Old 21st October 2015, 10:29   #1
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,190
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
BUG: bad embed art crashes when folder art present

ok, so here's a weird one. might be known, already reported, as it seems vaguely familiar.

i have a file that mp3tag reports as having an embedded artwork, but neither winamp nor mp3tag shows it. i assume its "bad" somehow.

its in a folder with an ext Folder.jpg file. when i try to do "View File Info" with winamp, it crashes immediately. an "edit" does not crash it.

if i move the art file out of the folder, i CAN do View File Info, no crash. (but nothing makes the embed visible, in either app, ergo "bad embed")

also want to mention i am using v105 inmp3, but i would guess this bug is in unpatched and normally patched inmp3 vers as well.

link to file:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lyxyhui7ou...4%20U.mp3?dl=0

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2015, 13:05   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
MP3 Diags reports that the ID3v2 tag has an APIC frame, but the image couldn't be loaded.
"Error loading image in APIC frame. The frame is too short anyway to have space for an image."
"APIC size = 13. Status = error."

So yes, it's corrupt, and you should delete it (the relevant image tag)

As for the crash, you shouldn't be using in_mp3 v1.05
Only v1.03 is officially supported, and my guess would be that there's no crash when using it.

______________________
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mp3diags.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	239.1 KB
ID:	52041  
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2015, 13:59   #3
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
As for the crash, you shouldn't be using in_mp3 v1.05
Only v1.03 is officially supported, and my guess would be that there's no crash when using it.
I tried it with in_mp3 v1.03 and there was no crash.
Plus, the folder.jpg was displayed as album art.

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2015, 00:56   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,190
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
MP3 Diags reports that the ID3v2 tag has an APIC frame, but the image couldn't be loaded.
"Error loading image in APIC frame. The frame is too short anyway to have space for an image."
"APIC size = 13. Status = error."

So yes, it's corrupt, and you should delete it (the relevant image tag)

As for the crash, you shouldn't be using in_mp3 v1.05
Only v1.03 is officially supported, and my guess would be that there's no crash when using it.
Egg, you posted 105, and it works fine for me, save this one instance. its kind of nonsense to say i shouldn't be using something you posted, is it not? i DL'd, installed, and used it prior to any official withdrawal and i don't believe there is any onus on me whatsoever to stop using it, is there?

i agree it isn't officially supported, ergo why i mentioned it. it might however illuminate as to an issue in yet to arrive future inmp3s, which is another reason why i mentioned it.

now, it may already be fixed in the alpha you are playing with, and that may be b/c of a previous report, b/c as i mentioned, this seems vaguely familiar, ie. the crash with the folder art in the folder as opposed to not in the folder. i'm glad to hear it doesn't crash 103, (which might also be due to a previous bug report), but my only intention is to help you devs going forward.

if it doesn't help, fine, but i don't think its appropriate to tell me what i should or shouldn't do with something you posted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
I tried it with in_mp3 v1.03 and there was no crash.
Plus, the folder.jpg was displayed as album art.
ryerman, had you first scanned it into the ML? or just played it via doubleclick in windows explorer?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2015, 02:05   #5
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
ryerman, had you first scanned it into the ML? or just played it via doubleclick in windows explorer?
It was scanned in like every other audio file in the Library.
All my audio files are associated with MediaInfo, so it was impossible to double click and play in Winamp.
I then removed it from the Library and used the "Open with" menu in Windows Explorer: the art was displayed and there was no crash when using "View file info...".

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2015, 02:19   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,190
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
It was scanned in like every other audio file in the Library.
ok. i was just asking b/c its possible to play/view file info a given file without it being in the ML.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
All my audio files are associated with MediaInfo, so it was impossible to double click and play in Winamp.
ok, np. just curious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
I then removed it from the Library and used the "Open with" menu in Windows Explorer: the art was displayed and there was no crash when using "View file info...".
ok, i just wanted to verify your testing was done with it already in the ML. its quite interesting that this bug is in the 105, but not the 103. it begs the question if its in the 104 and in whatever alphas / betas exist deep in the underground bunkers of radionomy.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2015, 02:41   #7
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
whatever alphas / betas exist deep in the underground bunkers of radionomy.
Judging by the amount of communication from those bunkers, whatever is in there must be top-secret, hush-hush and of utmost importance to the security of Radionomy, and/or Belgium and probably the world.

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2015, 16:16   #8
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,577
MrSinatra, you are a stubborn 'son of a gun'. The counter arguments to your pov in post #4 above are obvious. However your approach has 'born fruit' on occasion, so I don't have to say keep it up, I know you will.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2016, 11:44   #9
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,190
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
The counter arguments to your pov in post #4 above are obvious.
no, they aren't.

anyway, the other thread relating to this bug:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=377054

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 19:36   #10
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,577
Would you keep using a recalled smartphone because your's hasn't caught fire yet? Would you keep using a recalled airbag because your's hasn't exploded yet? Would you keep eating a recalled food product because your's hasn't made you sick yet? I'm sure you can add other recall examples.

Once a vendor has announced the recall of a product, the onus IS on you to handle it in the manner that the vendor recommends. Once a faulty product is discovered, a responsible vendor SHOULD tell you what you should and shouldn't do with it.

This is only a recalled software module and it can't physically hurt you, but the obvious point is the same. If you experience bad results from using it (after you have been TOLD not to) then the fault (and responsibility) is yours, not the vendor's.

I'm confident that the Winamp developers investigated the faulty module BEFORE issuing the recall and will try to keep the underlying problem(s) from reoccurring.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump