Old 15th August 2004, 18:41   #1
FenixDarkstar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Winamp Ms Dos arguments

Hi All.
I 'd like to know if it were possible to send commands to winamp thru a Ms Dos command line (or a "Wdos - R" dialog). I would also like to know how could i do this.

Thx 4 ur answers.
FenixDarkstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2004, 19:32   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Winamp Application Programming Interface, includes command line switches.

There is also /BOOKMARK
Places file in Winamp's bookmarks

example
C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winamp.exe /BOOKMARK C:\Media Files\Cool Sound.WAV
__________________________________________________________


Or, you may want to try a command line app/"plug-in"...
WACommand (DrO's update)
-or-
CLEveR
-or-
CLAmp

[edit 02 July 05 > JonnyMac]added CLAmp link [/edit]
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 18:46   #3
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
Or, you may want to try a command line plug-in...
WACommand
-or-
CLEveR
-or-
CLAmp

I tried all 3 of these and found huge flaws in all of them.

WACommand worked the best, but its missing the ability to load files/playlists. A shame really since the program works flawlessly.

CLEveR is poorly designed from the get-go. You MUST have winamp loaded before using command line. Why couldn't the author make the program call the winamp.exe on option execution is beyond me.

CLAmp is loaded in features, but has the winamp install path hard coded. So if you've installed winamp into any other folder but default, you get the "can't start winamp" error when program is executed.

Can someone out there point me to a command driven plugin which allows for playlist/file loading but doesn't have the winamp path hardcoded?
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 19:33   #4
RMSe17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
As far as the inability to start winamp from CLEveR, it's really easy to fix with a script, even a simple batch file can do it, just start winamp and then CLEveR from your script...

I am not really sure about CLAmp, but I wonder if the static location of winamp can be faked through use of shortcuts... basically, if you made a shortcut to winamp.exe and called it winamp.exe, and shoved it into the folder where CLAmp wants it... maybe make shortcuts for anything else that it expects. This is just a guess though, and might not work.
RMSe17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 19:42   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you said WACommand worked the best well... you just need to find someone who can code who'll add that feature in for you seeing as the source code is available and in all honesty it's a simple addition to add in a /loadfile option

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 20:41   #6
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
you said WACommand worked the best well... you just need to find someone who can code who'll add that feature in for you seeing as the source code is available and in all honesty it's a simple addition to add in a /loadfile option

-daz
Great idea Dr.O! Might you know of a resource that contains other winamp options including the /loadfile one?
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 21:10   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
WACommand v2.3.0.0
  • Added /load <file or playlist> option
  • Added /clear option
  • Tweaked compiler options to cut the exe size to 7k
  • Repackaged the source and files into a full installer
cyfrus: the 'resource' is known as the Winamp sdk anyway this should do what you need

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 22:15   #8
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
Thank you Dr.O for going out of your way and programming that in for me. Though I must say this is proving more difficult then I had originally anticipated.

It seems that while Winamp is loading, it will not parse any commands, so the configuration below will not work.

play.bat
wacommand /start
<needs to be a delay here, batches don't have delays, least I don't know of any>
wacommand /clear
wacommand /load test.m3u
wacommand /play


How does anyone get any of these Command Prompt plugins to work through batch files? Any help would be appriciated as all I want to do is the following...

Load up Winamp
Clear Current Play List
Load Playlist
Play
...all by running 1 batch file (though I don't care how many batches that 1 batch has to call)
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 22:21   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ah... is the playlist you're trying to load always going to be the same? if so then you'd really want to look at this and the option to specify a file/playlist to be loaded

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 22:40   #10
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
I tried the plugin above, and though it has the feature I want, it doesn't give me any flexibility. Everytime I load up winamp, it will start w/ that playlist file. Hence my interest in command driven winamp and batch files, which would allow me to set various parameters for different batches without affecting my original winamp launch shortcut and settings. This way I could have WinampRock.bat, WinampMix.bat with certain options and playlist file.
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 22:51   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the only other way i can think of is if using the plugin it's set to a given name but with the bat files you create, you can have a copy command in place to copy the given playlist you want to play to the one defined with the plugin. but that would hinder things for normal use possibly.

i'm having a thought of seeing if the /start could be altered/expanded on to only return once winamp has started (which would fix the delay issue that you need). i'm trying to finish an initial release for another project that's been on the back burner for a while so i'll have a look at the /start alteration possibly tomorrow

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2006, 22:59   #12
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
Judging from your plugin expertise, if there's anyone that could make this work it'd be you. Thank you Dr.O and good luck!
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 00:20   #13
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
i found these batch delays
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:02   #14
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
i found these batch delays
What a TERRIFIC find!!! With Dr.O's updated WACommand.exe and the link I was able to get it going just like I had originally planned. Thank you both for all the speedy support.

Here's the batch in case someone's looking to do the same one day...

WAall.bat
@ECHO OFF
wacommand /start
ping 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 500

wacommand /clear
wacommand /random=1
wacommand /repeat=1

wacommand /load WAall.m3u
wacommand /next
wacommand /play


This will start Winamp, toss in a long enough delay so commands will be parsed, clear the playlist, set random and repeat to on, load the m3u file, change the song (so your not always stuck listneing to the first track) and play.

Also helps when you change the properites of the bat to "run minimized" so that you don't see the box pop up.

Case closed
cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:09   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
cool

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:14   #16
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly


dro is up late...must be coding [edit] and there it is:http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=235871
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:16   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
dro has bad insomnia of late and yes, doing some coding as well but you've saved me some time of having to do extra work on WACommand so i'm happy

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:19   #18
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
well between you making jfte & +++ plugins vs. me googling "batch wait", id say we are even
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:21   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
hehe, well as long as cyfrus has a good solution then i think we're all happy
/me trundles off to try and see if he can sleep now...

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2006, 02:24   #20
cyfrus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Robot Hell
Posts: 13
And the final score...

Us 1, Machine 0

cyfrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump