Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th July 2016, 19:38   #1
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 58
Winamp toolbar shows up when watching videos in fullscreen

Recently I have been having this problem with Firefox

Ever since some update of Firofex [or Windows 7], something like 3 months ago, my always docked at the top Winamp toolbar is just docked too well: it stays there when I'm watching some video in full screen mode on Facebook or YouTube. And so I have to close Winamp to make it disappear. And after exiting the full screen mode, maximized Firefox is placed just like it was before closing of the Winamp; meaning that there is this empty [unused space] left after Winamp toolbar. I have to "Restore Down: it [use the middle icon between the three in the right upper corner] and then maximize it again [re-use the middle icon between the three]


Some quick more background info
- Firefox 47.0.1
- Winamp 5.666
- Windows 7 x64 [up to date]
- this wasn't happening before
- this still happens after another and yet another Firefox update
- Winamp behaves [when docked as a toolbar] as it should with all other software, new and old ones [Photoshop, Corel DRAW, sound editors, Excell, ACDSee; you name it]
- the bug doesn't exist [or at least hasn't yet manifested itself] when videos are being watch in fullscreen mode in BS.Player Pro 2.70 and in Media Player Classic 1.7.6



The worst part is that this doesn't happened all the time. I simply do not know what triggers this behavior. I went back to my old system [stored as an image file] from a half a year ago, updated the Firefox and tried to evoke that behavior; but couldn't. And I did this because 2-3 months ago my Windows wasn't updated since 2014 09, and so 2 months ago I updated it massively, altogether with Firefox which was only few releases old. So I did this because if that not-updated-Windows with addition of updated-Firefox would show off this bug, then I would know, it is the fault of Firefox and of the Windows' updates



Of course I've tried uninstalling Winamp and installing it again. But in order to use it as I use it, I had to replace fresh files in my
C:\Users\***USER***\AppData\Roaming\Winamp
with the old ones. But those old ones [all of those my good old settings], weren't tempered recently with docking options. Analogically I could uninstall Firefox and try a fresh copy of it, but then I would be "importing" all of my settings by coping to the
C:\Users\***USER***\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\***
all of my old files, because that's how I roll with it [not using some partial export / import functions]

So as long as I do not know whats is triggering this unwanted behavior, after installation of clean Firefox I could be spending something like a month on some lame default settings and not even once experience the bug [assuming that this bug comes out from Firefox settings] while in a matter of fact still having that bug



Does anyone else suffer from this too-much-docked Winamp?
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2016, 20:34   #2
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 58
This bug is just so annoying!
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2016, 12:31   #3
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 58
Well, is seems that after all this is not a bug; but a case of confusion within settings




There are two options

Options > Always On Top

and

Windows Settings > Docked Toolbar > Always On Top



Having seen the first one simply didn't make me to look for some hypothetical other option concerning this setting

At some point I must have accidentally turned on the second one; and later, seeing the first one, I was thinking that this was a bug, because I had turned off the Always On Top [in this first one]
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2016, 19:11   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,555
Winamp has a lot of settings (plus those related to 3rd party plug-ins). Doing what you did is more common than people want to admit. After doing the same kind of thing a few times, I now keep a log of all the defaults and the changes that I make so that I can backtrack when unexpected things happen. Even with the log, it sometimes takes awhile to find the change(s) that caused an unexpected reaction.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2016, 22:36   #5
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Winamp has a lot of settings (plus those related to 3rd party plug-ins). Doing what you did is more common than people want to admit. After doing the same kind of thing a few times, I now keep a log of all the defaults and the changes that I make so that I can backtrack when unexpected things happen. Even with the log, it sometimes takes awhile to find the change(s) that caused an unexpected reaction.
Well, I write down and keep all changes concerning Windows / registry, but not what is stored in settings or obvious / small. And yet I have them so many

I probably thought that without "Always On Top" turned on in the docked sub-menu, the docked mode would be obscured whenever I had a maximized window of any software. [And the seeing "Always On Top" turned off in overall Options was sure, it was turned off]

Or I thought of "Always On Top" in the sub-menu for docked mode in the sense "Always on [in] the upper part of screen", not noticing at the same time the already picked "Top" option there
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Tags
docked, docked toolbar, firefox, fullscreen, toolbar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump