Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2016, 22:51   #161
Lion_King
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Well still have version 5.33 and Gracenote work fine for me till today.
But and the Εvil Lyrics plug-in use FDDB and work fine.
As I see it I will not update anytime soon.
For me remain the best music player ever.Even use two instances to mix-up songs.
Lion_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 21:33   #162
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
I saw this too yesterday. Does anyone have another method/software that does the same thing? With iTunes for example when trying to update the file info it says that I have to import the songs with iTunes in order to do that (I guess from the original CD or something...?). So it can't be done when dragging a song into the file library.
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2016, 16:30   #163
Charsiupao
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
What I do these days is I insert the CD, Open WinAmp and edit CD info, then go to Windows Media Player which (surprisingly) has a very good and accurate database even for the Japanese CDs I have. I then cut and paste the CD and track data one by one to WinAmp, then rip the CD once it's done.

It's extremely tedious, but I spend far more time listening to music than ripping CDs, and so I find the process bearable. There simply isn't a player I like as much as WinAmp.

I'm not sure if WMP can actually do the ripping for me, and then I just add the tracks via WinAmp. Has anyone tried that?
Charsiupao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2016, 16:40   #164
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charsiupao View Post
...

I'm not sure if WMP can actually do the ripping for me, and then I just add the tracks via WinAmp. Has anyone tried that?
Yes, WMP can rip. I prefer to use EAC. Among other things, it lets me easily add more encoders for converting to various formats after the initial rip.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2016, 17:04   #165
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,167
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
WMP uses allmusic.com, aka Rovi. i used to use WMP to add missing tags, but it handles art poorly and i eventually just stopped using it. WMP will rip CDs, and i never liked ripping a CD with winamp. at this point tho, i stay pretty far away from WMP.

try dbpoweramp or EAC.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2016, 17:17   #166
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,336
CDex is pretty good too, more easy to configurate than EAC:

http://cdex.mu/
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 13:13   #167
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
have you read my first reply in this thread? as under the new ownership (since Winamp was sold in January instead of being completely killed off as was the alternative), we didn't know when the Gracenote access was going to be stopped (as we're not parle of any contractual agreements AOL and Gracenote had and has been reinforced, Gracenote didn't particularly care about Winamp now that the massive payments they took have ended!) so it would not be possible to provide any notice of it (especially as it wasn't clear if it was going to happen in 2014 or 2015).
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 21:05   #168
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via AIM to Dr.Flay Send a message via MSN to Dr.Flay Send a message via Yahoo to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
sahartech
to iTunes "importing" means to recode your file into an aac file in its own disguised folder system.
This is how people often accidentally duplicate everything they have.


Me, I tag all my CDs in EAC before ripping (anything less is not "exact audio"), and use MP3tag for everything else (inc. video files)
http://www.mp3tag.de/en/
Both programs show the options we should have in Winamp, eg. multiple redundant sources.
Neither of those programs will be borked due to old age or abandonment, because they both offer the original CDDB service, as well as several moden alternatives.
I can fire up a CD player from 15 years ago and it will still fetch tags from CDDB.

Winamp is the only player of its class that put its eggs in 1 tagging basket.

Mashups ? Smells like a lot of "Fishy Business" to me.
Visit my label at www.last.fm/label/Fishy+Business for musical education.
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 23:03   #169
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post
...

Winamp is the only player of its class that put its eggs in 1 tagging basket.
Yeah, that was a mistake pushed by the accountants.

Until the sale, Winamp was based in the USA and had to pay license fees that players based in other countries manage to avoid. Gracenote, in particular, charged a lot to partially compensate for revenue it couldn't get elsewhere.

After the sale (before the group was disbanded), the Winamp developers were looking into alternate free and reliable sources of metadata for tagging (with the possibility of letting users choose from among them). Until a new lead developer (familiar with the Winamp base code which, in part, is very old) is hired, progress on this and other updates will remain painfully slow.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2016, 21:56   #170
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Its power derived from audio finger printing, and this is not a common feature available for home use. Other tagging apps rely on all the tracks from the CD being present and in the correct order and often that you know the precise album name - if you mistag in the first place, then having lost the original track order, I find it difficult to recover, other than manually tagging them.
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 08:35   #171
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,167
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
gracenote does audio fingerprint, but its not the only one that does. afaik music brainz does too, and i'm sure some others.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 02:56   #172
technobabe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
While this is an old thread, it still is an issue! May I suggest a simple change that may lead to a solution? Put the URL, Port ID and path usd by the "gracenote code" into the winamp config file!

You may ask why? Well, as DrO has so kindly let us know, the "gracenote code" is inherent throughout Winamp. Right now, we're at an impasse - the people with access to the code are busy, and the users are stuck. However, if the URL info used by the "gracenote code" was made accessable to the users, an enterprising user (or group of users) could create an alternate "web widget", driven by data from an existing service... (perhaps freedb.org?) Perhaps if it is reliable enough, the source service would even accept the web widget as part of their service...

It would be a lot of dirty work, decoding the "gracenote code" protocols, but it would be at least POSSIBLE at that point. Right now, we all lose. And, I have to imagine that adding the "gracenote code" URL info the config file would be a trivial code change.

It could be done either as:
gracenote_url=cddb.cddb.com:8880/

OR

gracenote_url=cddb.cddb.com
gracenote_port=8880
gracenote_path=/

So, there is my 2 cents worth. I hope someone is still paying attention to this issue, as Winamp is QUITE irritating without this feature!

And thank you DrO for all the GREAT info you provided on this subject. It helped me a lot.
technobabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 07:50   #173
nissa23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
link not working.??

nissa23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2016, 10:35   #174
qwaesz010203
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
check out Servicing Stop as they fix anything and everything to do with cars and have a brilliant service, they pick your car up, fix it and drop it back off! Plus 50% off your service!
qwaesz010203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2016, 20:11   #175
vita
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
test coment from new user
vita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2016, 04:02   #176
Elle Hall
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Bugger looks like I'm going to have to re-install Nero for Gracenote CD lookups.

I never had a problem with the Gracenote CDDB It helped me greatly with my tagging.
Elle Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 05:28   #177
Ophelia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Problems with winamp

When I click on a song in my library on winamp, it won't play. Instead it just starts searching through the whole list of songs as if the songs aren't connected. I downloaded the songs onto my computer and linked them to my winamp; yet winamp doesn't recognize any of the songs. How do I make the songs play on my winamp? I even tried reinstalling winamp and same problem. The songs only play on winamp when I click on my folder of the songs instead of clicking in the program to play.
Ophelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 15:18   #178
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ophelia View Post
When I click on a song in my library on winamp, it won't play. Instead it just starts searching through the whole list of songs as if the songs aren't connected. I downloaded the songs onto my computer and linked them to my winamp; yet winamp doesn't recognize any of the songs. How do I make the songs play on my winamp? I even tried reinstalling winamp and same problem. The songs only play on winamp when I click on my folder of the songs instead of clicking in the program to play.
When a song is first added to the Winamp media library, the location of the song is saved along with it's filename. If the song is later moved to another location, then Winamp will not able to find it. If a song is copied to another folder and added to the library, Winamp will treat the copied song as if it were a new different song (even though both songs are actually the same).

How did you link the songs to Winamp? The songs are probably not in the same folder(s) they were in when they were first added to the Winamp media library. Right click on 1 of these songs in the library to open a context menu, then click on the "View file info..." command. Look near the top of the window that opens to see if the location (drive letter, root folder, and sub-folders) and filename for the song are correct.

If the location isn't correct, close that window, then press the "Ctrl" and "P" keys on your keyboard (at the same time) to open the Winamp Preferences window. Click on "Local Library" under the "Media Library" heading on the left side and then click on the "Watch Folders" tab on the right side. Click on the "Add folder..." button on this tab to open another window that will let you browse to and select the folder that contains some or all of your songs. If all of your songs are in sub-folders under 1 root folder, then just add the root folder. Otherwise repeat adding root and/or subfolders until all the folders containing your songs have been added to the list of watched folders.

Make sure the option "Automatically remove missing files" is checked, click to select 1 or more of the other options if you want to use any of them, and then click on the "Rescan now" button. This will remove the library records for all of the songs listed with incorrect locations and add records for all of your songs with their current locations. Close the Winamp Preferences window after the rescan is finished.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2016, 23:37   #179
Ophelia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Thank you so much, I actually got it to work. Thank you for the full detail directions it helped alot.
Ophelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2016, 00:54   #180
Radiomanyagi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks for the nice thread.
Radiomanyagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2017, 08:53   #181
kemangvillage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Thax u, my hope learn more this forum
kemangvillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2017, 09:46   #182
neda.72
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Thank goodness it was
کاشت مو در تهران
neda.72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2017, 14:30   #183
Cakeway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Yes, WMP can rip. I prefer to use EAC. Among other things, it lets me easily add more encoders for converting to various formats after the initial rip.
Cakeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 13:39   #184
phallyka
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
how to incorporate mp3tag to winamp since cddb is no longer working?


^^Goldenslot^^
phallyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2017, 09:54   #185
charbonnier
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
even forum is definitely dead...
charbonnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2017, 15:22   #186
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Not dead, but def on its last breath

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 1/5/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 07:19   #187
Mei96
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
I have the same question with you but instead of using this app I have used Google Play Music
Mei96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump