Old 5th March 2006, 20:06   #1
jbdzyne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jbdzyne
5.2 now rips CD's then misfiles mp3's, loses most tags

(Please, my eyes are blurry from reading threads)

I started with V5.13Pro, happily ripping all my CD's and forming folders (automatically named), with each album playlist inserted in ML under Playlists. All metatag info retrieved and saved perfectly.

THEN I upgraded to new V5.2...(over existing 5.13)

Since then, CD's rip to mp3's just fine. However, all songs are lumped into a folder titled Unknown Artist - Unknown Album. Before ripping, all metatag info is retrieved from the internet (Gracenote cddb) and shows for each track, using Alt-3. Once ripped, the only info available is "Title." All other tags have magically disappeared.

Playlists are generated automatically for the ML, but each is titled: " - ". [Unknown Artist, Unknown Album] Of course, I can rename these playlists, but that action has no effect on missing tag info for each track.

I have since done a clean re-install of 5.13 Pro, and I'm re-ripping the "lost" CD's. (Works perfectly, as before.) I have no outside plug-ins installed, and have made no weird clicks in Preferences: settings are as supplied to me by default, on install--except for destination folder for all ripped music.

I DO want to upgrade to 5.2Pro. Running:
Windows 98SE with all critical updates
PentiumII 750 mhz
IE6.x browser

Is there some crucial setting I need to change after upgrading, in order to save all cddb info?? I seem to be the only one having this problem... ?

I'll monitor this thread, with fingers crossed. Thanx!
jbdzyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2006, 20:50   #2
maxpac34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
I have this same problem, it is really annouying.
maxpac34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 02:04   #3
jbdzyne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jbdzyne
I'm still reading threads, about six hours later, and still find no direct reference to this issue. Max*****, have you had any luck with this?

[nearly finished re-ripping my CD's using 5.13pro, with all tags filled in every time...]
jbdzyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2006, 23:05   #4
roel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
Same problem here. I also upgraded from v5.13 to 5.2 running Winamp on a Shuttle SN41G2 with AMD Athlon XP2000 and 512 Mb memory with Windows ME.

Only the tags that are the same for all songs (artist, album, year and genre) are missing. It's not a CDDB problem because all information shows correctly in the CD info popup. Also if I change the information myself it is still skipped in directory/filenames and in the ID3 tags.

I'll keep looking for a solution or workaround (updating the ripping preferences doesn't help). Looks like a software issue to me. For now I use TagScanner to fix the problem, it can both update ID3 tags and rename files accordingly.

Anybody with an idea on how to fix this?
roel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2006, 10:37   #5
bladerunner911
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I too am having this problem.
When I updated to 5.2 Winamp started missing tag information randomly on my WMA ripped files. It would produce different results each time with the same cd.
Tried ripping to MP3 and same result. I don not have the problem of incorrect folder names though.

Mark
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2006, 13:46   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Ok... so you're all running Windows 98/ME, and not 2k/XP, yes?

I'm going to test ripping on my old Win98SE box
and see if I can reproduce the problem...

[Edit]

Yup, reproduced. Oops :-(

I'm copying this over to the Internal Bugtracker.


Using "<Artist>\<Album>\## - <Title>" naming convention,

I'm getting: Unknown Artist\Unknown Album\## - title.mp3

(where the ## - title.mp3 data in the filename is correct)

The Track# and Title tags are present and correct, but the Artist, Album, Genre, Year tags aren't even created (ie. they're blank).
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2006, 15:17   #7
jbdzyne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jbdzyne
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Ok... so you're all running Windows 98/ME, and not 2k/XP, yes?

I'm going to test ripping on my old Win98SE box
and see if I can reproduce the problem...

Yup, reproduced. Oops :-(
Whew, thank you!
I was just thinking yesterday: hmmmm, wonder if I should go ahead and re-upgrade to 5.21? (5.13 has been humming along without the slightest glitch, so I've been hesitant).

Thanks again, for following up on this issue! --Jim
jbdzyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 03:48   #8
teknocack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
I am not sure this is only a 5.2x and win98/me problem. I am experiencing random missing tags and I am running WinXP Pro SP2. For now I will try to restore them with other software but it seems there is something more to this.

edit: Seems I jumped the gun. Tags appear incomplete at first. Some seem to be missing but appear when view is refreshed. I just gotta calm down

Last edited by teknocack; 20th March 2006 at 04:36.
teknocack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 03:28   #9
watergod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Same issue, 5.13 works great, 5.2 will not list artist and album in files/folders. All cddb info appears to be complete and correct. Upgraded to 5.21 and the same thing. Running 89se. Seems to work ok on XP machines I have, but not 98 machines. I have tried twice to upgrade to 5.2 and reverted to 5.13 each time.
watergod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2006, 21:55   #10
moktoman
Member
 
moktoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to moktoman Send a message via Yahoo to moktoman
I posted elsewhere, but thought I throw in my two cents here too.

I have WinXPHome SP2 and Winamp 5.21's Gracenote CDDB function does not work at all. I've had to manually fill in the information for the last four or five CDs I've ripped, and its getting VERY annoying.

Original topic URL: LINK

Any thoughts on how to remedy this situation??
moktoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 01:15   #11
sardior
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
This is what I've been looking for. I have Win98se and the same problem as the above users. Unfortunately, I don't have 5.13 or I'd install that. Sounds like the latest and greatest isn't the greatest. Let me know when it is fixed or there is a patch. I'll be using dBpower AMP Music Converter until it is.
sardior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 02:39   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Known Bugs (5.2x-specific bugs)

You'll know when it's fixed when a red asterisk appears next to the entry.

Hopefully it'll be fixed for 5.22

All versions available here
www.winampheaven.net

____________________________________________


[edit] please don't post about unrelated cddb issues in this thread.
start a new thread instead [/edit]
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 17:37   #13
FX0007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Hi!
I have the same problem that moktoman described, but I don't have a firewall, only a router. Does somebody know which ports the Gracenote service uses so I can unblock them?
Thanks in advance,
FX
FX0007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump