Old 16th October 2003, 21:51   #1
emanon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Winamp5 Beta 1

Wow.. Can it be real? I was at a beta site and shows Winamp5 Beta 1 is out. Is it real?
emanon is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 21:57   #2
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Behind the Wall
Posts: 4,611
From Sawg's page:
http://www.public.asu.edu/~abarber2/wa5.html

Last edited by papadoc; 16th October 2003 at 22:27.
papadoc is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 22:11   #3
emanon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Yup, Its out. Guess it's ok to talk about it seeing a mod knew and posted the site I was talking about. I have it, but it still loads a little slow on my poor 475mhz PC. But features seem cool. Way new design too.
emanon is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 22:42   #4
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Behind the Wall
Posts: 4,611
Looks like the discussion is going on here:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=152845

I'm not sure why it's in General Discussions though.
I'd think it would be better off here in this forum.
papadoc is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 22:46   #5
JongAm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to JongAm
Wow! Seems to be better than Winamp3

I just installed the Winamp5 as well as the new iTunes for Windows.

First, Winamp5 beta's memory foot print is comparable to the Winamp2's.
It is about 7 MB. The performance is good.
It can use the Winamp3 skins.

iTunes for Windows, on the other hand, sounds better to me. The quality and the depth of sound seem to be better.
However its memory footprint is almost 30MB, and there are some daemon processes for it always.

So, I uninstalled the iTunes for Windows.

I hope that release version of Winamp5 would bring better sound quality, although it is already just good.
JongAm is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:32   #6
emanon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
I agree it should be here. But to the ones that find it here(and have been stuck using 2.X), and grabbed WinAmp5 Beta 1. You have to! grab this skin MMD3
Skin. And click in the visualization box to change to the dancers!! Woo Hoo this is what I'm talk 'bout! lol Great job to the guy that made that! Played well, even on this old PC!
emanon is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:39   #7
Helkite
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 133
Sorry for this stupid question, but what is a memory footprint and what's its significance?
Helkite is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 06:00   #8
JongAm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to JongAm
Quote:
Originally posted by Helkite
Sorry for this stupid question, but what is a memory footprint and what's its significance?
Oh.. Well.. memory footprint is how much memory a program needs or occupies. Therefore if program A provides comparable features to program B, and quality of result are same, then A can be considered better. If programs require small amount of memories, it means that the process is lighter than the process of program B, and can be faster ( not always true, though. ).
JongAm is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 10:29   #9
Rocker
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,906
what is wrong with winamp's sound quality?

i think you'd better look into getting new speakers or a new sound card.

itunes looks crap, i'm not even gonna bother downloading it.
Rocker is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 12:04   #10
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
PLEASE, tell me some other place to download it from.
It's some kinda enormous rush-hour on the one mentioned here earlier, wonder why?
nybergh is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 12:15   #11
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Here's my own reply to my own last post:
http://www.betaresource.net/forums/i...?showtopic=548
Hey, gee, this was >>really<<, worth waiting for!!!
nybergh is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 12:49   #12
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
iTunes for Windows, on the other hand, sounds better to me. The quality and the depth of sound seem to be better.
However its memory footprint is almost 30MB, and there are some daemon processes for it always.
Whynot use thesuperb dfx-plugin ? The free basic version isgood enough for me...

Hey, I would like the WA3 default skin to use with 5, where can I download it?
nybergh is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 14:10   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,777
Here
Attached Files
File Type: wal default.wal (82.1 KB, 902 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 14:12   #14
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Re: Wow! Seems to be better than Winamp3

Quote:
Originally posted by JongAm
iTunes for Windows, on the other hand, sounds better to me. The quality and the depth of sound seem to be better.
Either placebo effect or configuration differences. Both players should output identical sound when no extra dsp-ish processing is enabled (eq, sound check, etc.).

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 14:39   #15
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Wow, not bad.

Tried the modern skin support, looks really cool but quite bloated on the memory but which good looks comes increased memory usage.

Reinstalled it without modern skin support.
Really like the smooth resize of classic skins though.

Anyway why wasn't the icons changed?
And the modern skin doesn't show jap(or international) characters.

Thanx

Last edited by iron2000; 17th October 2003 at 15:41.
iron2000 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 15:10   #16
borg123
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
YEAH!
I'm gonna download.
FINALLY!!
borg123 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 01:22   #17
dan1el
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 95
beta 2 please. *lol* kiddin..
dan1el is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 02:49   #18
mc^^^^
Forum King
 
mc^^^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Perth, Australia MSN: mcbriar@ii.net Posts: All your posts are belong to me!!!!
Posts: 2,608
at first look of the new modern skin i realised it had the look of a bartibartman peice. looking through skin.xml i find im right, nullsoft did a smart move in getting him to create the new modern skin. i also noticed he had a @nullsoft.com email address, anyone know if this is just a forward or what?

on a side note, i would have thought they would have added playlist queing by now . one wouldnt think it is THAT hard to add.

mc^^^^ is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 03:10   #19
Carnicero
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 62
So is that what bartibartman was doing while we were whining for MMD3 updates? My first clue he did the skin were the drawers. That and the orange colortheme, bitmap songticker, LEDs, etc. It's like the bastard child of Windows Media Player and MMD3.
Carnicero is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 03:30   #20
Amorpheus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 6
This is sweet. The real Winamp 3 is coming!
Amorpheus is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 10:51   #21
nierke
Senior Member
 
nierke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 295
http://www.public.asu.edu/~abarber2/wa5.html doeasn't work or there are too many connections same time, connection time out...

...:::nierke:::...
nierke is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 12:30   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,777
Working ok for me.
And in true Sawg style
Quote:
Verfied as the file avalibale to Nullsoft Beta testers
Don't forget here too:
http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail...fid=1066336873
www.winampheaven.net
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 14:19   #23
nierke
Senior Member
 
nierke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 295
Now it works for me too.. thnx anyway


Winamp5 is greate, maybe not perfectly working WA3 skin system but it's great..



...:::nierke:::...

...:::nierke:::...
nierke is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 16:39   #24
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
meep, ignore this
apollos is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 16:55   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,777
[edit] ignore my reply too, lol [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 17:43   #26
vh1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to vh1
hmmm, I don't really know where to post this, but it's a bit of a bug
not the greatest system (p3 900, 512ram), but Winamp5 skips when I open large-ish programs (Avant Browser, even skipped when I loaded the forums)

just letting you know
vh1 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 20:30   #27
Sakura
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 9
I love it ( but I dont like the name of it )
Sakura is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 20:42   #28
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
I downloaded it as soon as I found out it was released (a couple days ago), and I think it's safe to say... this player kicks ass. While I still slightly prefer WMP9 over WA5 for video files, WA5 is much better than it ever has been with video files. The skin is awesome, the menus at the top of the windows are nice... overall, way better than I expected. I hope someday they add a right-click menu to the Repeat button, allowing you to change the method of repeating (file, playlist, etc.).
UltraZelda64 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 21:16   #29
Captain_Z
Junior Member
 
Captain_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 18
Great, great, just great!
Captain_Z is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 21:46   #30
blackstripe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to blackstripe Send a message via AIM to blackstripe
Quote:
Originally posted by Rocker
what is wrong with winamp's sound quality?

i think you'd better look into getting new speakers or a new sound card.
It's good, but it could be a lot better. Check out the MAD decoder for Winamp, and if your soundcard supports it, an ASIO output plugin. You'll be more pleased with Winamp than you would have thought possible.
blackstripe is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 14:13   #31
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
you will never be able to tell the difference between fraunhoffer and mad.
fraunhoffer is flawless although mad might be technically superior.

if you hear a difference, it's just the warm fuzzy feeling.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 16:50   #32
Cyber Axe
Junior Member
 
Cyber Axe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 37
Winamp 5 beta 1 Rocks, quite and improovement over the alpha 1 which i had tested for about week till now

the only things i'd like to see is the return of the side car but the side car to have the playlists from the library added and the playlist editor actually edits the adjasent playlist in the library

still the greatest music player for windows and i lvoe the new Winamp Modern skin
Cyber Axe is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 17:33   #33
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
Tested Winamp for some hours now.

I couldn't find any real showstoppers.

Some suggestions:
- XP look for the menues (could easily be done by including a winamp.exe.manifest file in the installer.
- XP look icons
- embed the aac files in mp4 containers and use standard tags for it to make the standard-folks happy.
- maybe include support for the crossfading button on some wa3 skins.


One question:
Will Winamp be able to burn mp3-cds too?
or just audio cds

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 18:18   #34
SS4Matt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to SS4Matt Send a message via Yahoo to SS4Matt
Omg, I just downloaded the beta, and I want to say thank you to all the devs. I love the freeform skining. I really do. Its awsome. Thank you ALL! ^.^ w00t! its awsome, Ima have to get pro to support Nullsoft. YaY!
SS4Matt is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 20:53   #35
wakingrufus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
Tested Winamp for some hours now.

I couldn't find any real showstoppers.

Some suggestions:
- XP look for the menues (could easily be done by including a winamp.exe.manifest file in the installer.
- XP look icons
- embed the aac files in mp4 containers and use standard tags for it to make the standard-folks happy.
- maybe include support for the crossfading button on some wa3 skins.


One question:
Will Winamp be able to burn mp3-cds too?
or just audio cds
mp3 cd's dont need ripping. just copy the files to your hard drive
wakingrufus is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 21:50   #36
blackstripe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to blackstripe Send a message via AIM to blackstripe
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
you will never be able to tell the difference between fraunhoffer and mad.
fraunhoffer is flawless although mad might be technically superior.

if you hear a difference, it's just the warm fuzzy feeling.
Haha True, but I don't believe that the FhG decoder is being used in Winamp any more (not since v2.22).
blackstripe is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 22:23   #37
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,777
@wakingrufus
burn, not rip

@blackstripe
yes it is
Nitrane decoder was replaced by new FhG decoder in v2.666
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 20th October 2003, 00:28   #38
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
wow Winamp5 is awesome!
evil_oj is offline  
Old 20th October 2003, 02:03   #39
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
[...to *unwhack* ]

Re-posted by request, with edits...

First of all, I want to thank the Winamp team for all the great work they're doing on my favorite media player!

I'm having a couple of problems, though, which I hope someone can help with. With Winamp 5 beta, there doesn't seem to be international character support as I've always had with 2.91, 2.95 and 5 alpha (though I know it was always a "hacked" capability). However, 5 beta is the only version I've used that will save my title display formatting options. (If it's relevant, I'm using Vorbis decoder v1.35.)

With pre-5-beta versions, I was trying to save a title display option of %artist% ~ %album% ~ %title%, but everytime I re-started Winamp it reverted to its default of %artist% ~ %title%. Having to manually reset this option everytime I started Winamp was a PITA. I've searched the forums and found a couple of threads with proposed solutions (involving archive and read-only bits, pressing "enter" after entering text, etc.) but nothing has worked so far.

With 5 beta, it saves my title options (as they're set in a different place in preferences), but I get no international character support (i.e., two-byte characters aren't shown properly). I know intl char support isn't really standard in other versions either, but I'd like to get the same "hack" in the 5 beta if possible. Concerning that fact that it's a "hacked" solution, if it'll show a two-byte character correctly, I don't care if it's done with voodoo. What works, works. And it adds to the hundreds of reasons Winamp's my player-of-choice. Not displaying intl characters at all would be a problem for me, though.

My goal is to combine the (std or not) intl character support I've always enjoyed with 5 alpha with the title-format-save capability of 5 beta. Is there a fix/workaround for either of these issues in any affected version, or is there a way I can "piece together" the title format saving of 5 beta and the intl char support of 5 alpha (or 2.9n)?

(Also, re: DJ Egg's suggestion of setting Prefs -> Titles...that only exists in 5 beta, where I'm not having title-format-save problems. It's failing to save my setting in 5 alpha and previous versions, where Prefs -> Titles does not exist. But thx for the suggestion anyway!)

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline  
Old 20th October 2003, 03:36   #40
blackstripe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to blackstripe Send a message via AIM to blackstripe
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@blackstripe
yes it is
Nitrane decoder was replaced by new FhG decoder in v2.666
Oh ok. I thought it was just replaced by something similar to the FhG decoder.
blackstripe is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump