Old 26th February 2006, 23:05   #1
rrmetal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hunterdon County - NJ
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to rrmetal
5.2 sciript error: Online Services and Shoutcast Wire

... just installed 5.2 ...

Looks, sounds and works great ..

However ...

When I try to go to Shoutcast Wire or Online Services I get the following:

For Online Services:

An error has occurred in the script on this page
Line: 380
Char: 30
Error: Unspecified error
Code: 0
URL: http://www.winamp.com/bin/om/index.php

If I click on 'yes' to continue it tells me Online Services didn't load and to leave a message ...

For Shoutcast Wire:
An error has occurred in the script on this page
Line: 380
Char: 30
Error: Unspecified error
Code: 0
http://wire.shoutcast.com/?bg=706F77...DE59&lo=353634

If I click on 'yes' to continue it seems to work

Thanks,

Bob
rrmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2006, 00:14   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Hmm, could be something to do with your security settings.
Maybe try adding *.winamp.com and *.shoutcast.com to the Trusted Sites zone

If the problem persists, then please include Windows OS (plus sp), Internet Explorer version, and a HijackThis log in your reply. More info here

Though it would seem that the most common cause of this problem is if ar.atwola.com is blocked at the hosts file level or by a script/ad blocker.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2006, 01:20   #3
blade_811
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Yea its happening to me too, except only with shoutcast radio and shoutcast tv
blade_811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 14:42   #4
DonBurden
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 9
I get the error too. Only https addresses can be added to "Trusted Sites". Using IE7 Beta 2. Version 7.0.5296.0

Popup says:
An error has occurred in the script on this page.
Line: 380
Char: 30
Error: Unspecified error.
Code: 0
URL: http://www.winamp.com/bin/om/index.php
DonBurden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 15:15   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Looks like you're probably using some external ScriptBlocking tool then, and it needs configuring to allow scripts from winamp.com (a hjt log would probably reveal which app it is - see my first post above).

I haven't installed IE7 beta yet, and won't be doing so until it's public & user friendly (ie. not a 'recommended for developers only' build), but in old IE6 you need to uncheck "require server verifcation (https:) for all sites in this zone" before you can add any http addresses. Is that option no longer there in IE7?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 15:17   #6
DonBurden
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 9
Looking at the source code for that page, the problem seems to be script on that page that tries to post to www.omniture.com. I have that site in my hosts file set to redirect to 127.0.0.1. I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, have problems allowing ANY site to gather ANY information about what I'm doing online.
DonBurden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 16:18   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Hmm.. there's no script directly from omniture.com in the source,
just this one > http://o.aolcdn.com/omniuni.js

Tag kinda explains more about it here
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....47#post1872547


If at all concerned, then you can block cookies from aolcdn.com

I'm still kinda inclined to believe that the script errors are being caused by either Internet Zone security level being set too high (in which case you'll need to add winamp.com and shoutcast.com to the Trusted zone - note, you can change Trusted level to Medium-Low or even Medium, and it'll still work ok), or by some external scriptblocking app.

Also note that this issue is not 5.2-specific,
as was the case here from a few months ago.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 03:54   #8
gear
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
It is specific to the release I have -- 5.2x. Prior versions worked ok. I cannot add the aforementioned sites to the trusted list in good faith since at least one of those sites listed for addition recommend adding some sort of 3rd or 4th party software to my computer (what is this "flash" anyway?). I will forego this newest tricked out feature.

Anyways, DJ Egg, thanks for your prompt and courteous response to my ill-placed post (tho I was probably editing mine while you were typing yours).

g
gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 05:13   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Dunno. You've totally lost me.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 05:28   #10
gear
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
DJ Egg: Sorry about that. You are obviously trying to put out as many fires as you can, and are to be endlessly thanked for your tireless work.


The topic that lead me to this one was: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=241868

Anyways, I have disabled the whole "online media" feature via plugins and downgrades as I have no earthly idea what "scripts" might need to run that didn't before.

Again, thanks for your response.

g
gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 13:30   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Can you at least explain in more detail what you meant exactly by:

"I cannot add the aforementioned sites to the trusted list in good faith since at least one of those sites listed for addition recommend adding some sort of 3rd or 4th party software to my computer (what is this "flash" anyway?)." ?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 00:02   #12
rlmillis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Online Services Error

This is tied to the "Binary and script Behaviors" setting in the Internet Security Zone in IE 6.0sp2
Tools > Internet Options > Sceurity >> Custom Level > under "ActiveX controls and plug-ins" set to "Enabled" and retry the Online services in WinAmp
rlmillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 01:18   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,773
Thanks for the info.

Though that setting should be enabled by default, assuming the Internet Zone level is set to the default Medium level...

If it's set any higher, then the best option (as said above) would be to add *.winamp.com, *.shoutcast.com (and maybe *.aolcdn.com) to the Trusted Sites zone... where you can even change the Trusted zone to Medium-Low or Medium level (instead of the default Low setting), and it should still work ok for Shoutcast TV and Radio.

I'm not sure about Winamp Videos and AOL Videos sections though, because they might also need scripts from the ad-server to be allowed. I get around this problem by mapping *.twx.doubleclick.net to yahoo.com in my Hosts file, eg.
code:
213.171.218.202 twx.doubleclick.net
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump