Old 30th May 2006, 20:26   #1
HeavyD14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Winamp is closed when resuming from Hibernation

Normally when I put my computer into hibernation, I would at most stop or pause winamp, and then chose the hibernate command. When I turned the computer back on, winamp would still be running, just like everything else on my computer. However, after I upgraded to v5.22, winamp is killed when I hibernate. The window is gone, and the process is not running.

I don't know what other information you might need, so just ask.
HeavyD14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2006, 22:36   #2
OdessaCubbage
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I also have this problem but not quite as you describe. It manifests itself after I have run the milkdrop visualisation after which Winamp stops being on top until I reset it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2006, 23:54   #3
HeavyD14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
It sounds like your problem is totally different. However, my winamp sometimes forgets that it is supposed to be on top, so I have to press Ctrl+A twice to turn the option off then on, and then it is on top again. I just uninstalled the milkdrop plugin, so hopefully that will fix it.
HeavyD14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2006, 22:31   #4
Joris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Joris Send a message via Yahoo to Joris
I have exactly the same problem as the topic starter. Any solutions yet? Version 5.21 worked perfectly for me.
Joris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2006, 22:38   #5
OdessaCubbage
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wow, yet another bug in WA 5.22. I suggest that you either switch back to WA 5.21 or, until WA 5.23 is released, just lock your account (Winkey+L) when you're leaving your computer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2006, 07:07   #6
HeavyD14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
I agree with regressing to the previous version, but simply Locking the computer isn't a viable alternative to hibernation. Hibernation turns the computer off, so its quiet.

If the computer was in a different room, I'd just leave it on.

Is there someplace I can elevate this issue to? Is there a bug reporting form or system, like Mozilla's Bugzilla system?
HeavyD14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2006, 06:57   #7
HeavyD14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Winamp is closed when resuming from Hibernation

Quote:
Normally when I put my computer into hibernation, I would at most stop or pause winamp, and then chose the hibernate command. When I turned the computer back on, winamp would still be running, just like everything else on my computer. However, after I upgraded to v5.22, winamp is killed when I hibernate. The window is gone, and the process is not running.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=247444

I have a Dell 4700, P4 2.8 Ghz, 512 MB RAM, Onboard Audio, Ati X800GT video, Running Win XP SP2 and all latest updates to windows, video and audio drivers.

The only 3rd party plugin is the Audioscrobbler plugin running in Library mode.

People in the other thread reproduced this bug.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (12.4 KB, 496 views)
HeavyD14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 20:44   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....74#post1952774

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 01:07   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
and http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....16#post1953016 should fix the issue now

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:31   #10
savoiu
Junior Member
 
savoiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to savoiu
I have the same problem in 5.23. After hibernation the WinAmp process is gone.
savoiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:33   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Did you even see/read the two posts by DrO above yours?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:33   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
and installing the updated version of the plugin in my link above will fix the issue (or the 0.97.5 build). due to time constraints the fixed 0.97.4 build didn't make it into the revised 5.23 release which was put out a day or so after 5.23 hit the download servers.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 20:32   #13
savoiu
Junior Member
 
savoiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SF Bay
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to savoiu
I skimmed over and assumed they were references to other threads that only reproduced the same problem. Got the patch and it works as advertised.

Cheers,
Nick
savoiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump