Old 3rd April 2012, 21:31   #1
sturoc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
winamp folder visible upon boot up

Been using Winamp for years and love it. recently the winamp folder has been opening upon XP sp3 desktop log in and start up, see attc'hd screenshot.
I am trying to figure out how to stop this from appearing but can't find any solution within Winamp player preferences etc.
Appreciate any help
thanks

sturoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 12:59   #2
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Click your START button
Select RUN...
Type in MSCONFIG and hit OK
Select the STARTUP page.

Now look down this list for Winamp entries. I assume you have something in here that is part of a Winamp path. So instead of running an application, it is just listing C:\Program Files\Winamp\ which would then open the folder.

Untick the box next to the Winamp entries and reboot. (Winamp does not need to run anything at startup.)

When you reboot, MSCONFIG will pop-up a box to remind you it is being used. Just tick the box to tell it to go away.

If this doesn't help - let us know and we can dig deeper.
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 02:16   #3
sturoc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Didn't work only stopped the player from loading.
Any other suggestions ?
sturoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 11:32   #4
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
You need to give me more details. What do you mean by "it only stopped the player from loading".? Did you have a Winamp entry in MSCONFIG? What exactly was it? And are you trying to get Winamp to run at startup?

It may be easier for me to make sense of your question if you post a HiJackThis log. (Google it and download from TrendMicro, scan, post a log from it, but don't do any changes with it)
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 04:53   #5
sturoc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Sorry bout that. Meant that when i did your procedure, Upon boot up the Winamp remote icon did not load into the taskbar, since previously I set it to do so during boot up. I then selected it from normal program list and loaded no prob.
The box/ entry in the msconfig box start list is C:\ProgramFiles\Winamp\winampa.exe
note the 'a' at the end of winamp.
sturoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 09:49   #6
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
I didn't realise you were using Winamp Remote. So yes, that does need winampa.exe to run to allow that to operate. (I assume it uses Winamp Agent - don't use it myself)

I will still need a HiJackThis log (or similar) to be able to attempt to spot your rogue folder. It is unlikely to be Winamp opening its own folder up in error. Yet something is doing it which would be listed in a HiJackThis log.
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 12:06   #7
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26,739
i'm not aware of Winamp Remote ever having needed to have the Agent present since there is nothing in the Agent which would even interact with Winamp Remote. it most likely sounds like the Agent was added and then removed but not the registry entry and i'd probably just remove that entry to resolve the folder appearing.

-daz

If you have issues with Winamp or still want to get it, ensure
you get v5.666 build 3516 and the required plug-in updates
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump