Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th December 2009, 16:02   #41
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Re: Quick

Quote:
Originally posted by djpete1959
And yet again Winamp gets even faster.
Faster load up time and instant file loading when browsing through various views in Media Library.
Thanks again for the hard work and your great Xmas present for us!
:-)
Oh yeah, I couldn't have said it better myself. v5.57 is awesome! Speed improvements and reduced start-up times are ALWAYS welcome. Very good! Keep on making Winamp faster, we all love it!

And..
VU meter (beat vis) -> awesome.
Spectrum analyzer -> awesome. Its better than in the beta for sure, but it could still be faster/more responsive if possible though (especially for [Big]Bento, ugh). Maybe it just that its so big in Big Bento that it looks weird for me, I dunno. But still it could be slightly faster for all skins if possible.

Once again, I love v5.57! Good work!

Now, can even more bugs be fixed as the time goes on? As you probably know I'm one of those who love bug fixes and big changelogs, heh :P Bug fixes, speed improvements etc should always come before new features you know..
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 20:14   #42
synthetiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal
Posts: 153
hey guys

i'm having some problems with this new version
i've unnistalled the previous 5,552 version , restart pc, and i've installed 5.57.

now everytime i start winamp it says xerces-c_2_5_0.dll not found, reinstall might fix this problem...

i've disabled some services and stuff during the setup, is there anything related ?

i'm using windowx xp
thankx
synthetiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 20:19   #43
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
xerces-c_2_5_0.dll is not a file used by Winamp, it belongs to a third-party plugin. (If I recall, a stream ripper). Remove all third-party plugins and reinstall.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 20:24   #44
synthetiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
xerces-c_2_5_0.dll is not a file used by Winamp, it belongs to a third-party plugin. (If I recall, a stream ripper). Remove all third-party plugins and reinstall.
many thanks
it was the leoslyrics plugin!

by the way why do we need the MS directX components to be downloaded in this new version ?
synthetiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 21:28   #45
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
Great build guys. Always appreciate the effort and progress.

Just a question for interest really, how many ppl are actually involved in the development of winamp client now? I know Benski is the ever present lead, but how many ppl are involved in the actual development (roughly) and what proportion are employees of AOL, and what are keen fanatics? Always wondered this since winamp had the change of hands when justin, brennan and the like left....

Keep up the good work guys, winamp still rocks!!

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 21:41   #46
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally posted by synthetiq
many thanks
it was the leoslyrics plugin!

by the way why do we need the MS directX components to be downloaded in this new version ?
MilkDrop 2 and the new Video OSD need up-to-date DirectX 9.0 files.

If you run e.g. Windows XP with DirectX 8 or a DirectX 9 version, which is too old, the new Video OSD wouldn't be shown.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 22:14   #47
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
Minor Bug: "Tracks" count from Details in Simple Album view doesn't match up with the "tracks" field in the ML Query builder.

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 08:51   #48
ThiefMaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to ThiefMaster Send a message via AIM to ThiefMaster Send a message via Yahoo to ThiefMaster
The new version immediately crashes when I start it via my iTouch keyboard's "Play" key: "Unknown Error 0xc0000417 at 0x78579afc"
When starting it manually or with the "launch winamp" key it works fine. I.e. it sounds like getting a "start playing" command very early crashes it..
ThiefMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 17:33   #49
kzuse
Senior Member
 
kzuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: (D)
Posts: 480
Send a message via ICQ to kzuse Send a message via Skype™ to kzuse
Which in_mod.dll is the one of choice now?
The one from the new installer build / the new update pack,

OR

the one provided directly as a zip file somewhere else in this forum (can't find it anymore)?

I assume the one in the official updater is the newest one?
kzuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 17:35   #50
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
New Winamp build and the updater have the same new in_mod version.

It doesn't matter, which of both installer you install.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 19:11   #51
pablo.see
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
After Installing 5.57 gen_tray.dll does not work (compact mode). Buttons are visible but clicking them does nothing. During install, program complains about CDDBControlWinamp.dll (can't read). Installing Winamp_Essentials_v5.57 is impossible. Complains about some dll also.
pablo.see is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 19:43   #52
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Installing Winamp_Essentials_v5.57 is impossible. Complains about some dll also.
Could you please provide a screenshot and more infos about the Essentials pack issue?

Your report is lame, because you don't provide any info, which could help to find the issue.

The compact mode issue in Tray control plugin is known and listed in Winamp Bug Reports forum
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 20:48   #53
pablo.see
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Strange but now Winamp installer does not complain about dll. It's ok with Winamp_Essentials_v5.57 also. False alarm. I'm staying with 5.56, because gen_tray.dll compact mode does not work.
pablo.see is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 01:27   #54
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,252
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Too bad the h264 stuff is Pro only. Oh well, Shark007's codecs still work just fine.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 19:13   #55
OlexijL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to OlexijL Send a message via Yahoo to OlexijL
Winamp installation problem?

Winamp seems to have installation problem through setup.

Look:

Whats wrong?

Trying to install: 5.57.2792 on Win7 x86...

Last edited by OlexijL; 20th December 2009 at 20:02.
OlexijL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:02   #56
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by pablo.see
I'm staying with 5.56, because gen_tray.dll compact mode does not work.
please see this

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:05   #57
synthetiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal
Posts: 153
is it me, or winamp has a new default icon?
by the way, wouldn't be time to upgrade the file icons to choose for winamp in the file types tab (under prefs)
something more beautiful with win7
(just an idea...)

thankx
synthetiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:28   #58
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally posted by synthetiq
is it me, or winamp has a new default icon?
by the way, wouldn't be time to upgrade the file icons to choose for winamp in the file types tab (under prefs)
something more beautiful with win7
(just an idea...)

thankx
No, afaik there is not a new default icon. Why would that be needed anyway? The current ones are more than enough "modern" and stylish, and there are many. Ofc some new ones especially made for W7 could be added to the existing ones, but I dont see that as a priority atm..
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:41   #59
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I still hope we see some nicer file icons in future.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:52   #60
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Ok, I've been messing around with some options/cool stuff and I found out the following:

From old WA 5.55 changelog:
Quote:
* Improved: [Winamp Modern skin] New spectrum vis options
As I said back then I love this but one option-category was forgotten when implementing this -> "Analyzer coloring". Its there for Bento & Classic skins but not Winamp Modern (all other options are there though ofc). Is there a reason why this "Analyzer coloring" option isn't there? It looks damn cool in the other skins when changing this option..

---------------------------------
And can these bugs get added to the "Known Winamp 5 Bugs"-thread so I dont have to bump the threads all the time because I know you will most likely forget them sooner or later (no offence)?
- Classic skins MW vs ML focus issue (can you reproduce this one at all btw?):
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=314985
- Modern skins bug with built-in color-theme selection:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=304101
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 21:59   #61
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Kn0tte:

Your bugs are listed internal, there is, as I already pointed out several times ago, no need to bump them again and again or add them to the known bugs thread.

I also said, that there a a couple of more known bugs, which are not all listed in the sticky thread.

Also I said several times, that Winamp dev resources are limited and that the bug will be fixed, when there is time for it.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 22:04   #62
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Ok ok, but I dont even know if you can reproduce the first one and therefore dont know if its listed in the internal bug tracker.. :/

Anyway, the other thing about the spectrum analyzer option? Is there a reason why "Analyzer coloring" isn't there for the Winamp Modern skin?
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 22:10   #63
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Anyway, the other thing about the spectrum analyzer option? Is there a reason why "Analyzer coloring" isn't there for the Winamp Modern skin?
Winamp Modern lacks support for some RGB stuff, don't ask me, what it was called exactly. Martin can tell you more.

Unless Winamp Modern Skin gets an huge update, which brings support for it, coloring won't work.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 23:14   #64
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
RGB -> red green blue .. /RGB monitor or something? Dont laugh if thats wrong, its just what I think atm! :P

And why doesn't Winamp Modern have that when all the other skins have it? Is really a huge change/update needed to add support for this? The answer is probably yes since it wasn't done in 5.55 when the rest of the options were added but still.. I'm allowed to ask..
Kn0tte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 23:26   #65
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Well it isn't that simple and has nothing to do with Red, Green, Blue.

Winamp Modern Skin wasn't designed to use it. Don't forget, that these new vis options were added later:

Winamp 5.2:
* Improved: [gen_ff] new vis modes available to skinners

So that stuff was newer, than modern skin was. This is why it hadn't such vis options.

And I doubt, that all other freeform skins support it. I guess only a few do it.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 02:09   #66
Moguta
Senior Member
 
Moguta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 190
DrO,

With this new version, Winamp closes abruptly whenever it progresses to a separator entry from your Playlist Separator 2.1.8 plugin.

EDIT: Just confirmed that it also occurs with your latest Playlist Separator 2.5



Magnatune - A role model for ALL digital music stores!
Moguta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 07:49   #67
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
<----------------------------------------- SNIP ----------------------------------------->



5.571
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 08:10   #68
OlexijL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to OlexijL Send a message via Yahoo to OlexijL
Re: Winamp installation problem?

Now can someone fix that? On my Win7 machine i cannot install any version of Winamp, because Sonic Runtime cannot be properly installed...

Look:

Tried 5.571.2810 already, all the same...
OlexijL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 08:39   #69
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm, at a guess, it's one of the following to blame:

1. We need an updated Sonic Engine from Sonic Solutions (they haven't provided one).

2. The CD/DVD-RW drive is incompatible with the Sonic Engine

3. Some concurrently running process is interfering, either:
a) Some other app which manages CD drives or maybe even also uses the Sonic Engine (eg. Adaptec Easy CD Creator,
Sonic RecordNow or MyDVD, MS Digital Photo Suite, etc) - make sure these are closed before installing Winamp, including any system tray icons... or
b) Some security app is preventing the Sonic drivers from being installed.

4. Or more than likely, for some strange reason, the internal Sonic installer isn't being run in admin mode,
in which case, see below...

Other than that, Sonic installs fine on other peoples' Win7 machines,
so it can only be something system-specific causing it.

You could try manually extracting the Sonic installer from inside the Winamp installer, eg. by using 7Zip (v9.09b), and then running it afterwards...
1. Open the Winamp installer in 7Zip
2. Double-click the [0] folder in the zip
3. Then extract all files in the $PLUGINSDIR subfolder to some new folder on your HD
4. In said folder, right-click pxsetup.exe and click "Run as administrator"
5. Hopefully, the Sonic engine will now install properly.



Note: If you click OK on the dialog in your screenshot, then Winamp will still install correctly, and everything should still work except for CD burning (ripping will still work if using Windows native SPTI instead, though you might need to uncheck 'Use Sonic' in CD Ripping settings first).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 10:07   #71
OlexijL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to OlexijL Send a message via Yahoo to OlexijL
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Alas, we've not looked at or addressed that problem....
At a guess, it's one of the following to blame:

1. We need an updated Sonic Engine from Sonic Solutions (they haven't provided one).

2. The CD/DVD-RW drive is incompatible with the Sonic Engine

3. Some concurrently running process is interfering, either:
a) Some other app which manages CD drives or maybe even also uses the Sonic Engine (eg. Adaptec Easy CD Creator,
Sonic RecordNow or MyDVD, MS Digital Photo Suite), or
b) Some security app is preventing the Sonic drivers from being installed.

Other than that, Sonic installs fine on other peoples' Win7 machines,
so it can only be something system-specific causing it.

You could try manually extracting the Sonic installer from inside the Winamp installer, eg. by using 7Zip (v9.09b), and then running it afterwards...
1. Open the Winamp installer in 7Zip
2. Double-click the [0] folder
3. Then extract all files in the $PLUGINSDIR subfolder to some new folder on your HD
4. In said folder, double click pxsetup.exe



Note: If you click OK on the dialog in your screenshot, then Winamp will still install correctly, and everything should still work except for CD burning (ripping will still work if using Windows native SPTI instead, though you might need to uncheck 'Use Sonic' in CD Ripping settings first).
Thanks. I bought shortly really a new DVDRW Burner.

The model is LG (HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22LS50). Now i wanna know, if it is compatible with that. Can you tell me.

Besides: I have Nero 8 and AnyDVD installed, my security suite is from Microsoft (Microsoft Security Essentials)

Nero 8 is not completely installed.
OlexijL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 18:28   #72
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
Issue with the 5.571 Update Pack Koopa.
It gets to gen_milk2.dll and gives an error: "Installer corrupted: invalid opcode"

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 18:59   #73
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
osmosis: Cannot reproduce, working fine here.

Maybe something went wrong in download, re-download the file again.

And it's vis_milk2.dll not gen_milk2.dll

I've verified the installer script again and all is looking ok.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 19:05   #74
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
I have a problem that just started with the most recent, most recent update. Build 2810. This problem did not happen with the previous builds of 5.57 Public Beta (build 2765) or 5.57 Final (build 2789) or Revised - Build 2792
When I choose the simple albums smartview, it just goes blank sometimes. And I am not sure when it does or doesnt happen.
And when I am able to make the simple album appear, when you drag the pane up from the bottom, the screen will flicker on and off. I know its hard to explain or imagine, so I made a video... I hope this works
http://www.screencast.com/t/YTRmM2MxMGY
It only happens on that specific preset. Any comments or ideas?
Juanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 19:27   #75
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
cool video. how do you do that?

any chance its your video driver?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 19:35   #76
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Its a program called Jung
http://www.jingproject.com/
I only have the free version which is why it has to be hosted on that specific site. You can read up on it though. Seems to work pretty well.

I would think its my video driver because its a pretty old card. GeForce 6600. I have the latest drivers from nvidia, but my curiosity arose because it did not happen with the previous builds of this version. I did a clean install of the newest build and this started occurring, so I dont know.
Juanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 19:43   #77
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
given that its only that view, and given that it didn't happen on previous builds of this nearly same version of winamp, i'd say there's a 50/50 chance at least its winamp and not your driver.

what happens in other skins, like modern or classic? (i only ever use bento)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 20:03   #78
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i have reproduced the issue, altho its not quite as severe as in the video, but def the same type of thing. i am using 5.571 i didn't try with an earlier one first (damnit).

i have a geforce 8400m with latest driver. (laptop)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 20:07   #79
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Well, I am sorry to hear that I am not the only one.
I tried all the skins. It happens less with the modern skin, but still happens.
It doesnt happen with classic skins at all.
Juanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2009, 22:38   #80
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
Strange bug.
At startup Winamp shows me on the top of the screen "Jump To File" window with empty inside.

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump