Old 18th June 2001, 18:11   #1
circuitpartyradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Hi - sorry to post this question again, but there's got to be a way to do this, as I'm sure others are doing the same thing.

My Shoutcast stream plug-ins are on one computer. They are taking audio from a mixer, etc, LINE-IN(from another computer mainly running WinAmp), therefore no MP3 information is associated with it.

Obviously I could type in the title and artist everytime it changes to another song, but many times it is automated, and I am using WinAmp on the other computer generating the audio so the information is available.

Is there some location or something that I can FTP the text to that will update the Shoutcast server list?

Thanks again, and my apologies if you've had to read this again!!

Mike
circuitpartyradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2001, 20:03   #2
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Perhaps try this: http://www.oddsock.org/tools/extrainfo/
I think there might be an easier way (once you get it to work though).
I'll run down the steps:
1) On the computer that has the source Winamp go to the Winamp directory. (Usually C:/Program Files/Winamp)
2) Locate a file called winamp.lks (if it doesn't exist create a text file and rename it to winamp.lks)
3) Open winamp.lks with notepad.
4) Edit it so it looks like the following:
Winamp Links File v1.0
DefBrowseLoc http://IP:PORT/admin.cgi?pass=PASS&m...ng=$a%20-%20$t Update Song Info
EndFile

(NOTE: That should only be on 3 lines)
Replace IP with the IP of the machine with the DNAS.
PORT with the port of the DNAS
PASS with the password of the server.

5) Start Winamp
6) Press Ctrl + P
7) Click on "Setup"
8) Under Internet settings make sure it is set to "Using LAN Internet Connection"
9) Open minibrowser
10) Start playing a song

The first time you may need to use the little triangle thing in the minibrowser and go down to Update Song Info, however after that it should send the info automatically upon song change. Also you will need to have the minibrowser open all the time so it can send this info. And finally when the info is sent you do not get a page, so don't be discouraged if it is not loading a page, check the http://IP:PORT to see if it is updating.

Give that a try and see how it turns out for you.

Tom
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 02:55   #3
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
More help with this?

took me a long time to find this. Is there a problem with the search engine? even after I found the correct topic(manual looking at each page) i could not find it on the search.

any ways, i've never gotten this to work. Any body know why? i have auto up date on the DSP turned off, but the page continues to say line in. It's not a terrible bother right now, but soon i will have the back up relay finally going(see http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=55601) only i am going to have to use a HardWare switch that my roomate is building, rather then a software switch(details comming soon.) So when the dj's log in, it's still going to say line-in, or have the information from my SAM(which will be kicked from the cast but still be sending information to the server.) is there a way to over ride other tags being sent? any places that have more info on the winamp.lks? again, i tried searching here and found nothing. Thanks!
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 04:48   #4
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
If the Song title and artist information is in a flat txt file you can use SCDC to get it there, check out www.shoutclub.com/scdc/ for more info.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 11:41   #5
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
having a text file for each and every mp3 is not an option. 1st it takes to long, 2nd, my own files will be handed just fine, this is a solution for my dj's to have there titles show correctly. So it needs to be something they can do simply as they are not all computer geeks like me. Any one else have ideas?
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 17:47   #6
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
Looks like tom answered this in the second thread(http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=64483) on this topic, but i will expand and ask other questions. Found out the same thing about 3 seconds before Tom posted by disecting the dsp .dll. The correct statement is ...


http://Host:Port/admin.cgi?pass=(you're password)&mode=updinfo&song=$a%20-%20$t

So to get the update to work, you have to edit the WINAMP.lks file to be ...

Winamp Links File v1.0
DefBrowseLoc http://Host:Port/admin.cgi?pass=(you're password)&mode=updinfo&song=$a%20-%20$t Update Song Info
EndFile

rember, this is three lines. Now when you open you're minbrowser and click the little triangle that points up, there should be a item that says "Update Song Info"

Now for my question on this. This works on one of my computers, but not the other. At first i thought it was cause the one that didn't work was winamp 2.5, but it still didn't work after i upgraded. When i open my minibrowser, it doesn't have any links at all. Any one know why that's not working? on the winamp that works, there was a WINAMP.lks already there, on the one that didn't work, i had to create WINAMP.lks. Thanks!
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 17:57   #7
circuitpartyradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
no links either

Yes I have the same problem (as stated in another reply - sorry about the double reply) - it shows no links even though I have created the winamp.lks file.
circuitpartyradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 18:50   #8
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Okay I am going to go through the whole thing, hopefully this will answer your questions, if not just reply.

First off only use this if the broadcasting copy of Winamp does NOT have the song info but a version down line does. If the broadcasting version has the info then it should update the DNAS automatically. If it isn't check any DSP stackers you may be running and check that your password only contains numbers and letters (no spaces!).

Things you'll need to make sure are done first:
1) A fairly recent version of Winamp (I don't remember the exact cutoff version but anything over 2.7 should be good (older versions do not support one of the tags ($a or $t I forget which) and will lock up when you try to use it)).
2) Make sure you tell Winamp you have a connection (Ctrl + P > Setup > Using LAN internet connection.)
3) Create/Edit the winamp.lks file
code:

Winamp Links File v1.0
DefBrowseLoc http://IP:PORT/admin.cgi?pass=PASS&mode=updinfo&song=$a%20-%20$t Update Song Info
EndFile


NOTE: Be sure to replace and spaces in the URL with %20

You may also want to make winamp.lks Read-Only because Winamp will sometimes update the links and erase your custom file if you don’t make it Read-Only.

Now with all that done open Winamp and the minibrowser. Load a song and play it. If the minibrowser did not go to the new page use the arrow and select it (you usually only have to do this once, but if it keeps going to a different page then edit your winamp.ini file and delete the value on the last_shorturl= line).

Tom

Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 20:12   #9
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
Yeap. Got all that Tom. Works great WHEN "update song info" appears in you're minibrowser links after editing WINAMP.lks, Want me and Circut need to know, what do you do when it DOESN'T appear in the minibrowser. I'm due to reload the machine that the offending winamp is on, but it would be nice to know why the links aren't working in the mean time. If you need more info, let me know. Thanks!
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 20:37   #10
circuitpartyradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
same problem

Yeah, I've done everything exactly and edited the INI file, as said, but it still does not come up on the mini Web Browser. I've restarted winamp and everything. I dunno...
circuitpartyradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 20:42   #11
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Hmmm, odd. Both of you guys send an email to tom@shoutclub.com with the winamp.lks file attached (go ahead and change the password part before sending it though).

Tom

Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2001, 20:49   #12
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
Quote:
Originally posted by puttwill
having a text file for each and every mp3 is not an option. 1st it takes to long, 2nd, my own files will be handed just fine, this is a solution for my dj's to have there titles show correctly. So it needs to be something they can do simply as they are not all computer geeks like me. Any one else have ideas?
Hmmm I think you misunderstood me, you don't need a text file for every mp3, your automation program just has to output the current song title in a file on the hard drive some where. Also you could edit a SINGLE file by hand to update the current song as well.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2001, 03:07   #13
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
circuit,
I never received an email from you but in puttwill's case it didn't show up because there were spaces at the end of the lines. After those were deleted it works fine. Give that a try and see if that was the cause for you as well.

Tom

Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2001, 19:36   #14
circuitpartyradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
that was it!

I got rid of an extra space at the end of the first line and it works now. Am I able to set it up to update several streams with the title info through this file? Does it run through every link when a song changes?

Thanks!

Michael
circuitpartyradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2001, 22:51   #15
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
No, it will only go to the first one I think, therefore it will only update one server. It should be possible for it to hit a page that contains a script that would update all your servers with this info though.

Tom

Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2008, 02:40   #16
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
how to do this on new winamp?

so this worked awesome on winamp 2.95 or less. more and more of my dj's refuse to keep using winamp 2.95 just to have this script work. is there a way to do this on winamp 5 now that the mini browser is gone?

http://dementiaradio.org
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2008, 23:33   #17
puttwill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 32
Solution found for Winamp 5

Since winamp 5 doesn't have a mini browser, the old way no longer works. I just found a new way to do it that works with winamp 5. Here's the solution..

AudiStream found here… http://www.winamp.com/plugins/details/137166

AudiStream is a program to tell others what songs you’re listening to. It has some request signing up for an online account on a website that’s gone. The program seems to be long abandoned, but it will work for our purposes with out signing up for an account. Here’s the steps…

Download the files and extract into your winamp folder
Start up winamp, decline offer to set up an account
Right click in winamp to get tool bar open
Go to options > preferences. This will pop up the preferences window
Scroll down the left hand side window and select general purpose under the plug-ins section
Click audistream in right side window
Click “configure selected plug-in” at bottom
This opens the audistream configure window
Click web posting

We are only going to fill in the 1st line just below the example of http://www.domain.com/~user/script.cgi. Do NOT fill anything in to username or password. The url we are going to put in will look like this….

http://www.domain.com:8000/admin.cgi...=updinfo&song=$a%20-%20$t

you will need to fill it in with the correct information. 1st put in your shoutcast’s domain or ip info. Then put in your port number. Shoutcast’s default port is 8000. Finally put in the admin password for your stream. Fill all of that in and click save. Close out the preferences window and your ready to go. Now ever time this winamp plays a song, it will over write what ever id3 tag your shoutcast server currently has. Use this carefully. I use a special install of winamp just for this. If not, you could over write some other dj’s tags accidentally while playing songs on your computer.

The only issue i have is sending to 2 different shoutcast servers. I tried renaming the .dll to have to different copies like i've done with other plugins, but no luck. Any one know away to stack none dsp plugins or to duplicate this one? thanks.
puttwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump