Old 5th March 2012, 15:42   #1
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Metrolyrics error

I've been using Metrolyrics on my Winamp since ancestral times and always worked great, just few of my songs didnt had lyrics but since last month I found an error that has been bothering me... Metrolyrics is not displayed on my winamp player and tell me is a connection error but my internet network is working great as always.

The error I got is this:

"The server or proxy was not found.
Resource Not Found
The request for the Online Service has returned a resource not found error from your browser, please ensure that you are connected to the Internet.

Try Again

Service name: MetroLyrics
Error code: 0x800C0005"

Both my network and browser are working fine and I have the latest updates for winamp and browser.
Thx for your time.
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 16:18   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,784
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I can confirm this bug, was going to report it last week but i was ill. Any relation to the new np?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 17:54   #3
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Sorry but Im not familiar with some terms... what do you mean with "new np"?
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 19:24   #4
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26,963
np = now playing - there's a redesign of the now playing page going on but i doubt it has anything to do with the metrolyrics service not working though i really don't know how 3d party online services are handled / hosted so i'm more than likely wrong).

-daz

If you have issues with Winamp or still want to get it, ensure
you get v5.666 build 3516 and the required plug-in updates
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 23:39   #5
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Well, it is not related with the now playing... it was working fine and suddenly it stopped working, I didnt not even updated my player when it stopped working... after it happened I installed the latest version but is still not working.

Everything works perfect, just the metrolyrics is like that and it doesnt matter what I do it keeps the same.
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 23:49   #6
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26,963
as it's all done server side, it could be any number of things which has caused it, even an issue on metrolyrics side themselves.

trying it out myself (never used it before so not sure what is / isn't normal) i see the same error response in Winamp. clicking the 'more' link i get the following:

Service name: MetroLyrics
Error code: 0x800C0005
Url: http://daan.metrolyrics.com/widgets/...t=Kiss&title=I Was Made For Lovin' You
Service id: 222151

trying that url in a browser gives the same response. however removing the 'daan.' part then provides a page with lyrics on it. so i'd have to go with metrolyrics having changed something purposefully on their end or it's a known server issue.

as such, Winamp's handling is correct for how online services are meant to work (since the view is just hosting whatever the service does off it's own servers). best to send them a message via http://www.metrolyrics.com/contactus.html

-daz

If you have issues with Winamp or still want to get it, ensure
you get v5.666 build 3516 and the required plug-in updates
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 05:36   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,784
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
happy to contact them, and i shall, but since winamp includes this as part of the default install i think winamp devs should contact them as well.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 09:36   #8
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26,963
true but that contact link is all i've got to work with as well until i can see if anyone else has anything more specific for contacting them (which was going to be nigh on impossible to do at midnight my time or 7pm EST as it was) as online services are a complete unknown to me.

-daz

If you have issues with Winamp or still want to get it, ensure
you get v5.666 build 3516 and the required plug-in updates
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 16:37   #9
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,784
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Np. I did send them this link.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2012, 23:48   #10
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Thx a lot everyone for your kind replies. The problem seems to be solved ^^
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 21:46   #11
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Seems this service is trouble after trouble.
Last problem I had with it was somehow automatically solved, now there's a new problem... It doesnt even load anything. When I run Winamp and play a song the window on Metrolyrics starts loading the home screen but it stops loading and just leaves a black screen, and no matter how many times I refresh it or try to go to the home page it just stays on the black screen. Anyone knows anything?
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 21:55   #12
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26,963
see http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=344172 or for a quick summary, it appears they cannot cope with the load again.

-daz

If you have issues with Winamp or still want to get it, ensure
you get v5.666 build 3516 and the required plug-in updates
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2012, 00:38   #13
LoganHunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Thx for the info
LoganHunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 05:57   #14
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,784
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i have had the blank screen as well, but yesterday it just randomly started working again. i hope they fix their servers and bw, b/c i really like this feature!

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump