Old 5th December 2006, 13:27   #41
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,784
The playback issues seem to be fixed (no longer getting the 'stuck at 0:00' problem).

There's also no longer any crash/conflict when all of gen_undo (new test version), gen_nopro and in_shn (new build) are present.

Though there still seems to be some conflict between in_shn and gen_nunzio (aka: One For Nunz / plugins list generator), and possibly something to do with One For Nunz's pseudo columns feature (see screenshot: 1 = without gen_nunzio, 2 = with).

winamp caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module winamp.exe at 001b:00000000

I get this crash sometimes on playback of .shn files (but not every time), and it always occurs when a .shn is playing and trying to view: Prefs > Plugins > Input.

Other than that, I think we're almost there...
Attached Images
File Type: png in_shn_vs_gen_nunzio.png (59.4 KB, 3160 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 15:28   #42
TonyRz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally posted by wstielau
I've fixed ShnAmp.
[p]
Attached is a fixed version if anyone would like to try it.

-Wayne
Wow. Just -- wow. Thanks. I thought this bug was a new nail in the coffin. I settled on Winamp a while back precisely because of the seamless compatibility with both FLAC and SHN, which I started getting a lot of. Of course, this compatibility was 100% due to the dedication of plugin developers like yourself.

(FTR, I wasn't having any new trouble with SHN format, but then I never opted for an "Essentials" install. But I dreaded adding yet another README in my winamp install directory about how plugin X doesn't work with program version Y and codec Z when the moon is full and you're wearing black shoes, etc....)

Things are seamless again. Thanks.
TonyRz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 20:20   #43
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the new in_shn now works with the official gen_undo and the now removed test build. also on a plus note it now works on my main install.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 21:12   #44
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
looking into the issues Egg has reported, when in_shn's winampGetInModule2(..) is called more than once then it appears to cause the crash issue Egg was mentioning with the gen_nunzio plugin. the same issue is also exhibited when using my in_zip plugin (which wraps other input plugins allowing them to play files within archives). in the case of both plugins, winampGetInModule2(..) is called again after winamp has called it and any attempts at using/accessing the memory pointer returned by these calls will cause subsequent crashes which from experience with other input plugins i've worked with does not happen.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 23:08   #45
halbroome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
I'm glad people are finally recognizing this problem; I have a lot of legacy shns and flacs, and while I've had no problems with flac, my shn files definitely stopped this Winamp and the one before in its tracks (literally!).

I'm now using an earlier version that I found on an old backup disk (5.11, eek)and it works fine: as someone said earlier, no way I'm going back to reconvert shns to flac! Although I'd love to pay someone to do it for me 8').

wstielau's solution sounds worth trying -- fingers x'ed!
halbroome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 10:38   #46
halbroome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
In a report back: wstielau's fix works!

I can now use the latest Winamp 8').

Thanks to all.
halbroome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 15:07   #47
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
There seems to be a problem with the seek function on shn type files using what Wayne posted for a fix up above.

If one moves the 'slider' to get to a certain desired spot in an shn file, 5.32 will not go there; instead it goes back where it was playing at. I can see the blue bar (on modern skin) going to where I selected but no joy.

Ok, default FLAC 5.32 playback works on moving the slider and so does CD playback. That's all the formats I can test right now.

halbroome: can u confirm same results?

Last edited by Ton80; 6th December 2006 at 16:07.
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 17:50   #48
wstielau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Are you sure the shn file is seekable? Not all shorten files are. Check file info and see if it indicates if it is seekable.

-Wayne

Quote:
Originally posted by Ton80
There seems to be a problem with the seek function on shn type files using what Wayne posted for a fix up above.

If one moves the 'slider' to get to a certain desired spot in an shn file, 5.32 will not go there; instead it goes back where it was playing at. I can see the blue bar (on modern skin) going to where I selected but no joy.

Ok, default FLAC 5.32 playback works on moving the slider and so does CD playback. That's all the formats I can test right now.

halbroome: can u confirm same results?
wstielau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 17:52   #49
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by wstielau
Are you sure the shn file is seekable? Not all shorten files are. Check file info and see if it indicates if it is seekable.

-Wayne


ok just checked mp3 and it works.

To Wayne how the heck do I check shn on what you just said?


Hmmm tried another set of shn and the slider works so wow uh ok Wayne was right. Wow. Forgive me then.


Uh how can one tell which would be 'bad' and not 'bad'?
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 17:57   #50
wstielau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Right-click the file in the playlist and select file info.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ton80
ok just checked mp3 and it works.

To Wayne how the heck do I check shn on what you just said?
wstielau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 18:00   #51
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
ah Now I see it thanks Wayne.


Never thought of that; which might bring this up again from another noob. Is it related to an older shn codec?


We might need to advise our hubbers on older shn/winamp 5.32 behavior but too much work/material to update to latest shn.
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 18:04   #52
wstielau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
The original Shorten implementation did not support seeking. I extended the original spec to support seeking (Shorten V3) shortly after I wrote the first version of ShnAmp.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ton80
ah Now I see it thanks Wayne.


Never thought of that; which might bring this up again from another noob. Is it related to an older shn codec?
wstielau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 18:06   #53
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by wstielau
The original Shorten implementation did not support seeking. I extended the original spec to support seeking (Shorten V3) shortly after I wrote the first version of ShnAmp.


Oh ok hmmm some peeps snuck in quickly in between releases.


Well sorry for 'crying Wolf' falsely wasn't intentional in any malicious sense. I was just report what I had encountered on one set of shn files. Again please forgive me.
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2006, 18:16   #54
loganmr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Ah! Thanks so much for fixing the shn won't play problem! I thought I was the only one having this error. After installing the new file, everything works fine. Thanks so much!
loganmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2006, 20:58   #55
wstielau
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Though there still seems to be some conflict between in_shn and gen_nunzio (aka: One For Nunz / plugins list generator), and possibly something to do with One For Nunz's pseudo columns feature (see screenshot: 1 = without gen_nunzio, 2 = with).

winamp caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module winamp.exe at 001b:00000000

I get this crash sometimes on playback of .shn files (but not every time), and it always occurs when a .shn is playing and trying to view: Prefs > Plugins > Input.

Other than that, I think we're almost there...
I've also resolved this issue. ShnAmp was reinitializing the In_Module structure that is returned by winampGetInModule2() when it was called the second time. This would cause the outMod member to be set to NULL, crashing the decode thread.

Attached is ShnAmp 2.04 containing the fix.
Attached Files
File Type: zip in_shn.zip (48.1 KB, 10342 views)
wstielau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2006, 21:21   #56
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yup, all is working fine now with the 2.04 build

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2007, 22:21   #57
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Official Home Of ShnAmp?

Quote:
Originally posted by wstielau
Attached is ShnAmp 2.04 containing the fix.
wstielau, what is the primary source for the latest version of ShnAmp?

I have always have gone to etree.org when I needed to download ShnAmp.
But I see that etree still has v2.02. Is this just an oversight? Or is there a better source than etree? Or third option, are you still looking at v2.04 as I beta?

Just wanted to make sure our friendly bootleggers have the latest plugin too.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2007, 22:32   #58
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
ShnAmp - Gapless Output Option?

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yeah, I unchecked the gapless output plugin in the ShnAmp installer.

I reckon that the bundled gapless output plugin is pretty old and probably not too compatible. Besides, Winamp's DirectSound Output does gapless anyway (out_ds > config > buffering tab > buffer ahead on track change // other tab > remove silence). But there's also a possibility that the gapless settings (whether via out_ds or 3rd-party output plugin) are causing the "won't play" issue.
DJ Egg, what was the final decision on this? I recently got a new machine and had to re-install Winamp and my plugins. Is the fact I checked the gapless output option going to mess anything up for me?
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2007, 06:34   #59
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,784
No. Just use DirectSound Output in Winamp.
And use the Nullsoft FLAC Decoder which comes with Winamp 5.3x for Flac playback, and use the latest in_shn ShnAmp v2.04 (as attached to wstielau's post above) for .shn playback.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 12:18   #60
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
So far the 2.04 works also with winamp 5.33, wstielau.
Thx again for your time.
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 11:11   #61
Ton80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chattanooga, TN. USA
Posts: 11
The shn 204 zip posted above also works with winamp 5.34. But shnamp202.exe does not.
Ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 12:09   #62
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
obviously 2.02 will not work with 5.34 since the plugin was flawed just that until the changes were made to the winamp core for plugin loading that it never showed up. shouldn't be using 2.02 now anyway, heh

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 17:44   #63
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Re: Official Home Of ShnAmp?

Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
shouldn't be using 2.02 now anyway
As DrO pointed out ... ShnAmp v2.04 is the latest.
etree.org needs to make a v2.04 exe and update thier site.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2007, 10:59   #64
Ary
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 54
Thanks wstielau for fix.
Ary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 15:53   #65
beeerlover
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by wstielau
I've also resolved this issue. ShnAmp was reinitializing the In_Module structure that is returned by winampGetInModule2() when it was called the second time. This would cause the outMod member to be set to NULL, crashing the decode thread.

Attached is ShnAmp 2.04 containing the fix.
I want to say thanks. This fixed my problems perfectly.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....34#post2083434

Next, lol, care to tackle making shnamp display the folder like flac can in the ATF? This would allow all my previous and upcoming concerts to display correctly for the broadcasting, if it can be done.

Thanks, again!
beeerlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2007, 23:32   #66
Jimpin
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Iran
Posts: 7
Thanks for the fix.
Best regards...
Jimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2007, 16:25   #67
jjordan1520
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
applying v2.04

how do i apply the shnAmp v2.04 fix to my plugins?
jjordan1520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2007, 16:37   #68
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,784
Download the zip attachment
http://forums.winamp.com/attachment.php?postid=2083434

With Winamp closed, unzip in_shn.dll to the Winamp\Plugins folder.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2007, 17:41   #69
jjordan1520
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Got it. Thanks.
jjordan1520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump