Old 3rd April 2008, 06:12   #1
Centauri39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
How to add an own color theme?

By using the 'Color Editor for Winamp 5' (on XP Home SP2), I cloned the 'Evil Red' color theme and after editing it into my own colors, I wonder how to get this new color theme (which I called 'Evil Red 2') right below the original 'Evil Red' entry in the list of color themes.

I´m using the 'Bento' skin and just want to have 'Bento' in my own color theme.

The only thing I could do was to export my theme, but then I obviously got me a whole new skin, but I want to use and keep the 'Bento' skin.
I just want to have my own colors for 'Bento'. I didn´t want to create a whole new skin.

Who knows how I can do this, please?
Centauri39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 14:24   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I do not fully understand the question. Make sure that you click the 'Save Themes' button after cloning and/or editing a theme. Then it should be included in that skin's color themes. Unless you want to share a color theme with other people, there is no need to export a color theme. Also, exporting a color theme does not create a new skin.

If you want to add a exported color theme to a skin, the XML file goes to the C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\ColorThemes\SkinName folder. You can create the folder if you don't have it, the actual path will vary with where you installed Winamp. So in this case, the XML file would go to the C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\ColorThemes\Bento folder. Color themes exported from one skin can not be "imported" to a different skin.

Also, make sure you are using the latest version of the color editor.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 20:03   #3
Centauri39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Looks like you actually did understand me.
But, just to be sure, let me 'say' it in some other words:

Certainly, you know there are Skins like 'Bento' or 'Classic' or so.
Besides that, there are color themes 'Evil Red' or 'Purplicious' or so, especially in 'Bento'.

So, I did exactly as you told me to.
I took the current version of the color editor, I cloned the 'Evil Red' theme, I gave it the name 'Evil Flame' ('cos I wanted to make 'Evil Red' a bit more orange and its section´s borders a bit more visible), I edited the colors to get my own ones.
Then I clicked the 'Save Themes' button.
After all these steps, there was a new entry in the list referring to my new theme.

But the problem is, after restarting Winamp, it didn´t remember the new theme, just like I had never changed anything at all.
The new theme just didn´t appear in the list anymore and Winamp just opened in this ordinary, boring grey theme (similar to the 'Classic' theme, but of course still with the 'Bento' skin).

So, I´m just unable to let Winamp remember my new theme and to start with it.
Centauri39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 22:13   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Do you notice other Winamp settings not being saved correctly? That has been has been a reported issue with the Windows Washer cleaner application or maybe another temp file cleaner.

Other information and suggested fixes about Winamp settings not being saved correctly here and/or here.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 23:27   #5
Centauri39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Well, I´ve got CCleaner (nothing else of these kind of tools), but I installed the current version of Winamp just a few days ago and didn´t use CCleaner, so far, after the installation of Winamp.
So, I think, it´s quite unlikely that CCleaner is causing my problem.

But indeed, there´s one strange thing I already noticed.

When I start the color editor, it appears twice at the same time in the context menu.
One time with its german name (´cos I´m using a german GUI) and, right below, with its english name (and both entrys are checked there, even I checked the german entry, only).
When the color editor is not opened, it appears with its german name, only.

Last edited by Centauri39; 3rd April 2008 at 23:53.
Centauri39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 00:08   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Try posting the issues you are having with the Color Editor in the Color Editor 2.1.2 released thread. Maybe someone there will have a idea of what is going on.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump