Old 3rd September 2005, 11:44   #1
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Tagger

Okay, this morning went to tweaking Tagger instead of drag n' drop...

Download Tagger here. It works pretty good if all the files you are trying to set tags for are present in ML already...OR if you have read the file lengths of all files in the playlist already...

This is due to Winamp trying to get the length of the file...either from the EXTM3U or from the cached ML. I guess I should try to grab the info from DL too...for people using DL that would be sweet.

does anyone know of a way to just tell Winamp to ignore the file length for now? until the person scrolls the files into view in the Playlist Editor that is.
I am myself not sure this is possible...but all this is a bunch of hacks anyway so...

Latest version:
http://nunzioweb.com/joonas/tagger/

To use: Playlist Editor > right click entry/entries > Edit Selected Item(s)
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2005, 19:21   #2
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Re: Tagger

Anyone tried this plugin yet? Any suggestions? Bug reports?
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2005, 14:21   #3
Dick65
Senior Member
 
Dick65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 157
Tagger

I won't use it: It writes ID3v.2 tags (which I dislike) and it will not write Ape-tags (which I use).

But for most people it may be a great help.

If only ID3v1 tags have been present before, it will write v1 tags. If also v2 tags or no tags at all were there, it will write v1 and v2.

Smooth handling - no bugs so far.
Dick65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2005, 14:29   #4
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Re: Tagger

Quote:
Originally posted by Dick65
I won't use it: It writes ID3v.2 tags (which I dislike) and it will not write Ape-tags (which I use).

But for most people it may be a great help.

If only ID3v1 tags have been present before, it will write v1 tags. If also v2 tags or no tags at all were there, it will write v1 and v2.

Smooth handling - no bugs so far.
I think it writes the tags which are already in the file...so if you have id3v1 tags it will write id3v1...though maybe it defaults to v2 if no tags are found...it's all the input plugins choice how to write them anyway...

AFAIK Ape isn't fully supported in Winamp which I guess is why ape-tags doesn't work...

Out of curiousity..why use Ape? what's wrong with id3v2?
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2005, 07:01   #5
Dick65
Senior Member
 
Dick65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 157
Re: Re: Tagger

Quote:
Joonas
Out of curiousity. Why use Ape? what's wrong with id3v2?
Id3v1 and ape tags are stored at the end of the file. id3v2 tags are put at the beginning. That is the reason why it takes much longer to create / delete a v2 tag: The whole file has to be re-written, whilst for v1 and ape only the end of the file is being touched.
Try and re-write 100 files at a time and you'll see.

id3v1 does not suffice, as the fields are too short. So it's ape tags, which can even be customized (ie create new fields).

My portable mp3 player does (obviously) not support ape tags, so for compatibility I write id3v1 and ape tags.

With the alternative in_mpg123.dll from Shibatch (link) Winamp does read ape tags. This plugin also enables replay gain and gapless output for lame-encoded files.
Dick65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2005, 17:39   #6
Benco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 47
I find this plugin is a very good idea, I would use every day, if only I could download it !!! as soon as the link is valid, I will become a regular user !

Do you use the same code than ML, or did you reimplement it ?

And about the need for winamp to know the length of the files, cannot you just let winamp read it before changing tags ? like when you select "read extended info"... I personnaly would use this plugin when getting new songs, that are not yet included into the ML, so it would be useful.

anyway, good idea !!
Benco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2005, 17:46   #7
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Benco
I find this plugin is a very good idea, I would use every day, if only I could download it !!! as soon as the link is valid, I will become a regular user !

Do you use the same code than ML, or did you reimplement it ?

And about the need for winamp to know the length of the files, cannot you just let winamp read it before changing tags ? like when you select "read extended info"... I personnaly would use this plugin when getting new songs, that are not yet included into the ML, so it would be useful.

anyway, good idea !!
Grab the plugin from my homepage. The link is old

It is a reimplementation of the ML feature.
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2005, 17:48   #8
Benco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 47
this link :
http://nunzioweb.com/joonas/gen_tagger.dll
dosen't work neither (is it "neither" ? english is not my native language...)
anyway, thanks for that fast reply !!
Benco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2005, 18:24   #9
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Benco
this link :
http://nunzioweb.com/joonas/gen_tagger.dll
dosen't work neither (is it "neither" ? english is not my native language...)
anyway, thanks for that fast reply !!
Ouch...so sorry. Have updated the website properly...
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2005, 21:19   #10
Mr_Sako
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to Mr_Sako
im confused of what it does

it makes id3 tags for you?
Mr_Sako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2005, 01:52   #11
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
Originally, you could only mass edit tags in the media library (media library > Rclick file > edit selected item(s)) Joonas ported this feature to the playlist. No it doesnt do it for you.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2005, 14:35   #12
ugoveri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 7
Masstagging

Well I use EZ-Playlist 1.55 to manage my idtags.

It has a very powerfull engine that allow you rename from file or rename file from idtag, besides mass tagging, and even file arranging, but has the disadvantage of having to open an external aplication.

That's where tagger could make the difference (in my case, maybe just as a complement) because you can edit the tag directly from the playlist.

I just think it had to get better when masstagging, since if you select several files, for example from the same artist and album, you should have the chance to jump to the next file in what concerns to the song title for example when pressing enter. That way tagging the whole songs of an album would be very easier within the winamps playlist.
ugoveri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2005, 14:37   #13
interstellar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Any chance of seeing tagger set up to work with Dynamic Library in the future?
interstellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2005, 15:23   #14
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by interstellar
Any chance of seeing tagger set up to work with Dynamic Library in the future?
Considering I am the creator of both I guess it's very likely
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 04:35   #15
djray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
i love the idea of this plugin... however this plugin doesn't seem to work with winamp v2.9x!

i would really appreciate it if you could enable support for those of old school winamp lovers!
djray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 07:21   #16
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by djray
i love the idea of this plugin... however this plugin doesn't seem to work with winamp v2.9x!

i would really appreciate it if you could enable support for those of old school winamp lovers!
I suggest you update
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 07:39   #17
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,224
Concerned about upgrading from 2.x to 5.x?
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=207460


Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 07:59   #18
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
It is actually not just to be mean
If I recall correct the technique used to get the selected files in the playlist editor required something from Windows 5x.
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2005, 19:59   #19
Feinstaub
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany (at the moment: Sweden)
Posts: 4
Hi Joonas,

cool plugin!

How exactly do you manage to update the id3 file tag?

Did you somehow use the functionality that is built-in in Winamp? I think about the "Update tag(s) if supported" option in the ML.

One one could use this it should be also possible to update ogg tags.

I try to utilize ActiveWinamp to create some script that should be able to update the file tag.

/Gregor
Feinstaub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 18:15   #20
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Whenever I try to use Tagger with Winamp 5.2 Beta 427, Winamp crashes. No text is displayed in the boxes after selecting files and clicking 'edit selected items' and clicking 'Ok' after that, causes Winamp to crash.

It'd be great if this could be sorted, it's a really useful and simple plugin.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 18:22   #21
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
i believe joonas knows, as all 3 of his plugins are somehow borked in 5.2
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 20:48   #22
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
i believe joonas knows, as all 3 of his plugins are somehow borked in 5.2
Yep I know about it. It's the code changes that causes it. I will update as time permits but alas no time left for development...
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 22:27   #23
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Well, any update would be great if you have time.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2006, 03:43   #24
peaceofcake
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 333
Well if you add padding to the end of the file it's no problem to rewrite the tags.
peaceofcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 20:14   #25
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Update

* Only works in 5.2 but that's okay. everyone should upgrade anyway.

nunzioweb.com/joonas/gen_tagger.zip
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 23:44   #26
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
It's a very nice and useful plugin Joonas. No peculiar problem to report. If you're still open to suggestions, could you please a feature that would automatically number(track number) the files that have been selected in an incremental way?

Mp3tag provides such a feature, it's called "Autonumbering".

Thanks
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 00:46   #27
Mr_Sako
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to Mr_Sako
there should be an options to always write to ALL id3 tags,
i use both id3v1 and id3v2 so if i use my mp3s anywhere theyll show up as expected no matter if the program uses id3v1 or id3v2 (btw the link is broken)
Mr_Sako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2006, 02:54   #28
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Theres no "Edit Selected Item(s)" in the PL right-cick menu after installing.

Is anything amiss?
Using v1.1a

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2006, 08:53   #29
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by iron2000
Theres no "Edit Selected Item(s)" in the PL right-cick menu after installing.

Is anything amiss?
Using v1.1a
Something is amiss yes? Cause the menu item is there for me. Do you have some other plugins installed that might interfere? Which Winamp version are you using?
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2006, 13:08   #30
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Using Winamp v5.22.

One other gen plugin I added myself is the gen_msn.dll.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 14:39   #31
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,224
It doesn't show up here either. 5.22 full install, no third-party plugins.
It does appear under Prefs > Plugins > General Purpose, it's just the menu entry that isn't there.

iron2000, did you get it to work yet?

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 21:22   #32
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
It doesn't show up here either. 5.22 full install, no third-party plugins.
It does appear under Prefs > Plugins > General Purpose, it's just the menu entry that isn't there.

iron2000, did you get it to work yet?
I really don't know what's up with your systems. I am running Winamp 5.22 (May 25 2006) and I get the menu entry....
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 22:32   #33
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,224
Are you sure we have the same Tagger version as well? Since there were several months between the version posted above and the first time someone reported this...
(and version numbers aren't always unambigious with your plugins )

Other than that I can't think of anything really... Do you have all plugins installed that come with Winamp Full? (perhaps a conflict with a plugin you don't use...?)

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2006, 08:24   #34
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
Are you sure we have the same Tagger version as well? Since there were several months between the version posted above and the first time someone reported this...
(and version numbers aren't always unambigious with your plugins )

Other than that I can't think of anything really... Do you have all plugins installed that come with Winamp Full? (perhaps a conflict with a plugin you don't use...?)
I downloaded the same zip-file above. Full installation, works with both Modern and Classic skins...

I am really stomped...
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2006, 15:09   #35
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally posted by Joonas
Update

* Only works in 5.2 but that's okay. everyone should upgrade anyway.

nunzioweb.com/joonas/gen_tagger.zip

confirmed only works with 5.2

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2006, 16:41   #36
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
strange
i can make it work with 5.22.
win xp sp2 + 1.1a (same zip file)

i haven't installed some ml plug-ins though...
mrym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2006, 05:13   #37
euka_aec
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to euka_aec
Yes, I can't get it to work either. :x
I have the same doohadads as mrym (XP sp2 + 5.22.)
I had one plug-in installed that I downloaded myself, but I uninstalled it.
I hope this can be fixed, this program really looked useful. :[
euka_aec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2006, 05:45   #38
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by euka_aec
Yes, I can't get it to work either. :x
I have the same doohadads as mrym (XP sp2 + 5.22.)
I had one plug-in installed that I downloaded myself, but I uninstalled it.
I hope this can be fixed, this program really looked useful. :[
Does the Shift+T shortcut works? For me the menu entry appears between "View file info" and "Playlist entry".
Joonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2006, 06:51   #39
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,224
Shift+T works.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2006, 07:17   #40
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
just tested with clean installed 5.23 beta 666.
menu doesn't appear.
but if i install dl(2.0beta 32.3) the menu is displayed.

strange thing is that when i disabled dl in 5.22, the menu doesn't disappear...
mrym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump