c:\program files\shoutcast\sc_serv.rip
riponly=0
savebanlistonexit=1
saveriplistonexit=1
maxuser=32
listenertime=0
autodumpusers=0

streamid_1=1
streampath_1=/listen1
streamauthhash_1=(actual value here)

I have then saved this to the DNAS install folder as sc.serv.conf

When ever I try to run the DNAS I receive

011-01-14 23:56:34 E msg:[MAIN] No config file passed

in my log file.

I am just looking to run the server on this machine and broadcast. Any help would be appreciated.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2011, 04:50   #2
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
I've recently updated the config builder to include a feature to download startup script/batch files for both sc_serv and sc_trans (individually) the SHOUTcast tools with the appropriate config file parameter. This new feature is experimental but it should work as I've tested it both on Linux and Windows. Since it looks like you're using the installation path/folders settings (which is an A+ good thing) you can probably save the batch file to anywhere on your computer and it should run fine. The download options are at the bottom of the page under the config text boxes (DrO might move them later.) Once the batch file is downloaded just double click it and it should start right up.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2011, 06:10   #3
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
So i click on the config file to get it to start...?

Excuse my ignorance...the wine is starting to talk.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2011, 06:56   #4
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
No, you double click the DNAS launcher file after downloading it from the config builder at the bottom of the page.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2011, 07:50   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
http://dev.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcast..._Started_Guide is the newer version of the file which was on my site (that was just a work in progress before going on the wiki that i need to remove)/

the example config files referenced do say what needs to be edited though i guess not clearly enough based on what i keep reading so will do some more edits of those files and the getting_started guide (along with a greater push of using the config_builder and i guess more details on how to get things running for Windows users).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2011, 00:38   #6
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
That would be most excellent.

I anxiously await those edits. Thanks you guys for all the support!
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 03:45   #7
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
any news on the builder and/or files? I'd love to start broadcasting, but am flummoxed.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 04:26   #8
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinktink View Post
I've recently updated the config builder to include a feature to download startup script/batch files for both sc_serv and sc_trans (individually) the SHOUTcast tools with the appropriate config file parameter. This new feature is experimental but it should work as I've tested it both on Linux and Windows. Since it looks like you're using the installation path/folders settings (which is an A+ good thing) you can probably save the batch file to anywhere on your computer and it should run fine. The download options are at the bottom of the page under the config text boxes (DrO might move them later.) Once the batch file is downloaded just double click it and it should start right up.
I've run through the config builder again:

;DNAS configuration file built with the SHOUTcast 2 Configuration Builder

configrewrite=0
yp1debug=0
yp2debug=0
shoutcastsourcedebug=0
uvox2sourcedebug=0
shoutcast1clientdebug=0
shoutcast2clientdebug=0
relayshoutcastdebug=0
relayuvoxdebug=0
relaydebug=0
streamdatadebug=0
httpstyledebug=0
statsdebug=0
microserverdebug=0
threadrunnerdebug=0
rtmpclientdebug=0
maxspecialfilesize=30000000
songhistory=10
namelookups=1
maxheaderlinesize=2048
maxheaderlinecount=100
buffertype=0
fixedbuffersize=1048576
bufferhardlimit=16777216
password=password
adminpassword=password
flashpolicyfile=crogram filesshoutcast\crossdomain.xml
portbase=8000
requirestreamconfigs=1
yp2=1
log=1
screenlog=1
logfile=crogram filesshoutcast\sc_serv.log
w3cenable=0
w3clog=crogram filesshoutcast\sc_w3c.log
publicserver=default
metainterval=8192
ypaddr=yp.shoutcast.com
ypport=80
ypPath=/yp2
ypTimeout=30
ypmaxretries=10
ypreportinterval=300
ypminreportinterval=10
banfile=crogram files/shoutcas/sc_serv.ban
ripfile=crogram files/shoutcas/sc_serv.rip
riponly=0
savebanlistonexit=1
saveriplistonexit=1
maxuser=32
listenertime=0
autodumpusers=0

streamid_1=1
streampath_1=/listen1
streamauthhash_1=XXXXXXXXXXXXX

DL'd and run the .bat file directly from the DNAS install file and I am still getting:

2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/win32 v 0.2.0.0 b 0.0.10.0 (Dec 13 2010) starting up...
2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 1668
2011-01-20 00:16:13 E msg:[MAIN] No config file passed
2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:[MAIN] Terminating sources
2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:[MAIN] Waiting for final YP remsrvs
2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2011-01-20 00:16:13 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown

I've added the AUTHHASH to sc_serv_public.conf what else do I have to edit/add/etc.?

Any help is appreciated.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 04:55   #9
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Odd, can you post the contents of the config builder back up file (without the passwords, keys, and auth hashes)?

In the meantime, I've attached a couple of Windows shortcuts to extract directly to your desktop to see if they work. I don't know if they will work on your system but it's worth a shot.
Attached Files
File Type: zip start sc tools shortcuts..zip (293.7 KB, 226 views)
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 05:17   #10
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush2112lamar View Post
I've run through the config builder again:
...
PHP Code:
;DNAS configuration file built with the SHOUTcast 2 Configuration Builder
...
flashpolicyfile=c:program filesshoutcast\crossdomain.xml
...
logfile=c:program filesshoutcast\sc_serv.log
...
w3clog=c:program filesshoutcast\sc_w3c.log
...
banfile=c:program files/shoutcas/sc_serv.ban
ripfile
=c:program files/shoutcas/sc_serv.rip
... 

...
Oops, I just noticed 2 things.

You're missing a backslash -->\<-- between "program files" and "shoutcast" and in some other places in your config builder configuration as indicated by it's config output. It's probably why the startup BATs aren't working right.

You've also got forward slashes where backslashes should be in other parts of the config output. It seems you're also specifying additional default locations where you don't need to. You can if you want to but it doesn't look like you're doing it right.

I'm attaching a custom~ish config_builder_settings.txt file (based on what you've posted so far for your configurations) for you to restore in the config builder and try. All you should need to do is update the passwords and the auth hash and redownload the config and starup files from the builder.
Attached Files
File Type: txt config_builder_settings.txt (288 Bytes, 238 views)
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 21:36   #11
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
I've followed you instructions and edited the config builder settings and run the new .bat

It runs longer now and when I try to connect via the Winamp plugin get a "Cipher Rseponse Recieved" message for about 30 seconds before it goes to reconnecting again.

The log for the .exe still gives me:

2011-01-20 17:29:26 E msg:[MAIN] No config file passed
2011-01-20 17:29:26 I msg:[MAIN] Terminating sources
2011-01-20 17:29:26 I msg:[MAIN] Waiting for final YP remsrvs
2011-01-20 17:29:26 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2011-01-20 17:29:26 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown

Your shortcuts file does generate a .rip and .ban file but I don't know where the log is generated. Doesn't allow me to connect so I am guessing it wasn't successful.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 21:54   #12
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Actually the previous post was a lie!

Saw another log that stated the port wasn't open, reconfigured my router, restart the machine, and looks like I am broadcasting!! Thanks again!


One last question:
Do I need to restart the .bat file anytime I reopen the stream?

Thanks again!
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 21:56   #13
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Ok, looks like it can't see me from the internet, even though the port on the router and the Windows Firewall are open.

Any other suggestions?
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2011, 22:19   #14
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
If you're trying to go public (list on the YP) double check your auth hashes, station name, station url, and station genre(s) all match what you entered when you got your auth hashes.

I saw that error last night while I was helping someone else setup their server and I think it was because I accidentally left the public checkbox checked in the DSP before setting up the auth hashes. Could be wrong though.

If the shortcuts work for you then stay with the shortcuts I provided, they're prettier. And yes, if you shutdown SHOUTcast you will need to start it up again. What exactly you mean by "...anytime I reopen the stream?", I'm not entirely sure but I think the answer is "no."
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 00:47   #15
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Well I figured that part out.

Now I am getting a pvt_update add still pending for key=13 error

Well looks like I am finally through. For some reason the router was blocking me, even though I had the ports open. I hooked up directly to the modem and looks like I am broadcasting...haven't seen it show up in the Shoutcast Directory.

Now in the directory, and tested that I am indeed broadcasting.

The shourtcut DIDN'T work..the .bat file and some fiddling with ports/etc. did.

Thanks again!
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 02:50   #16
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush2112lamar View Post
Now in the directory, and tested that I am indeed broadcasting.
Grats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rush2112lamar View Post
The shourtcut DIDN'T work.....
Well fudgemonkeys. Oh well, at least you got it working.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 03:38   #17
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
While I broadcast the sc_serv windows shows weird messages:

src 99.224.27.127:55726 sid=1 connection denied. Bad Password

and others similar that have different numbers and waiting for data, bad socket as the messages.

This normal?
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 04:43   #18
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
No, it's not.
Post a direct copy/paste of your configs (or your config_builder_settings.txt backup file) between [CODE] [/CODE] tags to see if I can find anything obvious. Also post your logs.

[EDIT /]
Or it could just be some random person from Canada trying to hijack your station server...

If I remember correctly I found what could be construed as port scans from some jackass in China (those people are REALLY bad netizens, that entire country should really be globally blocked worldwide 'till those morons clean up their act) on my test server one day, might have showed up as that on my logs.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 04:59   #19
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
[Moderation]
Changed to attachments - use these in future for large logs, etc
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (16.9 KB, 215 views)
File Type: txt config.txt (1.0 KB, 191 views)
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 05:39   #20
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
to hell with canada!
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 06:12   #21
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinktink View Post
those people are really bad netizens, that entire country should really be globally blocked worldwide 'till those morons clean up their act
+1000000

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 13:14   #22
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush2112lamar View Post
to hell with canada!
Meh, Canada isn't anywhere near as bad as China and Latvia (though Latvia is mostly porn spam where China is more about espionage and attacks/hacks) from my experience. In-fact, I've even got a good online friend from Canada. Canada seems to be an interesting place to visit. Wish I could someday.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 14:48   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
canada just reminds me of the song from the south park film (and the amusing host on .net rocks ).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 18:45   #24
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinktink View Post
Meh, Canada isn't anywhere near as bad as China and Latvia (though Latvia is mostly porn spam where China is more about espionage and attacks/hacks) from my experience. In-fact, I've even got a good online friend from Canada. Canada seems to be an interesting place to visit. Wish I could someday.
I love Canada, I grew up 5 miles from the border and my wife accuses me of being Canadian!

Any idea how I might cut down on the ip pings I get ? Or just something I have to deal with?
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 18:58   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
isn't too much you can do about people pinging the server, though you could look at the banning option to at least cut down on how much time they are doing things against the server (only thing i can currently think off).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 20:26   #26
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
@DrO: Would specific bindings work?

Can also try changing the port base, say from 8000 to like something higher than 40000 (but below 65000.) Be careful though because if you change the portbase then you'll also need to change your SC DSP and port-forwards to match likewise. I've found this is an extremely effective method of preventing that mess. Port 8000 is really really really a really common port used for many things.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 20:53   #27
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
changing the port would be the easiest option (dunno why i didn't think off that - must be in weekend mode, hehe). speaking off which, i've never quite followed why sc_trans defaults to port 8010 (must have missed the reason for that when looking back the history of it).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 05:04   #28
rush2112lamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
right on. thanks again gents.
rush2112lamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump