Old 3rd July 2009, 16:07   #1
Lindoman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 23
Upgraded to 5.56 and Remote Media is missing

First of all I'd like to say I searched for this issue a LOT and didn't find anything which was surprising. Hopefully someone can help.

I just upgraded to Winamp 5.56 from an earlier 5.x version. It began crashing as I tried to access my remote media and doing other things in the library. So I uninstalled and reinstalled per the Clean Install Instructions. I installed with Standard settings first, then used Full settings. In both cases, now the Remote Media part of the Media Library is no longer there! I can no longer access my media remotely.

The enlarged picture here does not exist on my Wnamp:
http://www.winamp.com/extras/remote/

Though this page says every version but Lite has "Remote Music and Video Playback and Sharing":
http://www.winamp.com/player/features

What gives?

If it matters, here are the errors I was getting when I first upgraded (before doing clean install) when the Remote Media item was still there...

The first two times I started it, the whole program crashed whenever I tried to log in to Winamp Remote and get at my songs on my computer at home. I am trying to log in through the Media Library tab of Winamp, Remote Media area. As soon as I hit enter after putting in my password, it would say Loading... for a couple seconds and then crash with a Windows Send Error Report dialog showing up. Then the third time I tried it, it said Loading... and actually started showing some of the page but then it stopped and the animated loading bar just keeps going but nothing happens. I pressed "log out", one of the few things visible and the little browser window went all gray. Then I clicked on Local Media on the left bar and Winamp crashed.
Lindoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 22:09   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,768
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i haven't uninstalled and reinstalled clean, but i can confirm your issue. everytime i click on "audio" under "remote media" winamp crashes hard, every single time.

i'm not sure if i was using the right login info or not, but either way this is obviously no good.

i am using vista32 home ultimate. i reported this issue in the announce thread but you should prob make a bug report.

i also don't get "winamp charts" under "online services" even tho orgler says i am logged in.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2009, 19:10   #3
jharveytx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
I have been pulling my last tufts of hair out over this.

Nothing seems to work. I would roll back to the previous version if I could find the setup file.

I have noticed that I am missing the ml_orb.dll in my media library plugins list.

AND

While Remote Media does appear in the 5.56 version on another of my PCs, winamp crashes when I try to use it.

Last edited by jharveytx; 16th July 2009 at 19:32.
jharveytx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 15:48   #4
Lindoman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 23
By the way, I did post a bug report. It's here -
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....59#post2536959

Well geez, add this after the "showthread.php?" in one of the forum URLs - postid=2536959#post2536959
Lindoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump