Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2006, 13:57   #1
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
SNESamp Wrapper v0.9.1 & YMAMP v2.5 plugins (was 'Winamp 5.2 bug with .spc files!')

i have some .spc file that are music from snes games..
in the advanced formatting title of option of winamp i have this string: $filepart(%filename%) for see only the name of the file (and is ok for all mp3 ogg and wma files that i have)
but now i can't see the name (as formatting title) of the spc file (game and song name) and i see only the name of the .spc file that can be: smb01.spc smb02.spc (fot super mario bros for example)...
what i can do?
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 14:47   #2
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
You could say, wich .spc plugin you're using.

If you use SNESAmp (recommended) or PP's .spc plugin, then you can set up the title formatting within the plugin.

Advanced title formatting is just supported, if the plugin authors will update their plugins.

PP's old in_spc.dll is outdated and no one works on the plugin anymore.

SNESAmp development seem to be dead too.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 16:40   #3
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
i use snes amp.. and i must disabilit the adv formatting in winamp option for activate the adv formatting in the snesamp option
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 18:28   #4
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
I cannot reproduce.

Advance Titel Formatting in Winamp is checked and I'm able to set the Formatting in SNESAmp too.

There are no problems, If any plugin doesn't support ATF, then it will use simply it's own formatting
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 19:43   #5
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
I cannot reproduce.

Advance Titel Formatting in Winamp is checked and I'm able to set the Formatting in SNESAmp too.

There are no problems, If any plugin doesn't support ATF, then it will use simply it's own formatting
with 5.2 betas all ok, but now i have this problem with snesamp!
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 19:57   #6
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
edit: i have the bug with old .spc files when was many files as playlist..
(http://www.snesmusic.org/v2/)
now the file .spc in the new site version is only one and when i add it to winamp playlist i must click on the file for see the complete soundtrack.. (with adv formatting title)
however there is another bug: when i click on the files the .spc i can find the .spc playlist at the end of winamp laylist
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 02:06   #7
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally posted by djsolidsnake86
i use snes amp.. and i must disabilit the adv formatting in winamp option for activate the adv formatting in the snesamp option
I'm having the exact same problem(5.2 using SNES AMP). Unticking the "use advanced title formatting when possible" seems to solve it. Could it be fixed?
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:20   #8
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
The exact same problem occurs with YM files (Using Leonard's Ymamp). Load the files to the playlist, play them, move to another track, the track tittle in the playlist is displayed as '"[]" or something in that vein or simply disappears.
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 14:18   #9
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
As I said before, all these plugins are third party plugins. You have to wait, until the authors provide an update.

You could mail the authors and explain the problem, as I did.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 15:24   #10
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Alright. Who have you emailed already?
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 17:00   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,780
Does it make any difference if you select "No guessing" in:
Prefs > Media Library > Watch Folders > Configure?

and/or if you uncheck "Use library title for playlist item formatting" in:
Prefs > Media Library > Library Options > Modify Settings?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 17:08   #12
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Dj Egg> It may, but the problem occurs even when simply playing a folder dragged in the current playlist without using the library import. In that case, the only work around is to untick the "use advanced title formatting when possible", which is not very complicated to do but forces you to set the option back to default if you want to use the atf with other file types.

I don't use the ML for other formats than the regular lossy formats, maybe someone else can answer your question more accurately.
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 17:43   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,780
Well, maybe you could change those settings first yourself and then come back and tell us if it made any difference.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 18:03   #14
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Even if it made a difference with the library I have no referent about how it used to work before 5.2 with files loaded from the library.

In any case, I have tried what you've said, and as stated above I have no idea whether it made any difference or not which is why I said that someone else could answer the question more accurately.

My report was about the fact that when atf is enabled the titles in the playlist are messed up when using the SNES amp or YM amp plugins. As a matter of fact I have a referent in that case: titles used to display properly in versions prior to 5.2.
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 19:38   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,780
So you've applied those two settings changes, but the problem remains, yes/no?

If yes, then alas those 3rd-party plugins will need to be updated to support the new 5.2 title formatting api's. Sorry.


(Note to devs: the 5.2 sdk should be available very soon)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 20:59   #16
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Dj Egg>Yes. And the problem occurs even when the library is not implied at all eg:dragging files from explorer to the playlist. The only workaround consists in disabling the atf from the options. Once again it's no big deal.

I have emailed Leonard from Oxygen(developper of YM amp) to let him know and point him to the thread. Koopertrooper has apparently emailed other devs as well. So, hopefully, we should have new versions of the plugins available sooner or later.

Thanks for your attention
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 13:15   #17
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
but the autor of snesamp (that is the best plug-in) is already contacted?
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 13:18   #18
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
Quote:
but the autor of snesamp (that is the best plug-in) is already contacted?
Yes, but still no response. I'll mail him again, but don't get your hopes to high, the last update is very old.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 14:41   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,780
I'm sure someone will fix it once the 5.2 sdk is released.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 16:27   #20
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
nothing in the new release..
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 21:10   #21
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Djsolidnake86> Dj Egg meant the "SDK"= the specifications for 3rd party developpers.
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 20:51   #22
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
no news?
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 18:10   #23
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
up
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 21:30   #24
loomchild
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Obviously no. As it's been said already it's up to the developpers to recompile their plugins using the new SDK.
loomchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 23:05   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,780
The 5.2 sdk isn't ready or publically available yet.
When it is, you'll see it on winamp.com/nsdn and in the developer forum.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2006, 09:36   #26
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
bug remain also with 5.22
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2006, 09:57   #27
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Still not a bug with Winamp, but something the plugin developer must fix.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2006, 11:50   #28
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
ok but there aren't plugin updates?
djsolidsnake86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2006, 12:15   #29
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i can't remember or not if the source code for either of those plugins is available since it should be relatively easy for anyone with a decent level of coding ability to add in the extended features for input plugins (which don't need a newer sdk since it's never been documented). i can't remember the link to the site detailing how to do it since i'm at work.

it looks like SNESamp is going to be tricky to fix up since i can't see any source code for it. Ymamp can be for the 2.0b version i believe though it all depends on how well/easily the tag reading has been done in it's code since the basic requisit is to be able to pull metadata from the files (writing can be added later)

-daz

[edit]
links posted for my easy reference back 1
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2006, 16:25   #30
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
Here is the sourcecode for an outdated version of snesamp (2.99): http://www.zophar.net/utilities/download/SAmp299s.rar

I cannot find an up to date sourcecode though. It seems that the sourcecode of version 3.2 is only available for the xmms plugin: http://sourceforge.net/projects/snesamp-xmms/

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2006, 17:10   #31
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
Sourcecode for SNESAmp 3.1 is aviable too.

Sourcecode

I'll mail him again and ask for an update, multi user support would be nice too. At least he should release the code for 3.2.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 22:23   #32
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
YMAMP v2.5 Alpha 1

Here's the first modified build of YMAMP (in_ym) since it was the easiest one to look at for fixing to be compatible with 5.x.
  • Support added for %title% (Song Title), %artist% (Game Title), %comment% (Comments) and %compressed% (returnes 'zlib' if compressed) queries by winamp for it's atf support
  • Added in multi-user support so the settings are saved in %inidir\plugins\plugin.ini
  • Fixed 'view file info' to properly work now on the selected file(s) and not the currently playing file as was the case and so fixed up all related actions to this as well
  • Started to clean up the main plugin code where needed to ensure things are consistant/correct
Until i've got things in a better state amd worked out how to reflect the new changes with the existing readme/source files i'll just be distributing the new versions as attachments here. Tag write support is next along with anything that comes up from the tests.

-----------------------------------------------------

I've still got to look at SNESAmp since it appears there may be some issues trying to get it to compile (not sure at the moment but when the author says it's a mismatch of code i'm already having my doubts, heh)

-daz
Attached Files
File Type: zip in_ym_v2_5_alpha_1.zip (45.3 KB, 756 views)
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 22:27   #33
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
wOOt. I will give it a try tomorrow. BIG BIG thanks to DrO.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 22:41   #34
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'm just happy that i can now edit the correct file and do the compress/decompress thing without having to restore the files from the original archive as i found to be the case with the 2.0b version.

the only thing i'm not sure about is if i've mapped the queried tags to the right gym tag entries (hopefully it is). any feedback on it's appreciated though be it good or bad

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2006, 00:21   #35
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
just had a quick thought regarding the whole SNESAmp issue since i can't build the damn thing since it relies too heavily on parts from borland c++ builder's vcl libraries (which i don't have in the old version 5 of borland i have though i'm sure i had some copy of builder 5 on a CD or something somewhere but i can't find it now).

anyhoo, the thought is that i made a small plugin called in_trouble which is designed to handle certain plugins not being multi-user compatible which i'd been using with in_ym for ages but that (in_ym) plugin just plain needed some work on it. well this was just handling the core export which winamp uses to detect if what it has found is/isn't a valid plugin. well i think i can apply this same approach and using SNESAmp's code i should be able to make a loader plugin which will deal with metadata queries and leave SNESAmp to do everything else that's needed to be done (with hopefully getting it to be multi-user compatible at the same time - i can't remember if in_trouble's standard methods worked with it or not but with the source i should be able to get it all working). so... stay tuned on matters

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2006, 15:03   #36
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,338
Multiuser support works fine, ATF seems to work right, have to make more intensive tests.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2006, 04:23   #37
Plaid Phantom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
I'm currently running WA 5.22 with SNESAmp. SPC files seem to play fine, although all of the metadata shows up in the "title" field leaving "album" and "artist" empty. What really bugs me is that it doesn't seem to support RSN files anymore. They did work with 5.21, though only if you double-clicked them from Explorer.
Plaid Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2006, 22:13   #38
Plaid Phantom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Well, double-clicking RSNs seems to work fine now. Don't know what happened, if anything. Still can't use them from within the Media Library.
Plaid Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2006, 08:35   #39
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
Maybe renaming them to .spc could do the trick? Just as a workaround. maybe name.rsn.spc or something like that?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2006, 05:31   #40
Plaid Phantom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Oog. Forgot about this for a while.

I played around a bit on this and I think I've come up with a solution for RSN archives in WA 5.24 with SNESAmp 3.2.

Under Media Library in the preferences, uncheck "Play search results...on double click in media views" (and "Play all items...on double click in playlists" for playlists of RSNs) and it will play all tracks in the RSN.

I don't know if it's Winamp's or SNESAmp's behavior, but what happens when an RSN is loaded is that it plays the first file and enqueues the rest. (isn't that in_zip's behavior as well?) My problem is that other songs were enqueued after the RSN and thus between the RSN and the rest of it's tracks.

Oh, and all the metadata seems to be showing up fine. Alt-3 shows the "ID666" info for each file.
Plaid Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump