Old 30th November 2010, 22:54   #1
cedbled
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
"failed to play the requested stream"

This is with SHOUTcast radio stations.
It loads the stations very quickly, but whenever I click on one to launch the channel, I see it cycle through all available connections, and then:

"failed to play the requested stream"

Using:
Sprint LG Optimus S
Winamp 0.9.2
Stock Android 2.2; no ROMs just root access

Tried with both 3G and Wi-Fi connection; same result
any clues?
cedbled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 14:35   #2
marvin_rock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
I get the same problem
Droid 2 runing android 2.2

Uninstalled/re-installed winamp, can't access Shoutcast @ all =(
marvin_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 18:35   #3
nmoline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
I also am getting this exact same error message? Any help?
nmoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 22:58   #4
waldog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
I get the same error.

Tmobile usa
Htc hd2 running froyostone with sense 3.2

Wifi and hspda+
waldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2010, 03:52   #5
SpOuK-3-
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Same here ... got "error parsing ..."

???
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2010, 14:25   #6
l2ob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
same here.

ive been waiting for this on androd so long. i wish i could get it to work...
l2ob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 16:22   #7
dragonGOD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Same problem here, Droid X 2.2, it scans through the list of servers for a station, but never connects to any.
dragonGOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 17:16   #8
marvin_rock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
I think a more important question is, has anyone successfuly streamed shoutcast over thier phone yet? I'm still unable to do so via Winamp.
marvin_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2010, 02:33   #9
Hiway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Same issue on Samsung Galaxy Tablet.
Hiway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 03:08   #10
MrBmx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
i am pretty sure it is partially because of the stream being an AAC stream... i changed my station from mp3 to AAC and it no longer worked on my nexus one, i changed back to mp3 and it worked like a charm... just a thought

Brian
radiolongisland.com
MrBmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 05:45   #11
Hiway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Same error with your MP3 stream. I wish it had worked.
Hiway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2010, 04:26   #12
MrBmx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
it didnt work because i was in the process of switiching my shoutcast server from my machine to a dedi machine..

you should try it again it works on my nexus one again but a problem i have noticed is that it will stop playing the stream after 2 songs.... womp. but has no problem on two other stations :[


Brian
Radiolongisland.com
MrBmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2010, 18:42   #13
dragonGOD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Any update on this, or, at the very least, confirmation of the problem?
dragonGOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2010, 05:45   #14
Hiway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
I still cannot get any station to play. This includes your station MrBmx.
Hiway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2011, 03:52   #15
ebisme
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Thumbs down

I've tried and have yet to get any to work either. It seems that any stream with a numbered URL will go through all of them but never play them and give that "failed to play requested stream" error but ones with a URL that has a name title like stream.aol.com or something like that it just tries to load but goes nowhere. Apparently this is common but of the treads I have seen questioning this issue none have provided answers or been addressed by Winamp. I sure wish they would get this straight. I play internet radio on my desktop Winamp all the time and have been a Winamp faithful since the early 2000s and will not use any other player unless Winamp can't play the desired media. It was one of the first things I tried looking for when I first got my Android about 6 months ago. It wasn't available then so I was ecstatic when it finally became available because I wanted to be able to play internet radio without the limitations and commercialization of Pandora and the like. So please address/fix this Winamp!
ebisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 04:20   #16
vesty16277
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
It's not a problem with Winamp. I searched high and low for this. Finally found the fix.

- Download Root Tools from the market (you must be rooted).
- Go to Tweaks and Hacks
- Go to Build Properties
- Go to Stagefright
- Turn on Media HTTP, hit do not reboot
- Turn on Media Scan, hit do not reboot
- Turn on Media Meta, hit do not reboot
- Turn on Media Player, this time reboot the device.

Worked for me on Droid 2 both Stock and Custom Rom.

Sometimes you have to hit the stream twice to engage the active data connection.
vesty16277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 13:19   #17
Hiway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
The changes with Root Tools did not help me. This is very frustrating.
Hiway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 14:51   #18
vesty16277
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
You must be rooted. Are you?

Try many streams. I know a few are self hosted. If the host is disconnected it will not work. I haven't had an issue since fixing this. Otherwise I couldn't play anything.
vesty16277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 18:47   #19
dragonGOD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Just seems a little ridiculous that the only way to fix this is to have a rooted phone...
dragonGOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 19:06   #20
vesty16277
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
I agree. It has to do with this StageFright module they included with 2.2. There may be other info out there, but this worked for me and I am back to streaming all day without Pandora or paid service.
vesty16277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2011, 12:26   #21
Hiway
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by vesty16277 View Post
You must be rooted. Are you?

Try many streams. I know a few are self hosted. If the host is disconnected it will not work. I haven't had an issue since fixing this. Otherwise I couldn't play anything.
Yes it is rooted. I agree it should not have to be. The software needs to be fixed and I can't understand why nothing has been done.

When I tested I tried many streams and after they failed I checked them from a PC to make sure they were live.
Hiway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2011, 19:20   #22
vesty16277
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
I don't believe it is a winamp issue, rather an Android issue. It may be fixed in 2.3 if devices get that update. It could be a carrier thing where they may want to attempt to limit some data usage to ensure people don't go over the cap that some carriers issue.

Do some research on "StageFright" and you might find some answers.
vesty16277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 15:36   #23
simboo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Not even working on Android 2.3 on Galaxy S in Wifi...
simboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 17:56   #24
JChambers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Just started experiencing this problem after upgrading to Winamp 1.0. Previous versions worked fine.

Also, it only happens when I select a stream from My Favorite Stations or My Recent Stations. If I search for a stream or select from Top, Featured or Genre list it plays fine. It appears that the stream bookmark info is not properly stored or loaded on the phone.

HTC Incredible w/ Android 2.2
JChambers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 19:18   #25
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,194
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
droid X, winamp 1.01

i search for "lion" and find my stations streams (penn state) but i can't play them.
can't play other random streams either.

very disappointing.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 10:25   #26
LordMace2001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Has or will this be fixed with out rooting i am not willing to void my warranty or my TEP just to stream from winamp.

LG optimus S
android 2.2 unrooted.
LordMace2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 20:10   #27
cprice12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
I am having the same issue on my Droid2.
Shoucast doesn't play using the Winamp player on Android.

I downloaded and tried the "Tunein" app...it works great It plays Shoutcast just fine. I'll be using that until Winamp get's it's head out of it's ass and fixes this major problem that has been an issue for months now.

Winamp for life...just not on Android right now. Annoying.
cprice12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2011, 18:28   #28
Zforgetaboutit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
I also had this problem. I'm using TuneIN until this gets resolved.

I appreciate everything the devs are attempting and will be patient.
Zforgetaboutit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2011, 05:02   #29
soullesssoldier
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 32
TuneIn is the only solution right now. Winamp for android is so buggy in so many different ways it should not have even been taken out of beta stage.
soullesssoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2011, 05:35   #30
trsix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
i've been using it every day until yesterday.
something changed 8/18 or 8/19.
htc shift 2.2
trsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2011, 20:20   #31
trsix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
shoutcast working

shoutcast working again was down for 2 days but it's back!
trsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2013, 20:26   #32
spot8ball
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Try Resetting WiFi Connection...

If you are having this problem and you are connected to the Internet using WiFi, you may want to simply try resetting your connection. Turn WiFi off on your android device, then turn it back on and allow it to reconnect to Wifi.
spot8ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2017, 06:52   #33
cyrusmiley847
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Keep up the good work that is being done here!!! Latest Version Xmodgames V2.3.5
cyrusmiley847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump