Old 5th April 2006, 23:28   #1
suria
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 55
Pls help Problem with NSVate Encorder

hi


I am new to Video stream ...I am having problem with NSVate Batch ENCORDER... Everytime i press oke to encorde to nsv THE WINDOWS giving me error messege window saying "Send" "Don't Send" (which we normaly see in win xp) it appearing and close the program automaticaly ...

pls let me know is there anyway i can encorde to nsv? without anytrouble...

thanks for your help
suria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 15:09   #2
ken52787
Major Dude
 
ken52787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,297
Send a message via AIM to ken52787
The Batch Encoder has is buggy on some computers. Tell us what codecs and settings you're using and maybe we can spot some incompatibilites.

You may be stuck with using the CLI nsvenc program.

NSV downloads
An in-depth step by step guide for newbies, coming soon.
ken52787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 17:49   #3
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
NSVate ....

Well, I have two versions of NSVTools. When I started learning NSV a couple of months ago, downloaded the software package. Didn't know enough to get it working right off. Found some info here about being sure to have the "latest" version of NSV Tools, so looked for and found a newer version somewhere, can't recall where exactly.

Anyway, today have learned enough to get around a little bit with these apps (GUI versions). Here's the story:

Older version of NSVate works fine mostly. Sends proper titles, all the stuff. Cropping even.

Newer version of NSVate crashes everytime I open it when I press the first button, doesn't matter which one. This happens even though both apps use the same configuration.

Newer version of NSVEnc mostly works okay, unless the machine needs a reboot.

Older version of NSVEnc crashes everytime I open it, first click, just like above. Same configuration for both versions.

Go figure, I sure can't. Am just glad to have one version of both apps working most of the time. Could it turn out to be more of "an art" than a science maybe? Am not complaining, however. NSV turns out a decent, practical product and enables anyone to use it gratis. Seems like a pretty good deal to me. At present, my motto is "Work WITH it, not ON it."

HHB

Last edited by hhb; 6th April 2006 at 18:13.
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 16:21   #4
suria
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally posted by ken52787
The Batch Encoder has is buggy on some computers. Tell us what codecs and settings you're using and maybe we can spot some incompatibilites.

You may be stuck with using the CLI nsvenc program.

HI THANKS FOR the old NSV tools.. its working but after I encorded my File... I can't see the file...
it says
"NSVEnc is currenly encording files" but I dont see any file encorded after that...
could u tell me know how to make NSV file??

thanks
suria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 18:03   #5
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,008
Re: NSVate ....

Quote:
Originally posted by hhb
At present, my motto is "Work WITH it, not ON it."
That is a completely practical attitude.

I don't know what configuration Ken found that was unstable, but usually crashes happen because of the lame mp3 encoder.

Make sure your audio bitrate is a multiple of 32 and the sample rate is multiples of 11025 or 12000 hz.

In my experience, this stuff is very stable, but you have to configure it just right.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2006, 19:00   #6
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Thanks for the input. Yes, agree that once working correctly, the software is extremely stable. In the beginning, newbie knowledge level included not understanding enough about the audio configuration, which engendered software crashes.

For some time, however, audio settings have been configured correctly as you described, yet still one app works fine, the other crashes at the first button click. Decided I don't need to know why as long as one of them works .... but still wish I did know why of course.

HHB
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 00:08   #7
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,973
Another usefull tip for using NSVate is to install ffdshow.

ffdshow is a Windows DirectShow and VFW codec for decoding/encoding many video and audio formats.

One of the biggest problems with using NSVate is the decoding of the original video content into raw data to be encoded using NSV. ffdshow allows for proper video decoding.

Information
http://ffdshow.sourceforge.net/tikiw...w_articles.php

Download
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=53761

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 01:25   #8
slavas
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: kaimas šalia Anykščių
Posts: 680
sankt dont post pls to that download link its waaaaay outdated
slavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 01:29   #9
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
FFDShow ....

Thank you sankt, for this tip. Am using FFDShow on another machine with NSVCap for live webcasting, as Toqer suggested a while back. Works great, too, always thank you Toqer.

When I install FFDShow on another machine for encoding archived test files to NSV format, please tell me which part of the FFDShow config choices do I configure -- VFW codec config or Video decoder config or both? (Can now do the FFDShow/NSVCap config, still claim newbie status however, and also will accept a "duh" label at any time for asking this question)

Til now, have obtained the best results with NSVate by preparing archived files before they get to NSVate by using a very good, free program called Super. So far, any file prepared by Super using an MPEG1 container with MPEG1 codec and then given to NSVate to encode succeeds -- even FLV files. Could this step in some way be "helping" NSVate with its decoding chore that you mentioned?

Thanks for any info about which FFDShow configuration to prepare for working with NSVate.

HHB

Last edited by hhb; 8th April 2006 at 01:46.
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 01:30   #10
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,973
Ooops, sorry

Latest version of FFDShow :
2006-04-03 - www.free-codecs.com/download/FFDShow.htm

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 07:26   #11
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
thanks and nevermind on the question ....

Thanks for the FFDShow update link, and really, should have installed FFDShow before asking you the question about what and how to configure it-- as already said, duh. After installation, all was obvious and now works very well. FFDShow's features added to NSV encoding is a real plus. Thanks again for the tip.

HHB
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 13:37   #12
suria
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 55
somebody help me...

i m using old NSV tool to encode my videos..but i dont see any files encoded after encoding..

***Plese check the attached image***

this is the window i see.. but i dont see any output

pls
help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image1.jpg (21.4 KB, 593 views)
suria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 20:53   #13
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Hi, when you tell NSV Coder to encode something, a black, command prompt window should also open. You can watch the app's coding progress in the black window. If it closes immediately, that's sort of like an application crash, no encoding going on, so no result.

There's a note on the screen shot you posted telling you what to do if that happens. There's a checkbox on the app interface on the encoding setup screen for using Direct Show. Try starting over with the Direct Show box checked (see attachment).

Also, good information at http://www.scvi.net/gui2.htm on using this app.

Hope this helps -- HHB
Attached Images
File Type: jpg noname2.jpg (25.5 KB, 545 views)
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 23:04   #14
suria
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally posted by hhb
Hi, when you tell NSV Coder to encode something, a black, command prompt window should also open. You can watch the app's coding progress in the black window. If it closes immediately, that's sort of like an application crash, no encoding going on, so no result.

There's a note on the screen shot you posted telling you what to do if that happens. There's a checkbox on the app interface on the encoding setup screen for using Direct Show. Try starting over with the Direct Show box checked (see attachment).

Also, good information at http://www.scvi.net/gui2.htm on using this app.

Hope this helps -- HHB
******************


Thanks HBB

I could manage to encord the file... the file format is stay the same it didn't change to ".avi.nsv"

and the when I play the file it didn't play on the screen...
pls check my two attachedd files..
suria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2006, 23:11   #15
suria
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 55
see the attached files
suria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2006, 01:40   #16
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Don't see attached files ....

Hi, from here, I can't see any attached files. NSV Coder doesn't "change the name" of your source video file. It creates a new one in NSV -- you still have the original, unchanged. If the original won't play for you, makes sense to me that NSV Coder can't do anything with it.

So, if NSV Coder isn't producing your nsv file, probably it can't handle the source file input or doesn't like something in your encoder configuration. Have you tried finding an example source file that will play for you in some player? Then ask NSV Coder to make you an NSV version, which should then play in Winamp or any NSV-enabled player.

HHB
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast TV / Nullsoft Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump