Old 28th September 2006, 04:33   #81
Moguta
Senior Member
 
Moguta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by will
Included in Winamp Essentials 5.3:
* FLAC Decoder
Why does the decoder show this -exact text- at the bottom right of a FLAC file's information? It doesn't even show the RG values, just:

ReplayGain: track gain
ReplayGain: album gain


The plugin I'm currently using went by the format:


ReplayGain:
track: +4.78 dB
album: +1.19 dB <=

where the <= arrow points to which gain value the encoder is currently set to use. Overall, it seems much nicer... =/



Magnatune - A role model for ALL digital music stores!
Moguta is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 04:41   #82
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
Just click on the Online Services part of the Online Services tree in the Media Library
Thanks, that got rid of some but not In2TV, SingingFish, Games, and AOL Video.
Is it possible to get rid of all that mess too?
For my use, this is all useless garbage.
papadoc is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 04:44   #83
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
The online installer comes in 3 sections papadoc - music, video and games. Did you find all 3 headings on that screen.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 05:07   #84
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Nope, didn't see any of that.
I'll try installing again.
papadoc is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 05:14   #85
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Might not be something that needs a fresh install, it comes from the server.

I'll do a screenshot. Click all three in turn.

UJ
Attached Images
File Type: png sp32-28092006-061239.png (60.7 KB, 665 views)
ujay is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 05:17   #86
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Got it, ujay.
Thanks for the screenshot
papadoc is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 06:01   #87
.lennon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
heh, 503 crashes when i'm tried to configure Album List 2.05 plugin
.lennon is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 07:14   #88
Hayden_54
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 65
I had the same problem. There's a new release of Album List 2.06 that fixes it.
Hayden_54 is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 08:38   #89
waldy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
I had WinAmp 5.3Pro installed on 2 PC`s, after finishd the Installation i get the also follow Message:

Ereignistyp: Fehler
Ereignisquelle: Application Error
Ereigniskategorie: Keine
Ereigniskennung: 1000
Datum: 27.09.2006
Zeit: 17:11:18
Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
Computer: T-DSL-PC-A
Beschreibung:
Fehlgeschlagene Anwendung k-meleon.exe, Version 1.0.2.0, fehlgeschlagenes Modul xpcom_core.dll, Version 0.0.0.0, Fehleradresse 0x00026117.

But I think, WinAmp works whitout Problems.

waldy
waldy is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 08:50   #90
waldy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Sorry, I post a failure Errormessage. Here the right:

Ereignistyp: Informationen
Ereignisquelle: Application Popup
Ereigniskategorie: Keine
Ereigniskennung: 26
Datum: 27.09.2006
Zeit: 17:51:23
Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
Computer: T-DSL-PC-A
Beschreibung:
Anwendungspopup: winamp.exe - Fehler in Anwendung: Die Anweisung in "0x01435dcc" verweist auf Speicher in "0x01435dcc". Der Vorgang
"read" konnte nicht auf dem Speicher durchgeführt werden.

waldy
waldy is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 09:23   #91
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
nice that k-meleon can crash gecko tho

CraigF is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 12:28   #92
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Fixed ml_local.dll attached (unzip to the Winamp\Plugins folder)

This fixes the bug where Track# shows as -1 for files with no Track# in tags (when using %track% in atf), and where unicode titles show as ?????? in the playlist after adding the files to the media library database and unchecking "use library title information for playlist item formatting" in Prefs.

First post in thread has been updated accordingly.

Note that the version of ml_local.dll available in the 5.3 Update Pack (see link) also fixes a bug caused by ml_local which "breaks 'always on top' for other programs".
Attached Files
File Type: zip ml_local.zip (91.9 KB, 2881 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 12:30   #93
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by papadoc
Just wanted to let DrO know the Bookmark Catagorizer still works great!
yay, that's good to hear since i've not even tested the plugin with it in the 5.25/5.3 test phase (since i know there is a unicode implementation of the bookmark api but wasn't sure if the ansi one was still working (though i think i might need to do some unicodifying of things along with a few other plugins it seems, heh)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 16:53   #94
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Will, just a small question about the Flac decoder. From the other input plug-ins (in_mp3, in_vorbis) title formatting was removed from the configuration, because they now use just the ATF.

Is there any reason, why title formatting is still present in the in_flac configuration?
Koopa is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 17:06   #95
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
Will, just a small question about the Flac decoder. From the other input plug-ins (in_mp3, in_vorbis) title formatting was removed from the configuration, because they now use just the ATF.

Is there any reason, why title formatting is still present in the in_flac configuration?
One of many reasons it didn't make the final cut
Benski is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 17:10   #96
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
One of many reasons it didn't make the final cut
Well, thanks for your quick reply. Sorry for my question, I thought there was maybe another reason than time.
Koopa is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 17:54   #97
Trent187
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 44
I upgraded from the last beta to 5.3, and now the font in the playlist is different for some reason? The time of the songs still looks the same as it used to. Did something get changed?

I am using the default, modern skin
Trent187 is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 17:56   #98
Trent187
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 44
Also, what happened with the ID3v2 tags? There is something called "album artist" now and also all the years for the v2 tags were cleared.

EDIT: It seems ID3v2 tags years have been cleared for songs information I put in a while back. Recent years that I have inputed are still there.
Trent187 is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 18:47   #99
Kanpai
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Kanpai
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Fixed ml_local.dll attached (unzip to the Winamp\Plugins folder)

This fixes the bug where Track# shows as -1 for files with no Track# in tags (when using %track% in atf), and where unicode titles show as ?????? in the playlist after adding the files to the media library database and unchecking "use library title information for playlist item formatting" in Prefs.

First post in thread has been updated accordingly.
whoo hoo! DJ Egg, you're my hero!

EDIT: It all works, just like you said. Does anyone know anything about getting unicode fonts to appear correctly with the modern skin TTF renderer on? My winamp is always windowshaded and when i turn it off the fonts get cut off and they look really ugly.

EDIT 2: Nevermind, the font mapper lets me do this.
Kanpai is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 20:33   #100
sekond
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
ok, i'm sorry, but i'm new to this replaygain idea...

but it seems to be labeling all of my songs below 0db, making them quiter than originally were, is this normal for all songs? or what?
sekond is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 20:36   #101
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Yeah, that's how it usually works.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 20:39   #102
sekond
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
ok, thanks
sekond is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 21:08   #103
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
I've got some that say eg. +0.5 or +1.65dB or whatever, and even the odd one or two that are +10dB, but yeah, in general most of them end up being somewhere in the minus region.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 22:13   #104
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
I'm glad I can work with Ben to improve Winamp. It's a program I've used a long long time now and I'm glad to be a part of it </mushystuff> hehe :P
STanger is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 22:48   #105
Winner2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 62
THANKS DEVS, DJ EGG, ALL CONTRIBUTORS!

Awesome work, everyone, on this release!! VERY impressive list of improvements! THANKS everyone, expecially volunteers, who invest countless hours for the benefit of the Winamp community!!
Winner2 is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 00:07   #106
Desides
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
I think I've found a bug.

The Replay Gain information window (the window that appears after scanning tracks for RG values, and asks if you want to save as Album Gain, save as Track Gain, etc) doesn't display unicode mp3 filenames properly. For example, if I use the RG scanner on 01[法廷休憩室 ~ 始まりの序曲].mp3, it shows up in the RG window as 01____.mp3.

This might just be a limitation of Windows XP's horrendous unicode implementation, but I thought it was important enough to mention.

Also, a quick question: will future releases implement "Next" and "Previous" buttons (ala iTunes' Get Info menu) in the View File Info window? It's pretty handy for more quickly editing the ID3 tags of a group of mp3s, rather than having to individually select each one.
Desides is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 00:27   #107
Shadowtech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 33
Quote:
Also, a quick question: will future releases implement "Next" and "Previous" buttons (ala iTunes' Get Info menu) in the View File Info window? It's pretty handy for more quickly editing the ID3 tags of a group of mp3s, rather than having to individually select each one. [/B]
If you hold down the shift key (while in the playlist window), you can select a large block of files at once to edit their ID3 info. If you hold down the control key, you can individually select multiple files to edit.
Shadowtech is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 01:57   #108
Yacho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
ok but still noone adressed my Portable preformance issue - i get really REALLY low speed on transfering files from ML
Yacho is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 06:19   #109
Shadowtech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 33
Anyone else getting a massive CPU spike when first opening Winamp? This wasn't happening in the last beta but now it is with the v5.3 release.
Shadowtech is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 08:51   #110
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I just have another question.

Why does the genre dropdown list in the vorbis info editor doesn't contain genres like the other input plug-ins (in_mp3, in_flac, etc.)?

Koopa is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 08:59   #111
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
in Winamp Essential why playlist separator not included, and also color editor... i thinks it essential!
adios!

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:04   #112
KevinSartori
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 4
ReplayGain with MP3Gain

Hey! I've used MP3Gain for years to apply ReplayGain info to my mp3 files. I like the way it works and I've used it on almost 600 CDs I've ripped. According to the MP3Gain faq:

Quote:
MP3Gain stores "Analysis" and "Undo" information in special tags inside the mp3 file itself. These tags are in the APEv2 format. APEv2 tags are carefully designed to not interfere with other tag formats, such as the popular ID3v1 format.
It appears that the new ReplayGain support in WinAmp doesn't read from APEv2 tags, but only from ID3v2 tags. To test this, I made two copies of the same mp3 file with the same ReplayGain track volume (using MP3Gain). Using mp3Trim PRO, I increased the level of one by 3.0dB and decreased the other by 3.0dB. When I played the tracks in the new version of Winamp, it ignored the ReplayGain info in the files and the files played at different volume levels.

I believe that MP3Gain is a fairly popular program. Will Winamp ever support ReplayGain info from APEv2 tags? I don't really want to scan all of my nearly 9000 mp3 files over again...

If not, does anyone know of a tool that will take the APEv2 ReplayGain values and copy them over to ID3v2 tags on a file-by-file basis?

Quick edit:
I should mention that I've been using the Shibatch mpg123 plug-in, which does support ReplayGain through APEv2 tags, but I find the volume slider to be touchy and I miss the default Winmap tag reader. I was hoping that the latest Winamp release with ReplayGain support would mean I could stop using the Shibatch mpg123 plug-in.
KevinSartori is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:13   #113
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
From the Winamp 5.x Wishlist

Quote:
APE v2 tags support
Hopefully planned for a later release... we shall see
Winamp doesn't read APE tags yet, so it doesn't read the MP3Gain info too, maybe this will change, when native support for APE tags is there, lord knows.
Koopa is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:29   #114
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
I just have another question.

Why does the genre dropdown list in the vorbis info editor doesn't contain genres like the other input plug-ins (in_mp3, in_flac, etc.)?
Probably because genres.txt is missing...

Here, have my custom one (place it in the Winamp root dir)

If there's anything missing, you can simply add your own.
Attached Files
File Type: txt genres.txt (2.9 KB, 498 views)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:33   #115
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Thanks for your quick reply.

Yeah you're right, genres.txt is no longer in my Winamp root dir (the downside of doing clean installs for testing, heh )
Quote:
Probably because genres.txt is missing..
I guess missing from the installer, right?

[Edit]I've just extracted the installer and the file is no longer part of the installer, I hope they'll fix it.

(Strange, it still works for MP3 files, I thought in_mp3 etc use genres.txt too )
Koopa is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:39   #116
KevinSartori
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
From the Winamp 5.x Wishlist

quote:

APE v2 tags support
Hopefully planned for a later release... we shall see


Winamp doesn't read APE tags yet, so it doesn't read the MP3Gain info too, maybe this will change, when native support for APE tags is there, lord knows.
Gotcha, that makes sense. Thanks for the quick reply! I'll just keep using the Shibatch mpg123 plug-in for proper decoding and ReplayGain support.
KevinSartori is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:41   #117
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
@Koopatrooper
Yeah, genres.txt is not in the installer. Don't think it ever has been.
Though it used to be included with PP's original in_vorbis installer, before it became part of the default Winamp distribution.
afaik, it's auto created when you manually add any genres in the Vorbis Editor.
But yeah, I agree that it should be included with the Winamp installer, and only installed alongside in_vorbis (though ideally it should actually be coded into in_vorbis).

[Edit] No, afaik, only in_vorbis uses genres.txt.
The genre list is coded into the other input plugins. [/Edit]

Quote:
Originally posted by Shadowtech
Anyone else getting a massive CPU spike when first opening Winamp? This wasn't happening in the last beta but now it is with the v5.3 release.
Maybe something to do with the new Dashboard homepage in the Media Library?
(assuming the ML is open at that page when you start Winamp)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:45   #118
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Quote:
Originally posted by KevinSartori
Gotcha, that makes sense. Thanks for the quick reply! I'll just keep using the Shibatch mpg123 plug-in for proper decoding and ReplayGain support.
Proper?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 10:51   #119
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
@Koopatrooper
Yeah, genres.txt is not in the installer. Don't think it ever has been.
Though it used to be included with PP's original in_vorbis installer, before it became part of the default Winamp distribution.
This makes more sense. I'm using Winamp for a very long time, and was sure, the dropdown list worked before.

I've installed many of PP's installer, since I make more clean installs for testing, the file was removed.
Quote:
though ideally it should actually be coded into in_vorbis).
Oh, thanks for the explanation, I thought genres.txt is shared by other plug-ins too, wasn't aware that the list is hard coded to the other plug-ins. I'm using Winamp for years, but never stop to learn more.

Yeah, this should be hard coded to in_vorbis. it's annoying to see a dropdown list, which includes nothing (expect you create your own entries)

Cheers!
Koopa is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 12:25   #120
strawhatluffy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Hi, I've been having a small bit of trouble since installing Winamp 5.3. It seems like the ID3v2 tags of MP3 files aren't working somehow. The File info dialog box of mp3 files are also... much simpler than they used to be.

Not quite a big problem but pretty annoying to see your playlist in this state.

Great release BTW.

Some screenshots:


Oops, problem fixed. Had to do with the MP3pro thing. Sorry bout that. Somehow the settings for that plugin changed during the upgrade. Thanks for the great release again ^^
strawhatluffy is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump