Old 13th December 2007, 16:45   #121
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@Kn0tte

Nope, neither of those minor issues are fixed yet. Sorry.
Note, I still can't reproduce the ML one (yes, I know Benski said he could).

I can't reproduce the fullscreen video volume issue either.
The up/down cursor keys on my keyboard work fine, as does the mouse in the osd volume level area (I don't have a volume wheel on my keyboard, but the multimedia volume keys for controlling system volume also work fine).
Ok.. Damn Can you please try to do it? Those bugs are annoying bugs, and I dont think they take so much time to fix (you have fixed other bugs quickly )..

About the video issue: Yep, I might know why you cant reproduce it.
It happens in Modern skins only.. In classic skins, I can watch the video in fullscreen and change the volum with my keyboard.. In Modern Skins, I can not...
Why? I dont understand why it is like this.. If you are using Modern Skins (which I also do), and you dont get this problem, there is something weird going on here... :S


I would be glad if you could fix the ML and the songticker issue though.. A christmas present for me.. Heh..
And I am sure that you would like the present I want to give you: I will stop talking about those two bugs Heh..

Keep up the good work

Last edited by Kn0tte; 13th December 2007 at 19:44.
Kn0tte is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 16:45   #122
soulraven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Romana,Campulung Muscel
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to soulraven
This is a bug that appears all times........
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bug.jpg (13.3 KB, 499 views)
soulraven is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 20:26   #123
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
@soulraven
How do we reproduce it?
See the only bit of bold red text in the first post...

@Kn0tte
I can't reproduce the fullscreen video volume problem with any skin.
Maybe it's your keyboard drivers/software to blame or something? Lord knows.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 13th December 2007, 20:39   #124
soulraven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Romana,Campulung Muscel
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to soulraven
@DJ Egg:
The only change is that PlayList Generator 2.1.9 plugin. Some times winamp crash or restart when i load a directory.
soulraven is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 20:59   #125
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by soulraven
The only change is that PlayList Generator 2.1.9 plugin.
From where did you acquire that version of the plugin? I have Winamp 5.51 Beta Preview (Build 1741) installed, and the Nullsoft Playlist Generator plugin is v1.1

Anyway, perhaps this (quoted from Egg)...
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Alas, you need to delete the Playlist Generator database and start a new scan from afresh.

With Winamp closed, delete the following 2 files:

Winamp\Plugins\Gracenote\cddbplm.pdb & cddbplm.idx

The path will either be the %AppData%\Winamp or %ProgramFiles%\Winamp folder.

The error message should not occur again after this.

The bug was caused in 5.5 by starting the scan but not letting it fully complete before exiting Winamp, which resulted in a corrupt PLG database. The error would also occur at Winamp startup if you had "Automatically start background scanning when Winamp launches" checkmarked in: Prefs -> Plugins -> Media Library -> Playlist Generator (ml_plg) -> config.
But let's wait for Egg to reply to confirm it (or not)

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 21:06   #126
soulraven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Romana,Campulung Muscel
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to soulraven
i use Playlist_Separator_v2_1_9.exe taken from one thread on the forum. The avantage for this plugin is that highlights the album without scan. But seams with winamp generate errors.....or winampu has a bug....a don't know.
soulraven is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 21:19   #127
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Well that's different. You said PlayList Generator 2.1.9 plugin above.

So, you are using DrO's Playlist Separator. I've used it in the past and never experienced any problems. What happens when you disable/remove it? Does Winamp still generate that Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime error?
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 13th December 2007, 21:42   #128
soulraven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Romana,Campulung Muscel
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to soulraven
no, will not crashes or reboot, or runtime error.
soulraven is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 02:57   #129
alfvaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Is there a reason why the winamp551_1741_beta_full_en-us.exe I just downloaded from here has been diagnosed with a Trojan? AVG Free Edition claims that it contains "Trojan horse Dropped.Generic_c.RJ". I'd like to install it to fix the "Recently Added" sorting bug, but first I'd like some assurance that it's either a false positive or replaced with a clean version...


--
--Alfvaen(Web page: http://www.telusplanet.net/public/alfvaen/ )
Song In My Head--Agent:Heartbeat
Current Book--Robert Jordan:The Path of Daggers
"i realize that the fact that i'm just not very funny keeps you from appreciating my sense of humor." -- rwx
alfvaen is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 03:50   #130
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Definitely a false-positive.
Make sure you've got the latest AVG signature files
and if it still happens, report the false-postive to Grisoft/AVG.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 14th December 2007, 09:59   #131
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
hell, i think AVG has probs with nsis installers. we had the same prob with the bento cthemes installer

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 10:32   #132
Alpha2k6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 67
About playing video files:

If you go to video preferences and uncheck 'Display the video window when video playback begins' then you can play say a music video with only sound..

now if you click view video during playback it will restore video window and continue to play.. but if i now choose view video again to hide the video window then playback stops.

Also winamp goes to infront of whatever im doing when changing to the next song (video file) wether the video is hidden or not.. I would prefer if it never goes ontop unless I click on it. This way I can have a nice playlist from my video folder (playing in the background like any normal music file)
Alpha2k6 is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 11:17   #133
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
What is the state of "Stop playback when video window is closed" in Prefs -> Video? If that is checked then of course Winamp will stop if you close the window. Or are you not closing the window, and just sending it to the back/bottom?

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 11:48   #134
Alpha2k6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 67
thx didn't see that setting.. ill blame the fever

ok.. so the show/hide video works without interupting playback, after changing the settings.

What about preventing winamp from getting ontop of the screen when moving to next song (video) any setting for that too ?
Alpha2k6 is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 17:09   #135
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Problem with right-click Play command off System Tray icon

From the right-click menu of Winamp’s System Tray icon select
Play > Playlist from Media Library > [*any ML Playlist*]

This will bring the selected ML Playlist into focus within the ML.
Nothing happens within the Playlist or the Player.

Expected Behavior:
  1. The existing Playlist contents, if any, are cleared;
  2. the contents of the selected ML Playlist are sent to the Playlist;
  3. & the Player begins playing the Playlist
Note that all the other options of the right-click Play menu (those that are
NOT in the Playlist sub-group) trigger the Playing of songs as expected.

Can anyone else replicate this bug/issue?
jph6t is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 18:03   #136
RandomCarpet
Senior Member
 
RandomCarpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BG
Posts: 265
@jph6t: yes, same behaviour on my machine.

And this concerns the systemMenu, doesn't matter whether you Right-click on the system tray icon or on (mostly) any part of any skin to bring the menu.

Latest skin: fCrcl
RandomCarpet is offline  
Old 14th December 2007, 18:16   #137
krss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Hello,
I have a question: What exactly does the Limiter (in playback > equalizer) do and is it always on (when ticked) or only when I turn on the equalizer?
krss is offline  
Old 15th December 2007, 00:23   #138
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
@krss

From the Notes in the first post:

2. Re: Optional Constant-Q Equalizer and optional ISO Standard frequency bands

Please refer to this page for further info:
http://meggamusic.co.uk/winamp/docs/...eq_changes.htm
Quote:
eq_limiter=1 (to turn on clipping prevention) <-- currently for 4Front EQ only
Which basically means that the Limiter prevents clipping/distortion, and is only used for the 4Front EQ, not the Constant-Q EQ.
And yes, if the EQ isn't even on, then it doesn't matter what settings you've got selected in there, because they apply to the EQ and are only used when the EQ is on.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 15th December 2007, 07:18   #139
krss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Thank you for your reply, DJ Egg!
krss is offline  
Old 15th December 2007, 09:29   #140
DigiBC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 28
Hey!

I found a minute issue about the Bento skin that hasn't been fixed yet:
Whenever I play a file with a bitrate > 999 kpbs the indicator is cropped on the right; please see second example:



Only 3 pixels for bitrates < 2000 kpbs or 5 pixels for bitrates < 10000 kpbs seem to be missing. Since there appears to be enough space a fix could look like that then:



Regards - DigiBC

PS:
Please keep up your good work!
I really love Winamp since the modern skins and Coding Technologies' AAC+ support were released.
Now I'm still using the previous version 5.35 on my main system, because I'm waiting for the offical release of version 5.51 to fix those annoying translation bugs (at least for the German version).
DigiBC is offline  
Old 15th December 2007, 14:50   #141
Wizard of OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Wizard of OS
DigiBC,

who need a translation anyway?
Winamp 5.5 ist geiler als alles andere.. :-D
Wizard of OS is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 10:47   #142
Kaizu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 1
Updated my 5.5 10th Anniversary to Winamp 5.51. Using Bento skin and noticed that when you start play song sometimes seekerline freeze (that did not happened 5.5 10th Anniversary), when you change Modern skin there seekerline work and when changing back to Bento its working correct there too. Here is picture to explain what i mean:


As you can see that there is "empty" space between blue seeker and that "seekerbox"

OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
CPU: AMD 6000+
RAM: 3325 MB
GPU: Geforce 8800 GTS 640 MB
Kaizu is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 17:30   #143
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
I had some questions about some of the info that is pulled from Gracenote ehen you rip a CD.

If you rip to FLAC you get two pieces of info.
GRACENOTEFILEID
GRACENOTEEXTDATA

Howeverm when you rip to MP3, all you get is
UNIQUEFILEID

is Winamp pulling all availible info from Gracenote and what do those extra feilds indicate? I am assuming they would help in identifying the albums as well as with the autotagging information. But I am just currious. I say the more information the better.

Thanks
Juanus is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 17:47   #144
Stone Free
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 107
Although I have deselected WAV files in the File Types section it still shows in the media library!
Stone Free is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 18:59   #145
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Free
Although I have deselected WAV files in the File Types section it still shows in the media library!
Have you:
  1. Rescanned your ML watch folders?
  2. Do you have the "Automatically remove missing files" option checked?

Last edited by jph6t; 16th December 2007 at 19:53.
jph6t is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 19:24   #146
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
@Juanus

UFID is now seen as the official ID3v2.4 field for storing Gracenote/MusicBrainz/etc database identifiers.

http://www.id3.org/id3v2.4.0-frames
4.1 Unique file identifier (UFID)

The equivalent fields for Vorbis Comments (ogg & flac) are:
GRACENOTEFILEID
GRACENOTEEXTDATA

Though I'm not sure if those are part of any Standard, but it's what we're using anyway.

And yes, those fields are now saved during ripping, so they don't need to be looked up again when using Playlist Generator or Auto-Tag.


@Stone Free
In addition to what jph6t said...
Where have you deselected WAV exactly?
In: i) Winamp > Prefs > File Types?
Or in: ii) Winamp > Prefs > Plugins > Input > in_wave > config?

i) will just make Winamp not be the default WAV player
ii) will make Winamp no longer even recognize WAV files.
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 16th December 2007, 21:03   #147
gamerzworld
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to gamerzworld
Every time I go to play a Shoutcast stream or listen to a station on AOL Radio, I get an error like this. (see below) I am running Windows Vista SP1 v.658 (RC1). I am running Winamp as Admin.
http://gzwn.net/pics/winamp%20stream%20bug.jpg
http://gzwn.net/pics/winamp%20stream%20bug.jpg
gamerzworld is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 21:10   #148
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Preferences > Plugins > Output > Select DirectSound Output

You cannot use DiskWriter with SHOUTcast or AOL Radio streams

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 21:19   #149
gamerzworld
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to gamerzworld
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
Preferences > Plugins > Output > Select DirectSound Output

You cannot use DiskWriter with SHOUTcast or AOL Radio streams
Ah, thanks! I wonder why it was set to DiskWriter. This was a clean install of Winamp and I had not even touched the settings yet.
gamerzworld is offline  
Old 16th December 2007, 23:26   #150
Stone Free
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 107
Had winamp crash during uploading of songs to iPod. I really wish there was some sort of crash recovery to save having files on the iPod that haven't been added to the database.
Attached Files
File Type: zip winampcrash.zip (33.6 KB, 388 views)
Stone Free is offline  
Old 17th December 2007, 01:08   #151
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
UFID is now seen as the official ID3v2.4 field for storing Gracenote/MusicBrainz/etc database identifiers.

http://www.id3.org/id3v2.4.0-frames
4.1 Unique file identifier (UFID)

The equivalent fields for Vorbis Comments (ogg & flac) are:
GRACENOTEFILEID
GRACENOTEEXTDATA

Though I'm not sure if those are part of any Standard, but it's what we're using anyway.

And yes, those fields are now saved during ripping, so they don't need to be looked up again when using Playlist Generator or Auto-Tag.
AH HA!!!
Thank you for explaining that Egg. I guess that would also explain the weirdness that I reported HERE. When you Autotag, it is not going to overwrite the correct information. And since You have a red astrik next to the CDDB Editor genre glitches, eg. saves with "General" at front *, I will assume that this is fixed also. Thank You
Juanus is offline  
Old 17th December 2007, 03:52   #152
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
* Fixed: [in_mp3] Now only reads first ID3v2 tag if more than one is present

This is specified in the ID3v2 specifications, that the last tag should be read.
However, it seems that all other players are reading the first ID3v2 tag, so we changed behaviour to match other players for 5.51 (public beta available here).
I saw this in another thread and since it is 5.51 specific...
I am sure that this has been discussed and decided on by people much smarter than I. However, I just feel like winamp should be doing things right, not wrong just because other people do it wrong.
Secondly, how can you see if you have more than one ID3v2 tag?
Juanus is offline  
Old 17th December 2007, 15:47   #153
urlwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
virtual memory off the roof: up to 530mb (!)

Using Winamp 5.51 beta, I got virtual memory of about 520 mb. This is not a joke. It's been running about 24 hrs, but just playing music, not doing anything intensive.

I have closed and reopened. it's now 230 mb, still way too much. My library is ~36000 items, with fingerprinting from both musicIP (predixis) and gracenote (I know that fingerprinting tags may get big).

This is not good. Is this the standard? Everyone seeing similar numbers? If so, would removing the fingerprinting tags reduce the size of the library and virt ual memory consumption?

Also, wa takes 2-3 seconds to get redrawn if there's disk activity (on a laptop drive). Is there any way I can keep it in memory, so no disk activity is needed to redraw (like foobar)?

Thanks.
urlwolf is offline  
Old 17th December 2007, 16:35   #154
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
Re: virtual memory off the roof: up to 530mb (!)

Quote:
Originally posted by urlwolf
Using Winamp 5.51 beta, I got virtual memory of about 520 mb. This is not a joke. It's been running about 24 hrs, but just playing music, not doing anything intensive.

I have closed and reopened. it's now 230 mb, still way too much. My library is ~36000 items, with fingerprinting from both musicIP (predixis) and gracenote (I know that fingerprinting tags may get big).

This is not good. Is this the standard? Everyone seeing similar numbers? If so, would removing the fingerprinting tags reduce the size of the library and virt ual memory consumption?

Also, wa takes 2-3 seconds to get redrawn if there's disk activity (on a laptop drive). Is there any way I can keep it in memory, so no disk activity is needed to redraw (like foobar)?

Thanks.
I dont really remember, but I believe that predixis used to decode entire songs into ram while fingerprinting. This may still be the case, if its fingerprinting your library in the background, which with a library of 36k files would take it weeks when i last used it.

I dont know if the same is true of winamps built in fingerprinting, but id assume that the above is to blame.

CraigF is offline  
Old 17th December 2007, 16:47   #155
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
@Juanus
Yes. We should do it the right way. But check out the 5.5 Released thread, and you'll see a heap of posts from people complaining about Winamp showing different tags to WMP/foobar/etc.

To see the tags, you can open the mp3 in any powerful text editor or a hex/res editor. I can't remember which dodgy tag editor was to blame, but in some cases you might see two "ID3" headers, eg. one right at the beginning and another one before the mp3/lame/xing headers.

The ID3v2 specs state that you should always read the last ID3v2 tag, which is what we were doing - but all other players are only reading the first ID3v2 tag - so why should we be different?

To avoid any further issues/complaints, we just decided to do the same as all other players, even though it's technically wrong.


@urlwolf
No. We can't reproduce the problem.
Predixis/MusicIP is now classed as a 3rd-party plugin and is longer supported.
Do you have any other 3rd-party plugins installed?
[edit] What CraigF said :-) [/edit]
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 18th December 2007, 08:15   #156
lordsky
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to lordsky
XM Stream and Proxy

Winamp 5.51 Build 1741 (Clean Install)
Bento Skin


* Fixed: Gracenote/MusicID not using Winamp's proxy setting


I was surprise to see that fetching cover art behind a proxy was fixed (working great by the way) but I still can't fetch the album art from the AOL XM stream behind a proxy. Winamp freezes up while it attempts to fetch the cover art. The only work around I found to the lagging is to switch to modern skin (since that bento skin will alway attempt to load the cover art)

How to reproduce:
1. You need to get behind a proxy.
2. ML -> Online Services -> Aol Radio with XM
3. Select Comedy -> Comedy Attack! (or any channel with cover arts)
Bug: (Winamp appears to be frozen about 20 secs. but you can hear the stream )


Oh, btw, if Winamp could support auto config proxy, I would be a really happy guy.
lordsky is offline  
Old 18th December 2007, 10:35   #157
urlwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
DJ Egg,

Just checked, none of the fingerprinting plugins (Music magic or playlist generator) are running. They both need to be started manually, which I didn't.

Winamp usus 319Mb of virtual memory right not.

I think it goes up when you ask it to use the recommendations in nullsoft playlist generator. It takes several seconds to come with a playlist and lots of disk activity.

Memory grows steadily, then it stops at a high point.
My guess is that memory is not released properly.

Killing winamp releases memory little by little. It takes several seconds from the point the winamp window is gone to the point when in taskmanager you cannot see winamp.exe anymore (seconds!).

Restarting winamp takes seconds too, and when the dust settles it shows 235mb of Virtual Ram (doing noting, no CPU activity, not even playing).

cddbplm.ibx and cddbplm.pdb are 18 and 21 mb respectively. I can't find predixis' library, but I'm sure that's fat as ell. If that's loaded into memory, it explains things...

It makes things close to unusable.

Other plugins used:
TAK
out_sqr175
Active winamp
Ozone plugin

Will proceed to uninstall them, but my guess is that the fingerprinting libraries are to blame.

Thanks



Still
urlwolf is offline  
Old 18th December 2007, 11:00   #158
heavydawson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 25
Re: virtual memory off the roof: up to 530mb (!)

Quote:
Originally posted by urlwolf
Using Winamp 5.51 beta, I got virtual memory of about 520 mb. This is not a joke. It's been running about 24 hrs, but just playing music, not doing anything intensive.

I have closed and reopened. it's now 230 mb, still way too much. My library is ~36000 items, with fingerprinting from both musicIP (predixis) and gracenote (I know that fingerprinting tags may get big).

This is not good. Is this the standard? Everyone seeing similar numbers? If so, would removing the fingerprinting tags reduce the size of the library and virt ual memory consumption?

Also, wa takes 2-3 seconds to get redrawn if there's disk activity (on a laptop drive). Is there any way I can keep it in memory, so no disk activity is needed to redraw (like foobar)?

Thanks.
I'm using Winamp with no plug-ins other than the ones included in the installer. Playing a shoutcast radio stream is all I usually do. I'm using Winamp 5.51 Beta on Windows 2000. Winamp is using 60MB Physical and 193MB virtual memory. This to me would suggest it might be normal behaviour, as opposed to memory leakage?
DJ Egg (or anyone), if you could reproduce by installing Winamp 5.51 clean and opening a shoutcast stream, we might get a rough idea of what memory consumption Winamp seems to have?
I used Process Explorer 11.04 to get the figures above.
heavydawson is offline  
Old 18th December 2007, 11:11   #159
urlwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
I removed the gracenote files (the three big ones).
Start up times have improved. VM consumption hasn't. I'm still at 236Mb + 20mb physical memory.

When listing the entire library (click audio) VM goes up to 267mb.
So it might not be the gracenote fingerprinting. No idea about the predixis one, since I cannot find that library. Still, it looks like a but too much VM

heavyDawson, what's your library size?

Thanks
urlwolf is offline  
Old 18th December 2007, 13:33   #160
heavydawson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by urlwolf
I removed the gracenote files (the three big ones).
Start up times have improved. VM consumption hasn't. I'm still at 236Mb + 20mb physical memory.

When listing the entire library (click audio) VM goes up to 267mb.
So it might not be the gracenote fingerprinting. No idea about the predixis one, since I cannot find that library. Still, it looks like a but too much VM

heavyDawson, what's your library size?

Thanks
The figures quoted above are for Winamp running on my work laptop. There's only 15 items in the library here. I have ~20,000 songs in my home library. I'll go home, and post memory usage figures this evening.
I might try a clean install as well, as I've been upgrading Winamp constantly. I should point out at this stage that I don't really see the memory sizes as an issue. I'm really only adding to this discussion to see if the figures we're seeing are pretty standard for large library sizes.
heavydawson is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump