Old 30th March 2007, 12:50   #1
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
5.1 and Vista: help please!

I have just recently installed windows vista business on my pc and now my 5.1 system won't work properly

On windows XP all my tracks played just fine on all 6 speakers, but with vista i had a few problems - i fixed the problem of the sub-woofer not working however some of my tracks will only work in 3.1 (rear speakers don't work) plus those that do the rear speakers seem to have voice cancellation enabled and the sound is rather disappointing... please help!

1) How to get all tracks to play in 5.1
2) How to get annoying tinny sound off rear speakers

I love my music and if going back to XP will make it sound normal then so be it!
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2007, 12:51   #2
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Oh another thing is i have the same problems in windows media player as well. I am using a realtek ac'97 onboard soundcard.
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2007, 13:07   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Windows Vista doesn't support DirectSound Hardware Acceleration by default.

Check the motherboard/soundchip manufacturer's site for updated Vista drivers:
http://www.realtek.com*****downloads/...&GetDown=false


After installing the updated drivers, see here:

Multi-speaker output / surround sound support
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=66049
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2007, 13:08   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
At a guess, that may be related to Windows Vista not supporting DirectSound hardware acceleration. Many companies are updating sound drivers to compensate for the issue, so try updating the sound drivers.

Some info...
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=265568
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=264997

[edit] Blah, late | Hello DJ Egg

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2007, 09:38   #5
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
I've already downloaded the newest sound drivers because the old ones wouldn't install properly in the first place.
This only works for some tracks however but what i would still like to know is why do some tracks which worked perfectly on XP now sddenly not work on the rear speakers. Other tracks work fine though (apart from eerie voice cancellation in rear)
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2007, 18:36   #6
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Could it maybe be "Realtek Room Correction" - some people are telling me its that but i tinkered for a while and all that does is adjust the volume louder/softer according to placement of speakers in the room.... Unless i'm missing something...
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2007, 15:37   #7
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Please anyone help! I really like Apocalyptica and Slayer to not echo!
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2007, 16:39   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
After installing the updated drivers, see here:

Multi-speaker output / surround sound support
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....id=66049#vista
I've updated the above link to point directly to the Vista-specific section of that FAQ.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2007, 19:46   #9
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
OKay to everyone reading this its been confirmed to me by microsoft that this voice-cancellation thing is in fact a new feature built into vista, i will report later once they provide me with a solution...
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 18:56   #10
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Semi- and Full- Solution

I found a workaround:
Enable "environment" and set as "room"
Enable "speaker fill"
Enable "room correction" but leave all distances as 0
Enable "bass management".

All of this allows vocal frequencies in rear speakers but there is still a very slight (but still annoying) delay (echo)

Thanks for all your help. I have been told by MS engineer people that in Vista SP1 (Early Q3) the bug will be fixed.
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2007, 21:34   #11
Griking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Slythe, where exactly do we find this "enviroment" setting? Is it a setting in Vista or a sound Blaster app?
Griking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2007, 14:41   #12
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Uhm I'm not sure if the setting is specific to my onboard Realtek AC'97 card but here are the steps I follow to get to it:

1) Right click on sound taskbar icon and go to playback devices
2) Click on Speakers and the Properties button
3) Then click on the Enhancements tab
The first check box should be environment...

If it isn't check your settings application that came with your card for any option that has room/ environment settings such as generic, concert hall, bathroom, walkway etc etc and set it to Room.

I know X-Fi's with new Vista drivers installed by default include that setting in the shell.
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 05:17   #13
SCHEUERMAN2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1
my speaker setting in vista doesnt have a Enhancements tab... what should i do? i have the newest vista drivers for my card, they also had to install something called "digital audio interface" it mostly worked fine after that update
Attached Images
File Type: jpg speaker1.jpg (30.2 KB, 1488 views)
SCHEUERMAN2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2007, 11:42   #14
Slythe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Unfortunately I only got instructions that apply for Realtek AC '97 and X-Fi's, sorry.

Well, being sick and tired of annoying little problems like these in Vista, I reverted back to good 'ol XP! Counted the R 1300.00 I payed for Vista as a loss, but hey - My sound is back to normal without any hassles!

Try doing the same, Vista sucks RAM and blocks the few programs that are fully compatible with it with it's over-protective firewall...
Slythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 19:35   #15
cazutdincer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Craiova, Romania
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to cazutdincer
i found how u can fix 5.1 problem.

I have a P5KPL / 1600 Asus motherboard, with VIA HD audio cipset on a Vista ultimate 64 platform.

what you have to do?
1. Go to you're audio cipset manufacture, and download you're appropriate driver.
2. After you have install the newest driver, go to start - control panel - sound
3. click on speakers - configure (and chose 5.1)
4. with your speakers selected click on Properties, and then the Enhancements Tab, and choice the fallowing options:

5. After those step, apply every change you've made. Now open your Winamp and fallow the next steps:
6. Go to Options - Preference, or you can use CTRL + p combination to open the preference meniu.
7. Chose Plug-ins - Output - DirectSound Output - Configure
8. From the drop down menu, chose you're main audio device in my case

9. the last step you have to make is to chose the "Allow Hardware acceleration" option.
10. Restart winamp, and you're done, or at least, in my case it worked just fine.
cazutdincer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump