Old 25th January 2006, 16:27   #41
SailorMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 21
update bug with hang up winamp with milkdrop:
no need lock the Windows! Just pause playng on x minutes. After continue playing winamp hang up on ~x/3 minutes

about not saved milkdrop settings - understandably.
SailorMax is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 16:34   #42
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 537
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Hi

Quote:
Originally posted by doodle2
Don't know if I'm the only one having this problem, but ID3v2 recognition for foreign languages seems b0rked.
...
I have the same problem. There are no Polish (Poland) characters in ID3v2 Tag.
But, when I click "Copy from ID3v1" button and "Update" button playlist item looks good (in id3v2 box too).
Pawel is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 16:42   #43
doodle2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by PepeSoft
Hi

I have the same problem. There are no Polish (Poland) characters in ID3v2 Tag.
But, when I click "Copy from ID3v1" button and "Update" button playlist item looks good (in id3v2 box too).
Good, then we have it confirmed. Now, all we need to do is wait until it's fixed
doodle2 is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 16:44   #44
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
I should point out, to get gapless playback to work well, you should set "buffer ahead on track change" to about 500ms. This is the new default value, but if you installed over top of an old Winamp version, it might still be set to 0.

SailorMax: If Winamp crashes, settings aren't saved. Think of it as a safety mechanism - if you find a combination of settings that causes a crash, it won't be permanently saved.

The reason for the uppercase letters in the playlist winshade - Latin letters with underhang (g, j, etc) were being cut off. The space available for the playlist songname is slightly smaller than the space available for the main window songname

djsolidsnake86: thanks for the report. In some places in Winamp, track length is measured in milliseconds, in others, seconds. in_midi must have returned a length in milliseconds when it should have returned a length in seconds (hence it'd be 1000 times longer than it's supposed to be

doodle2: The main problem is that older versions of Winamp were storing non-latin characters incorrectly. Winamp 5.2 beta is behaving "correctly", but the tags in your files are incorrect (which is old Winamp's fault). However, I will add support to detect and read the old tags, so nobody has to re-tag anything
Benski is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 17:38   #45
SailorMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 21
2Benski: It not crash! just:
1) open configure window (of milkdrop)
2) change something
3) press "Ok"
4) open configure window
new settings not saved

I see now. but:
Preferences / Use skin or language pack font = on. Why it work only for list of playlist-window? Why not for playlist winshade?
SailorMax is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 17:47   #46
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
SailorMax: I'll look into the milkdrop config stuff. Some changes were made to support multi-user profiles, so it's possible that something broke.

The playlist winshade font will follow the font settings if it can. Since the classic skin winshade has a predetermined size, the font chooser will pick a separate font if the chosen one cannot be created with a specific pixel size.
Benski is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 17:50   #47
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Want to give a big thank you to mrym for (again) helping advise and test international character support in Winamp.
Benski is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:18   #48
BadServo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
AutoFill Disabled?

Great release guys, it's really shaping up. Of most interest to me was teh new ml-PMP functionality. However, I can't seem to get it to work correctly with my PlaysForSure device. For reference it's an IRiver U10. I upgraded my current Winamp installation to the new release, and removed the IPOD and CREATIVE portions of the plugin fromt eh preferences panel.

The Media Library can see my player and correctly reports if available space. I can delete songs fine and send songs to it fine from my local Media Library. Syncing also appears to work correctly.

The trouble is with Autofill. No matter what I do, or what options I set within the Autofill options, I always get the message "This will add 0 tracks and delete 0 tracks. Do you want to continue?".

Any advise would be much appreciated.
BadServo is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:25   #49
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
BadServo: afaik, that's a known issue and is already fixed for the next beta.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:35   #50
Mr.orgus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Just an off topic question here:
does winamp use any regestery settings ?
I would like to copy the winamp folder to a new pc (I'm doing this because I have to create an unattended Windows for school)

also, is there any chance there will be a completely silent installer in the future ?

thx in advance!
Mr.orgus is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:39   #51
BadServo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Ah, glad to hear it. Thanks for the info DJ. With WMP being the default meathod of transferring songs to MTP devices, having integration with my existing WinAmp Library will be a godsend. WMP takes to many liberties with my files.
BadServo is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:42   #52
doodle2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
...

doodle2: The main problem is that older versions of Winamp were storing non-latin characters incorrectly. Winamp 5.2 beta is behaving "correctly", but the tags in your files are incorrect (which is old Winamp's fault). However, I will add support to detect and read the old tags, so nobody has to re-tag anything
Don't mean to be petty, but I think that's more of a workaround rather than really solving the problem, now is it?

I also wanted to say that *some* tags were not saved by Winamp, but by various tagging software (mp3tag, just to name one), and it still has that problem. So it can't really be Winamp's tag editor "fault".

How about some function/program/plugin to convert the tags?
doodle2 is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 18:42   #53
reedermw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to reedermw
Single window UI

Perhaps this isn't the best place to pose this question, but has there been any consideration of adopting a single window UI for a future release similar to the excellent "Nullsoft_Media_Player_10" by Pieter Nieuwoudt? The WinAmp5 Modern artwork could be applied to it to create a skin with the WinAmp5 look or perhaps we could convince Pieter to create one for us. The functionality of his skin is really amazing. As cool as multiple windows are, they can be confusing for some people. Particularly the detached video window where alt-tab won't select it. You have to move windows around to find it. I have been following the SingleGUI thread for a year now and just discovered Pieter's skin which appears to eclipse it at least in terms of functionality. Hey Pieter--I don't suppose you would be willing to take the SingeGUI skin and make it work like your WMP10 skin?

Great work guys on WA 5.2 beta. The new extensible device support sounds great!
reedermw is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 19:07   #54
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by doodle2
Don't mean to be petty, but I think that's more of a workaround rather than really solving the problem, now is it?

I also wanted to say that *some* tags were not saved by Winamp, but by various tagging software (mp3tag, just to name one), and it still has that problem. So it can't really be Winamp's tag editor "fault".

How about some function/program/plugin to convert the tags?
Sure it's just a workaround. It's also likely that other taggers purposefully have the same "bug" so that tags will show up correctly in Winamp. The ID3v2 specs says that text must either be encoded in Unicode (which Winamp 5.2 uses), or ISO-8859-1 (commonly called Latin-1). In your case, the tags are probably stored in ISO-8859-8 (Hebrew) which is your system default. There are is no encoding identification stored in ID3 other than "unicode" or "not unicode".

The fix that I'm proposing would read non-Unicode tags with your system default, but store new/updated tags in Unicode, so the probably doesn't have to keep re-occuring
Benski is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:01   #55
konan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Re: Single window UI

Quote:
Originally posted by reedermw
Perhaps this isn't the best place to pose this question, but has there been any consideration of adopting a single window UI for a future release similar to the excellent "Nullsoft_Media_Player_10" by Pieter Nieuwoudt? The WinAmp5 Modern artwork could be applied to it to create a skin with the WinAmp5 look or perhaps we could convince Pieter to create one for us. The functionality of his skin is really amazing. As cool as multiple windows are, they can be confusing for some people. Particularly the detached video window where alt-tab won't select it. You have to move windows around to find it. I have been following the SingleGUI thread for a year now and just discovered Pieter's skin which appears to eclipse it at least in terms of functionality. Hey Pieter--I don't suppose you would be willing to take the SingeGUI skin and make it work like your WMP10 skin?

Great work guys on WA 5.2 beta. The new extensible device support sounds great!
I would also like to see other skins like WMP10 by Pieter. It doesn't use much resources and it's loaded with extra features. I've been using Winamp since version 2.10 or something and I use it ever since, but this skin is the one of few Modern Skins that I really like!

P.S. If anyone knows: is iRiver iFP-799 inclued in PlayForSure?
konan is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:03   #56
jnagel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 20
I'm still having problems with my Portables menu. The actual ml_pmp plugin seems to be loading fine but the individual "pmp_*" plugins (ipod, etc) aren't loading and don't appear in the list under the "Portables" menu in preferences.

I find it somewhat weird that no one else is having this problem, but I'd appreciate some followup on it nonetheless. Help me out here...

Beyond that, the new features are looking good so far...

Jack Nagel
jnagel is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:09   #57
ctkatz8086
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: louisville, ky home of the CARDINALS
Posts: 401
iriver models are included because it recognises my h20.

problem is that it doesn't recognize many of my tracks. i would say that it was due to the fact that i use another program to sort my stuff other than iriver+ or wmp 10 and i use it in ums mode where the computer assigns the player a drive letter as a normal drive, but it recognises some of the things but not all.

for reference, i have over 2300 mp3 files and the plugin recognises maybe 350 or so.

ctkatz8086 is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:30   #58
BadServo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
As far as I'm aware, the IFP-799 doesn't support PlaysForSure. PFS is a relatively new standard and the T-series is teh first of the IRiver flash players to support it. It's possible thay upgraded the firmware to add compatibility at some point, but I can't say for sure.

If your in the market for a nice PFS compatible device, the U10 is an AMAZING player, and the T10 is also a spectaculat unit, and somewhat cheaper.
BadServo is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:44   #59
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
eeek! I just noticed this! Now why would my PL look like that? :\

YtseJam is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:48   #60
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Right-to-left support gone wrong?
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:52   #61
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Well I also assume it is related, somehow, to my location and OS settings, however... The content of the playlist is English and not RTLed text.

Yeah, something went wrong.

YtseJam is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 22:54   #62
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
You can turn off RTL text in Prefs->Playlist
Benski is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 23:00   #63
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Hm, didn't notice that there. Must be new.

So okay, this will fix it for my "English playlists" but what if I then want to load a playlist that is a "Hebrew playlist"? It'll show up like in previous Winamp versions...

Basicly, the automatic detection shouldn't be based on my locale settings, as it obviously doing the wrong thing for "English playlists".

How about adding a 4th automatic detection option to scan the playlist on-load and choose the correct display mode rather then relying on locale settings (which can't read a user's mind)?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 25th January 2006, 23:28   #64
GhostMouse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Maybe put in the options of playlist Left middle and Right how to see the names songs in the playlist
GhostMouse is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:08   #65
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Just tested the true gapless MP3 support and find it to work fine. Great job, guys :thumbs up:

Test yourself:
Sample Part 1: http://foobar2000.org/gapless/part1.mp3
Sample Part 2: http://foobar2000.org/gapless/part2.mp3

If you here a blip in between there is no true gapless support as in older WA versions.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:16   #66
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
iPod support

hey folks,

I can confirm that iPod support w/ build 359 does not work, at least here.

there is no "portable devices" point in the preference menu whatsoever.
I had to install ml_ipod again.

where's the flaw?
my fault, some in winamp?

bye
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:23   #67
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Are you sure you downloaded the package that includes device support and checked the options that adds portable device support when installing?

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:30   #68
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
mikm,

slap me.
dammit. I am truly stupid. picked the first link, didn't notive the 2nd.

I'll give it a shot, hold you breath. :-D

thx for your quick reply.

edit: is there a way to stop winamp from download the windows media format installer?
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:39   #69
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Yes, by unchecking "Codecs and system libraries: Download and install (if required)" in Screen 5 of the installer options
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 00:44   #70
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
DJ Egg,

right, thx.

just found a bug in the ipod control plugin.

for testing, I completely resetted, formatted my iPod with the ipod updater.
blank ipod resulted.
winamp is unable to see this one.
ml_ipod too but there is a format option in the prefs of ml_ipod which quickly create the itunes files on the ipod.
you are ready to go then.

second point which I have noticed is that font size in the ipod view is diffent to the regular size used in the entire media library.

by now, I will stick with ml_ipod.
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 08:56   #71
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
hi,
little bug:
load a skin with <Wasabi:Text> (eg my mac skin)! the text is now very tiny! It's hard to read it on high screen resolutions

Martin

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 11:44   #72
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
mm just a simple question : in the Credits :

Quote:
Winamp 5 : now with 5% more google
uh ?
glop is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 11:50   #73
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's a joke about the purchase by google of a 5% stake in AOL a few months back

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 12:33   #74
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Great release so far

Not a huge issue, but I noticed that the handling of unknown file extensions is a bit different than in previous versions.
Say that the assumed file extension is set to mp3 (under Prefs > Playlist). If you then load a file named song.huh which is actuallly just a renamed mp3 file, metadata is not read and the line in the playlist editor becomes empty.
In earlier versions, ATF would not work either, but then the input plugin specific formatting would jump in.
Something similar happens when you set the assumed file ext to ogg and you load a renamed ogg file. I guess this issue arrises for all input plugins which had their own title formatting removed?

When I did the same with a wma file, info was displayed fine (I don't recall if ATF actually worked or if the filename was used; I don't have Winamp on this computer to check now...).

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 14:05   #75
djtaylor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 20
Having problems with the new in_mp3:

The playlist doesn't show the song's artist/title, just a blank line with only the track length. Also, just the length is shown in the main window in the song 'ticker' (i.e. no artist/title there either).

I went to check the settings in Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> in_mp3.dll -> Title/Tags tab and they've all disappeared! Only the 'Tag writing from media library' group box is present, with the 2 'Title formatting' group boxes missing!

The id3 tag editor still reads the tags ok though.

Reverted to the in_mp3.dll from Winamp 5.12 and it's working again.
djtaylor is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 14:09   #76
Cianca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 336
A question...

when 5.2 crash send automatically the report log at winamp servers?



today it crashed the new beta when listen a CD but without message error

The universal god of light, love, wisdom and rok n rol
Cianca is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 15:21   #77
Dick65
Senior Member
 
Dick65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 157
APE tags

Since you guys are turning a few things around:
Any chance to see Winamp read APE tags?
Dick65 is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 15:50   #78
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Re: APE tags

Quote:
Originally posted by Dick65
Since you guys are turning a few things around:
Any chance to see Winamp read APE tags?
You can use in_mpg123 for the APE tags currently.
roytam1 is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 15:51   #79
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
@djtaylor
As explained in the 3rd post in this thread, input plugins no longer use individual title formatting. All title formatting is now taken care of via the universal setting in: Prefs > Titles > Advanced Title Formatting. This is enabled by default on clean installs, so I guess it must mean that you installed on top of a previous installation where ATF was disabled. Solution? Enable ATF :/

@siebe83
Yup, reproduced the issue where tags aren't being displayed for unknown file types.

@Cianca
It depends on your settings in:
Winamp > Prefs > Error Feedback

@Dick65
Yes, APEv2 tag support is planned for a future release. No idea when though.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 26th January 2006, 17:44   #80
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
build 365

Build 365 posted

Fixes the following bugs from build 359:
mp3 tag writing crash
german language pack crash
in_midi song length glitch
foreign characters from incorrectly tagged id3v2 files
Benski is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump