Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th March 2007, 11:39   #1
dmpc5000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Incompatibility with iTunes 7.1

Has anyone else had an issue with the latest iTunes update, 7.1.

Following an upgrade to 7.1 and a sync with my iPod, i found that Winamp, with the latest mlipod 2.02p09 version installed, could not find my iPod.

The only way around this appears to be
a. Remove iTunes 7.1
b. Reinstall iTunes 7.0.2
c. Resync the iPod

Any further info or a further patch would be appreciated.

Winamp: 5.33
mlipod: 2.02p09
iTunes: 7.0.2
dmpc5000 is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 14:05   #2
pelksaka
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Happened to me too.

And I have the good old reliable 5.13. 5.33 fucked up the playlist syncing.
pelksaka is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 14:51   #3
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
UPDATE: Meanwhile, this issue is solved in the latest patch downloads. See below: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....79#post2178279

------------------------------------------
So does anybody know what iTunes 7.1 changed?
I don't even dare to install it

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE

Last edited by abu; 15th May 2007 at 10:44.
abu is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 14:52   #4
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by pelksaka
And I have the good old reliable 5.13. 5.33 fucked up the playlist syncing.
That's fixed with 2.02p11. They changed the data files for playlists once again...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 15:13   #5
dmpc5000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Re 7.1 - not sure Abu, the main reason for the release was supposed to be to address Windows Vista issues. However, they have modded CoverFlow so I suspect there may be some media library file structure changes.
dmpc5000 is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 17:57   #6
AtmaWeapon
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Quote:
Re 7.1 - not sure Abu, the main reason for the release was supposed to be to address Windows Vista issues.
The Windows System Requirements for iTunes 7.1 do not specify Windows Vista, so I guess Vista is still not supported.
AtmaWeapon is offline  
Old 9th March 2007, 22:19   #7
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by pelksaka
Happened to me too.
Could you zip the iPod_control\itunes folder of your iPod and put it somewhere where I can download it? (See FAQ for more info)

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 11th March 2007, 15:39   #8
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Lightbulb

I'm having the same problem with my 1G iPod shuffle. My 5.5G 80GB iPod shows up just fine under Winamp, even after being synced with iTunes 7.1, but my shuffle won't.

Here's the contents of my iPod_Control\iTunes folder.
http://www.gamingw.net/pubaccess/32673/iPodshuffleControl.zip
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 11th March 2007, 21:27   #9
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Ok, I can confim that with your files, thanks.
It seems that iTunes changed the internal layout of the master iTunesDB file
For the moment all I can say is this : Don't use iTunes7.1 if you want to use Winamp with your iPod.
If you already did it, you haveto format it in ml_ipod, which will erase all your songs

If some other people could send me the zipped files...? That would help for analysing this issue. Thanks.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 11th March 2007, 22:54   #10
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
I tried reformatting my shuffle with ml_iPod, which did the trick. Trouble is, if iTunes is installed, it'll just auto-open the next time you plug in your iPod and reformat the device with the new format again. The only solution for me would be to uninstall iTunes completely (I don't have a copy of 7.0.2 anymore) and just use Winamp, which isn't an option since the rest of my family uses iTunes.
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 01:32   #11
BCan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
That isn't the case, you need to make sure you remove the tick in the iTunes setup for the iPod so that it doesn't always open iTunes when it is connected.
BCan is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 01:48   #12
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Nope. Already tried that. It's a per-device setting and as such is stored directly on the iPod. Reformat the iPod in Winamp and the setting is lost. Since the default is to open iTunes on connect, I'm out of luck.

Believe me, I've done my homework.
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 02:34   #13
BCan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
How about stopping the iTunesHandler.exe from loading at start up, this is the "real" problem. Disable this program from running, and iTunes will be none the wiser that you have connected your iPod. Only downside is if that you have autoplay enabled, it will bring up the drive when you connect.
BCan is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 09:38   #14
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Does anybody know where iTunes stores this setting? So you could save that file and restore it after the ml_iPod formatting procedure.
Or do it the other way: Format with ml_ipod. then save the iTunesDB from the iPod. Then open iTunes, uncheck the box to automatically open iTunes. Eject iPod, quit iTunes. Reattach iPod -> iTunes does not open. Restore the saved iTunesDB to iPod. Open Winamp -> your iPod should be shown ok.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 09:39   #15
dmpc5000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Older version of iTunes

You should be able to find iTunes 7.02 at oldapps.com

Last edited by dmpc5000; 12th March 2007 at 10:29.
dmpc5000 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 13:55   #16
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Yeah, here is the download link:
http://www.oldapps.com/download.php?...esSetup702.exe

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 14:43   #17
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Thanks, abu. You're a life saver.

Also: I hadn't thought of that--saving the iTunesDB and restoring it. Granted, that'll only work if the "don't open iTunes on connect" setting isn't stored in the iTunesDB itself, but I'll try it and let you know what happens.

One other question. I'm about to buy a 2G iPod shuffle (the clip-on one). Will ml_iPod work with it?
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 14:59   #18
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
The setting is definitely NOT stored in the iTunesDB (this is the one file on the iPod I know best ), so it should work.
I couldn't test with a 2G shuffle (don't have one, that'll be the next donation project ), but as I heard no complaints so far, I guess it works just fine. Probably they haven't changed too much between the two Shuffle generations, and the 1G definitly is supported fine.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 16:15   #19
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Even better, I added a recovery method to ml_ipod. It's in patch 2.02p13. If you attach your iPod that has been modified by iTunes 7.1, you get this:

Better than nothing, right?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 17:48   #20
JodiTheTigger
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks for the restore fix Abu, its a nice temporary measure to keep us going in the meantime.

What sorta timescale could we expect a 7.1 compatable version to appear?
JodiTheTigger is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 17:57   #21
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by JodiTheTigger
What sorta timescale could we expect a 7.1 compatable version to appear?
No idea at the moment. I don't have too much time for that over the next weeks, so I don't even plan to install iTunes 7.1
Basically, I won't figure out the new DB format, I'll wait until somebody does it and the http://ipodlinux.org/ITunesDB gets updated...

Could anybody with a "real" iPod (no Shuffle) and iTunes7.1 upload his iTunesDB please?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:45   #22
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally posted by abu
Could anybody with a "real" iPod (no Shuffle) and iTunes7.1 upload his iTunesDB please?
Damn. Now you tell me. I just finished uninstalling 7.1 and putting back 7.0.2. You'll have to wait a bit while I upgrade again.
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 19:52   #23
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
Damn. Now you tell me. I just finished uninstalling 7.1 and putting back 7.0.2. You'll have to wait a bit while I upgrade again.
Congrats, that's the better solution for now

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 20:07   #24
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Okay, well Winamp recognizes my 5.5G 80GB iPod, even after syncing it in iTunes 7.1, so whatever changed only changed for the shuffle.

Here is the iPod_Control\iTunes folder from my 5.5G.

http://www.gamingw.net/pubaccess/32673/driveL.zip


Edit: Oh, by the way, the "parsing iPod database" dialog is annoying. Can you maybe add an option to turn it off?
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 20:54   #25
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
Oh, by the way, the "parsing iPod database" dialog is annoying. Can you maybe add an option to turn it off?
Well, during the parsing phase, everything is locked, which s even more annoying if you don't know why

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 21:26   #26
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
...which is why I suggested making it optional. You can still have it turned on by default if you want.
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 12th March 2007, 21:54   #27
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
All right, you get a new option "showParseDatabaseDlg" which you can set to zero in the iPod inifile... Will be in 2.03

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 01:03   #28
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Thanks, abu. I installed 2.03, set that option in my ml_iPod.ini files, and now it's back to the old, pre-2.0 behavior.

One question, though: Why did you make showParseDatabaseDlg a per-device setting instead of a global (winamp.ini) setting? That would have made more sense, I think...
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 04:48   #29
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
Why did you make showParseDatabaseDlg a per-device setting instead of a global (winamp.ini) setting? That would have made more sense, I think...
well, I thought about that, too. Might be true, but I'm not sure.
I thought this way: You take your iPod (with your personal preferences about that dialog) with you to some other PC. Maybe a friend's... You attach it, and with the iPod setting, you don't see the dialog, as you want to have it.

A global setting would make more sense if you own several iPods, all attached to on one PC...

Basically, as most people only have one iPod, it makes no real difference, right?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 05:13   #30
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
I have two, my mom has three, my sister has one... so there's a grand total of 6 iPods in my house. This should definitely be a global setting, I think.

I'm not trying to be difficult, I promise!
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 05:55   #31
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
But maybe your sister is not bothered by that dialog...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 08:04   #32
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
showParseDatabaseDlg: starting with v2.03p01, this can be set to 0 either as a global or iPod setting. So it's up to you

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 14:38   #33
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Thanks. Now let's never talk about this again...
fatcerberus1 is offline  
Old 14th March 2007, 16:08   #34
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
you have my word

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 27th April 2007, 18:48   #35
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Exclamation ISSUE FIXED !!!!

The newest patch 2.04p13 should be able to deal with the new database format of iTunes 7.1, without loosing playlists. Would be good to have some feedback on this....

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 28th April 2007, 01:05   #36
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Thanks Abu. Great job as usual!!

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline  
Old 28th April 2007, 19:41   #37
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
I tried it with a shuffle from a friend, it seems this fix also works for the shuffle. On monday I will get an own one (as donations rose high enough ), and then I can test this further...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 28th April 2007, 20:11   #38
Stupifier
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 596
I feel like there is going to be very limited feedback on this issue as I (and I'm imagining many others) are afraid to use latest versions of iTunes in tandem with ml_ipod. I'm afraid of it screwing with my music and having to re-load everything. Once pictures get implemented into ml_ipod, I'll have no regrets PERIOD about iTunes.
Stupifier is offline  
Old 28th April 2007, 20:35   #39
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by Stupifier
I feel like there is going to be very limited feedback on this issue as I (and I'm imagining many others) are afraid to use latest versions of iTunes in tandem with ml_ipod.
LOL! Right you are.

Only poor Abu always has to install the latest iTunes version, because somebody definitely will post a bug report

I start iTunes ONLY to reproduce bugs. That's it

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 09:41   #40
Stupifier
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 596
If I were to plug my iPod into a friend's computer who uses iTunes (frankly and sadly, most people use iTunes with their iPods), would I be able to play songs from it without having any problems? It's not really too much of an issue if there are problems as this situation is rare for me. This is just more of a 'just so I know' question. I only would like to know if I can. I don't want to disconnect my iPod to find a bunch of stuff changed resulting from my ignorance.
Stupifier is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump