Old 15th February 2005, 19:32   #1
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
preferences are not showing up

Since some time now I'm unable to call the prefernces. I don't know then it started to happen. right now I'm using the version 5.08d (the actual), which I installed after removing the old version (following the guide).

This is xp pro sp2

there were no plugins after reinstallation.

Only audio files (install option) should be played, but I can't check it...

The about screen isn't showing up either. Windows like playlist are working fine. If the preferences are selected via the context menu, it can be checked. If this is removed winamp is blocked for a second. This won't show up in the normal menu only in the context menu.

cu
Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 20:48   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Please provide system specs. Do you have any desktop/shell enhancement apps (DLGXRsizer, yzshadow, nView, Litestep, Samurize, StyleXP, Windows Blinds, Perfect Menu, Aston shell, Winsize etc.)
Quote:
there were no plugins after reinstallation.
Do you still have any third party plug-ins from the previous installation?
Quote:
If the preferences are selected via the context menu, it can be checked.
Do you mean the Preferences window does appear when selecting it through the context menu? In other words, it is not working with shortcut keys?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 21:19   #3
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
Please provide system specs.
Board : Asus K7V
CPU : AMD K7/750MHz
Ram : 640MB
SC : creative AudioPCI (ES1371, ES1373)(WDM)
VC : Matrox G400 Dual 64MB
OS : WinXP pro sp2
DX : 9 (9.0b? it was the latest version vor the public)
IE is used via a proxy
and as said it is used and selected at the installation for audio files and CDA

Quote:
Do you have any desktop/shell enhancement apps (DLGXRsizer, yzshadow, nView, Litestep, Samurize, StyleXP, Windows Blinds, Perfect Menu, Aston shell, Winsize etc.)
No.

Quote:
Do you still have any third party plug-ins from the previous installation?
No. All was removed first deinstallation, then manuall delete of all remains (also the ini's from the windows dir).

Quote:
Do you mean the Preferences window does appear when selecting it through the context menu? In other words, it is not working with shortcut keys? [/B]
No. A tick appears. like it would before entries like 'Always on the top'. But before preferences it makes no sense.


Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 23:06:15, on 15.02.2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
K:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
D:\Programme\McAfee\Avsynmgr.exe
K:\Programme\Kerio\Personal Firewall 4\kpf4ss.exe
K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\mgabg.exe
K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Stardock\SDMCP.exe
K:\Programme\Kerio\Personal Firewall 4\kpf4gui.exe
K:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\mysql\bin\mysqld-nt.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\mqsvc.exe
D:\Programme\McAfee\VsStat.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\mqtgsvc.exe
K:\Programme\Kerio\Personal Firewall 4\kpf4gui.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\PDesk\PDesk.exe
D:\Programme\McAfee\Vshwin32.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb04.exe
K:\WINDOWS\System32\taskswitch.exe
K:\Programme\Ciphire\ciphire-startup.exe
E:\Programme\ICQLite\ICQLite.exe
K:\Programme\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
D:\Programme\McAfee\Avconsol.exe
E:\Programme\DynSite\DynSite.exe
c:\LMouse\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
K:\Programme\Faerion\faerion.exe
D:\Programme\Hamster\Hamster.exe
E:\Programme\KeirNet\K9\K9.exe
K:\Programme\Ciphire\ciphire-mail.exe
E:\Programme\Proxomitron\Proxomitron.exe
C:\mysql\bin\winmysqladmin.exe
K:\Programme\Ciphire\ciphire-msg.exe
K:\Programme\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
K:\Programme\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
S:\upp_2.00_build_2004.03.05\mirc_upp.exe
K:\Programme\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
K:\Programme\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
K:\Programme\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
E:\Programme\WinEdt Team\WinEdt\WinEdt.exe
K:\WINDOWS\system32\taskmgr.exe
E:\Programme\Winamp\winampa.exe
E:\Programme\Winamp\winamp.exe
K:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Paul Henkel\Lokale Einstellungen\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\2G3BGOWM\HijackThis[1].exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.paul-henkel.de/link1.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page_bak = http://www.paul-henkel.de/link1.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=127.0.0.1:8080
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - E:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - E:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - k:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar7.dll
O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - D:\Programme\McAfee\VSCShellExtension.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - k:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar7.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MsmqIntCert] regsvr32 /s mqrt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Matrox Powerdesk] K:\WINDOWS\system32\PDesk\PDesk.exe /Autolaunch
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IMJPMIG8.1] "K:\WINDOWS\IME\imjp8_1\IMJPMIG.EXE" /Spoil /RemAdvDef /Migration32
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] K:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb04.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CoolSwitch] K:\WINDOWS\System32\taskswitch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CiphireStartup] "K:\Programme\Ciphire\ciphire-startup.exe" -registry
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FileZilla Server Interface] "e:\Programme\FileZilla Server\FileZilla Server Interface.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ICQ Lite] E:\Programme\ICQLite\ICQLite.exe -minimize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] E:\Programme\Winamp\winampa.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [McAfee.InstantUpdate.Monitor] "K:\Programme\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe" /STARTMONITOR
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] K:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\RunOnce: [ICQ Lite] E:\Programme\ICQLite\ICQLite.exe -trayboot
O4 - Startup: DynSite.lnk = E:\Programme\DynSite\DynSite.exe
O4 - Startup: Faerion IRC.lnk = K:\Programme\Faerion\faerion.exe
O4 - Startup: Hamster.lnk = D:\Programme\Hamster\Hamster.exe
O4 - Startup: Hintergrundbild wechseln.lnk = D:\Programme\Wallpaper\CHGWALLP.EXE
O4 - Startup: Launch K9.lnk = E:\Programme\KeirNet\K9\K9.exe
O4 - Startup: Proxomitron.lnk = E:\Programme\Proxomitron\Proxomitron.exe
O4 - Startup: WinMySQLadmin.lnk = C:\mysql\bin\winmysqladmin.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader - Schnellstart.lnk = E:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://k:\windows\downloaded program files\GoogleToolbar7.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - e:\Programme\GetRight\GRdownload.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Im Cache gespeicherte Seite - res://k:\windows\downloaded program files\GoogleToolbar7.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - e:\Programme\GetRight\GRbrowse.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Validate XML - K:\WINDOWS\web\msxmlval.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Verweisseiten - res://k:\windows\downloaded program files\GoogleToolbar7.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: View XSL Output - K:\WINDOWS\web\msxmlvw.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Ähnliche Seiten - res://k:\windows\downloaded program files\GoogleToolbar7.dll/cmsimilar.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - K:\Programme\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Konsole - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - K:\Programme\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - E:\Programme\ICQ\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - E:\Programme\ICQ\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra button: ICQ 4.1 - {B863453A-26C3-4e1f-A54D-A2CD196348E9} - E:\Programme\ICQLite\ICQLite.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ Lite - {B863453A-26C3-4e1f-A54D-A2CD196348E9} - E:\Programme\ICQLite\ICQLite.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - K:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - K:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'ciphire-lsp.dll' missing
O15 - Trusted Zone: *.sourceforge.net
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://game3.wdsserver.de
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...67&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {AEF76437-F960-4EBC-97EA-7BBB4230CF38} (OcarptMain Class) - https://oca.microsoft.com/en/secure/ocarpt.CAB
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{89657769-5192-42C6-91EF-DB286AB08F0C}: NameServer = 217.237.149.225,217.237.151.97
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{ABD29A0F-6606-4641-BBF4-04C146B4C53D}: NameServer = 217.5.115.7,194.25.2.129
O18 - Protocol: ms-help - {314111C7-A502-11D2-BBCA-00C04F8EC294} - K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Microsoft Shared\Help\hxds.dll
O23 - Service: AVSync Manager - Network Associates, Inc. - D:\Programme\McAfee\Avsynmgr.exe
O23 - Service: FileZilla Server FTP server - Unknown - e:\Programme\FileZilla Server\FileZilla Server.exe
O23 - Service: IIS Admin - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: Kerio Personal Firewall 4 - Kerio Technologies - K:\Programme\Kerio\Personal Firewall 4\kpf4ss.exe
O23 - Service: McShield - Unknown - K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
O23 - Service: MGABGEXE - Matrox Graphics Inc. - K:\WINDOWS\system32\mgabg.exe
O23 - Service: FTP-Publishing - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: MySql - Unknown - C:/mysql/bin/mysqld-nt.exe
O23 - Service: OpenVPN Service - Unknown - e:\Programme\OpenVPN\bin\openvpnserv.exe
O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) - Unknown - %ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: WWW-Publishing - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)

Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 23:49   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Are you sure you don't have any desktop/shell enhancement utilities???...
K:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Stardock\SDMCP.exe

Does Matrox PowerDesk have any desktop or shell enhancement options?

What is Hamster.exe?...
D:\Programme\Hamster\Hamster.exe
A Google search for hamster.exe does not look very good.

If you have not done so already run your virus scanner with the latest definitions/signatures. Also use one or more of the following on line virus scanners...use a online scanner
HouseCall from Trend Micro

Symantec Virus Scan

Command On Demand

Panda ActiveScan


I see that you have Spybot Search&Destroy, run that with the latest detections. I would also suggest running Adaware.

pkhenkel has a number of items in the HjT log, does anyone else see anything that I don't?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 02:11   #5
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
the sdmcp of stardock might indeed something like a shell extension, but it should not run, so I killed the process. No result. Stardock is need for a game to run (registraion and such).

Pdesk is a utility for the graphic card, which provides shortcuts like start this program or the display properties, I'm pretty sure that it does not count as an enhancement. Anyway winamp had never a problem with it before.

Hamster is a very useful mail proxy, there is no problem with it. http://tglsoft.de/

An actual virus scaner is running : McAfee

I did (I have them both installed and use them from time to time anyway) the scans and so far nothing serious was found (cookies and such, no program etc.)

Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 02:18   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Quote:
Originally posted by pkhenkel
I installed after removing the old version (following the guide).
Do you mean this guide?

I can not see what may be causing the issue. Any one else?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 03:08   #7
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
Do you mean this guide?

I can not see what may be causing the issue. Any one else?
Yes. This one. No plug in or skin was backed up, as side from the playlists nothing was backed up.

Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 12:41   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,871
Yup, this one's a bit puzzling...

especially seeing you say you've done a clean install with NO 3rd-party plugins.

At first, I thought that you'd maybe installed DrO's gen_os_diag (OS Pos Restorer) plugin (which remembers position of prefs, open file dialog, etc), and maybe you'd accidentally dragged the prefs offscreen...

Then I thought that maybe you're just running too many processes for a 750MHz cpu.
I've never even heard of half of them (took me ages to research that log).

There's no obvious malware in your log, but you may as well use HJT to fix some anomalies.

Have you recently uninstalled Microsoft IIS?

Re-download HijackThis and save it to a permanent folder,
eg. My Documents\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

Run HJT scan again
Place a checkmark next to the following entries only
and click Fix Checked:
(make sure all browser/email/explorer windows are closed first)

O23 - Service: IIS Admin - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)

O23 - Service: FTP-Publishing - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)

O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) - Unknown - %ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe (file missing)

O23 - Service: Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)

O23 - Service: WWW-Publishing - Unknown - K:\WINDOWS\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe (file missing)


Apart from that, I'm just as stumped as JM :/
Have you maybe disabled some essential MS Services recently?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 13:27   #9
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

Re-download HijackThis and save it to a permanent folder,
eg. My Documents\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

I got a virus warning from this one:
W32/Generic.worm!p2p
by mcafee with dat files from 09.02.2005
So I used a previous version (.98.2), but it did not find the lines you marked in your post.

Well, I check the services, but are there some which should run?

cu
Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 13:40   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,871
Only v1.99 shows the O23 - Services section
(only non default OS services are displayed here).

There's no virus/trojan in that file.

http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/defau...virus_k=100342

quote: "An incorrect identification of W32/Generic.worm!p2p was been discovered on the Secure IE and Perfect Companion applications"

I guess it needs fixing for some other apps as well.
Report the problem directly to McAfee.

Re: which MS Services need to be running that Winamp relies on...
Sorry, I'm not sure about this, heh :/
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 16:03   #11
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
I did the fixes, but well, There was nothing it could really do.

And yes, I kicked the IIS, since it is quite a risk and I do not need it. (so far I know it is needed for some more obscure parts of the help system, mostly for IIS itself.)

I checked the services, but there was nothing stopped what looked important at all (perhaps the DDE system [client & server], but starting it had no effect).

cu
Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 16:48   #12
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
a half solution?

I switched winamp to the classic skin and was suddenly able to open the preferences, switching back to the modern one and no preferences. So it seems this is a problem related to the modern skin support.

At least I can adjust a few paramter making it all better.

cu
Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 17:21   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,871
Hmm... interesting.

With Winamp closed, try deleting studio.xnf (main winamp dir)
This will reset all modern skin sizes/positions/settings to default.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2005, 17:38   #14
pkhenkel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Nope, no result, at least no preferences dialoge.

cu
Paul
pkhenkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2005, 07:07   #15
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
UPDATE:

http://forum.matrox.com/mga/viewtopic.php?t=12122
http://forums.murc.ws/showthread.php?t=49729


It may be limitations of the Matrox card which do not allow for viewing of the preferences in any Winamp modern skin. If your card supports an option to 'open pop-ups and dialogs in the application's display', disabling it may alleviate this issue.
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump