Old 17th May 2011, 19:45   #1
ClassicRox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 218
YP touch intervals

Does anyone know if there's any option in the config file to shorten the interval for yp touches? I just started broadcasting again after a long hiatus, and had to reinstall everything. If I remember correctly, yp touches used to happen every few minutes, and now it's only every 10 minutes. I don't know if this longer interval is the reason, but the Shoutcast directory will list my station, then it disappears about 8-9 minutes later, then reappears about 10 minutes after that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
ClassicRox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011, 19:54   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
depends on the protocol being used as ypreportinterval is generally overriden in YP2 mode to what the YP itself says with the touch response, whereas for YP1 it should follow that (though the YP now is based around 5-10 minute intervals for different aspects of it).

also there's some issues with the YP caches for the last few weeks which means that your station's listing can disappear and then re-appear in a manner you are seeing (is being investigated but no eta on it being resolved plus i don't know what is actually going on).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2011, 19:59   #3
ClassicRox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 218
Ok, many thanks DrO. I figured there wasn't much I could do about it, but it never hurts to ask. Hopefully, Shoutcast will fix the problem of the disappearing listing soon.

Again, thanks for your reply.
ClassicRox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 01:43   #4
partyvibe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Is thus problem still ongoing? I'm seeing this behavior today.
partyvibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 02:01   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
unless i have something specific to check (stationid or dnas address or stationname for example), i am not going to be able to answer your question.

and to my knowledge there are no known caching issues with the site and the yp interval is still set at ~10 minutes for stations using the legacy DNAS and less than that for those using the v2 DNAS (since it updates more frequently on it's own instead of having to rely on a touch which can be prone to failing / not happening to keep the listing on the site correctly).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump