Old 26th November 2013, 17:35   #161
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
5.666 build 3512 is now up,
which fixes a few reported issues...

First 2 posts updated accordingly.


@Tag
Heyhey! Likewise :-)
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 18:16   #162
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanschke View Post
much better to annouce a page if it is ready or not?
Better announcing a page, where development continues instead of discontinuing it in general, huh?

I was working nearly full time on that website and the project updates, but for some people it is not enough it seems.

Quote:
5.666 build 3512 is now up,
which fixes a few reported issues...

First 2 posts updated accordingly.
Yay, I'm glad that you fixed these outstanding bugs.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 18:34   #163
berkyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
5.666 build 3512 is now up,
which fixes a few reported issues...

First 2 posts updated accordingly.


@Tag
Heyhey! Likewise :-)
no Lite version ?
winamp5666_lite_en-us.exe
winamp5666_lite_all.exe still 3510 build
berkyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 19:10   #164
tangofan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 25
Still seeing "Windows program compatibility mode" msg

Winamp 5.666 still erroneously reports that it is running in compatibility mode, even though it is definitely not. (Windows 7 Pro, Installation with 3rd party plugins, update from Winamp 5.6).

Bernhard
P.S.: I'm really sad to see Winamp development close shop. Winamp is still my player of choice for DJing.
tangofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 19:15   #165
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
tangofan: there's the allowcompat=1 option which can be added to winamp.ini to disable it. though would have been good to post something sooner as the patched builds are now done.

berkyr: being looked into. you can always get the full installer and select 'lite' as the install type.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 19:23   #166
tangofan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
tangofan: there's the allowcompat=1 option which can be added to winamp.ini to disable it. though would have been good to post something sooner as the patched builds are now done.
I found another thread and checked the registry under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers and there was indeed the "ELEVATECREATEPROCESS" setting set for key C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\winamp.exe

So the problem is not with Winamp, but with Windows 7 in that it doesn't show that compatibility mode is active.

Bernhard
tangofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 19:26   #167
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
the issue is Winamp trying to be smart and not knowing what all the cards are as i've not seen "ELEVATECREATEPROCESS" before which is why it's happening for you. though why that'd be is weird as there shouldn't be a reason for Winamp to be elevated on startup.

either way, use the config option.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 19:44   #168
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
@berkyr
There are Lite installers for build 3512, though yes, I'm still getting 3510 as well.
It's being looked into, but it might just be a case of the files taking a bit longer to fully propagate across all servers.

[Edit > Problem has now been fixed. The Lite installers should now all be updated to 3512]

@tangofan
You can set allowcompat=1 in the [Winamp] section of %appdata%\winamp\winamp.ini to hide the message.
Though it would be nice to know what is causing it to still appear.
Could we possibly get a .reg export for this registry key?
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

[Edit > Too late, lol]
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 20:09   #169
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 503
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Yay! New version is out
Winamp is even better!
-Pawel
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 20:16   #170
tangofan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
@tangofan
You can set allowcompat=1 in the [Winamp] section of %appdata%\winamp\winamp.ini to hide the message.
Though it would be nice to know what is causing it to still appear.
Could we possibly get a .reg export for this registry key?
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

[Edit > Too late, lol]
Even, if it may be too late, I've attached the .reg export as zip file, just in case it's not.
Attached Files
File Type: zip WinampReg.zip (351 Bytes, 269 views)
tangofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 23:22   #171
Calico Jack
Junior Member
 
Calico Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Excellent build and running perfectly on my Win7 Pro & Win8 'puters.

Thanks to all of the developers of Winamp and everything else that makes it great.
Calico Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 01:01   #172
hawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
fix history bug in Chinese Version Winamp,thanks.

It can show Chinese word in 5.65,but 5.666 can't.

other problem(口口口口口口next to word in skin) can't fix,look my zip file.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bug.zip (94.0 KB, 240 views)
hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 01:20   #173
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
you'll probably just need to disable the skinned menus via preferences -> media library -> appearance.

as there's no reason for the 口口口口口口 to be there as everything should be being null terminated internally which is the only reason i can think unless it's something external messing with things (though it's been a long time since i've seen anyone even see that issue).

also please try not to include thumbs.db in zips of images (takes me back to the time of the early 2000's).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 01:48   #174
hawke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
DrO,I already to solve 口口口口problems,thanks.
(cancel Media Library same font as Playlist Editor)

when I cancel Use skinned menus,Playlist Editor skin black=>white

it's very strange,5.65 needn't disable any.
hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 06:18   #175
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
latest Builds crash when using Modern Skin. Deleting /renaming the Modern Skin folder fixes it.


Andre.Ziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 07:06   #176
foxyshadis
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The deserts of California
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to foxyshadis Send a message via Yahoo to foxyshadis
You guys are so awesome. It's like 1999 all over again!
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 20:22   #177
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 125
@Koopa

I love your work and dont want to blame you but it was an idea because I think many people want something and see that they have to wait
Hanschke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 21:57   #178
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 503
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
I love Winamp

Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 23:14   #179
xfullmetal17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Running excellent so far. Random question though... Will we still be able to use internet radio streams after the online features go dark? (I see "Shoutcast" for a lot of songs, unless that's just the default artwork if the station doesn't give any) As far as I know all those files do is just point to the stream's address, so it shouldn't go through Shoutcast or anything. (or if not, is there a plugin to catch album art if the internet radio stream is broadcasting it?)

edit: only issue is that a bottom-docked Winamp is still trying to restore straight down instead of resuming where it had been before.
xfullmetal17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2013, 23:26   #180
zepper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 105
@ xfullmetal17, Icecast should keep on working. I've still got the old ml_icecastlist.dll plugin installed and it works like a charm. It displays hundreds of stations in the Winamp library the same way Shoutcast used to years ago.
zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 01:30   #181
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,336
There is an updated Winamp-de-de.wlz attached in the first posting, which fixes drag and drop from explorer to Local media/PMP views.

My apologies for that.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 01:41   #182
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
The French & Spanish lang packs have also been updated (again) to fix drag+drop from Explorer to Library views.

WLZ files are attached to / linked in the updates section of the first post:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....373755#updates
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 03:07   #183
DJ_MELERIX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chile
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
The French & Spanish lang packs have also been updated (again) to fix drag+drop from Explorer to Library views.

WLZ files are attached to / linked in the updates section of the first post:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....373755#updates
can we have these updates inside a new build please ?

for example: Build 3513
DJ_MELERIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 03:28   #184
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
Maybe. Let's wait to see what else needs fixing first....

The Dutch, Hungarian, Italian, Indonesian, Romanian & Swedish lang packs were also affected by the "drag+drop from Explorer to ml" bug.
Those packs have also been updated and are now available to download in the first post.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 04:19   #185
Cobrawing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks for the Memories

Like millions of others, I've been using winamp since the '90's and it has been the perfect integration with a Windows PC computer. ITunes sucks. I'll continue to use the latest winamp version until it no longer functions. Then I'll use Media Monkey or something else. I can only hope to get years more use from winamp. I sure hope it goes to open source and others can continue to formally update it.

You are free to use my email information to contact me in case a new entity takes it over and starts to provide updates. I feel like I'm suddenly losing a close friend . . . and I am. AOL should be ashamed. I hope Mozilla, Google, Microsoft . . . somebody, buys this and keeps it running. Thanks for the memories and all the joy you developers provided to us over all these years. The llamas ass will rock forever!
Cobrawing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 05:42   #186
xfullmetal17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
zepper: is that plugin on the main Icecast website or do I have to go hunting for it somewhere? (never mind, think I found it, good ol' wayback machine.)

And figures, the station I want isn't there. Guess time will tell if Winamp can do .pls/.m3u files without Shoutcast. Again, I can't see why it wouldn't be able to, as all the files do is point to the stream address.
xfullmetal17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 06:48   #187
ravermeister
Senior Member
 
ravermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne
Posts: 194
Send a message via ICQ to ravermeister
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
5.666 build 3512 is now up,
which fixes a few reported issues...

First 2 posts updated accordingly.


@Tag
Heyhey! Likewise :-)
Hi thanks, but the german download link seems broken
(or are the files attached at the bottom of the post the same?)

Kind regards
Raver
ravermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 07:03   #188
xfullmetal17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
I think you should be able to download the full_multi_all installer from the first post and choose German when it asks for language.
xfullmetal17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 08:00   #189
kzuse
Senior Member
 
kzuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: (D)
Posts: 475
Send a message via ICQ to kzuse Send a message via Skype™ to kzuse
But then you don't have the updated Winamp-de-de.wlz file...

Yes indeed, the vBulletin Attachment link seems to be broken...

But maybe it will be re-packaged within a new installer, as DJ Egg mentioned above (which would be a big hope also of me )
kzuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 17:42   #190
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
can anyone else repro the crash when using the modern Skin?

German Win8 + German Winamp


Andre.Ziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2013, 19:32   #191
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
i assume you submitted a few crash reports as someone with a gen_ff loading issue with your name submitted a few a few days ago. though it didn't provide anything useful other than gen_ff freaking out. all i can suggest is a clean re-install or trying to remove studio.xnf first.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 04:08   #192
xfullmetal17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
And I found the answer to internet radio streams and ShoutCast, looks like they *can* still play even if it doesn't go through ShoutCast, and that album thing was just the default "no art" picture. Good to know. (means I can keep using Winamp for my internet radio streams. )

edit: found an obscure bug, apparently if I try to use OBS to capture Winamp's window it instead pulls the mini player with what I'm assuming is the old UI. Whatever it is, it isn't the Winamp window. I'll attach a screenshot in just a bit. (if I can convince the attachment system that my image is "valid"). Never seen that UI on my Winamp before.
I'll just put the image link here... https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/23946638/Winamp.jpg

Last edited by xfullmetal17; 29th November 2013 at 05:50.
xfullmetal17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 20:21   #193
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 125
I want this cup
Hanschke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 20:32   #194
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
all i can suggest is a clean re-install or trying to remove studio.xnf first.
I did a complete reinstall and also removing the older version and cleared the Winamp folder.

Please download the German version and try it. I want at least a relative well working version of Winamp before the website dies.


Andre.Ziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 22:14   #195
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre.Ziegler View Post
I did a complete reinstall and also removing the older version and cleared the Winamp folder.

Please download the German version and try it. I want at least a relative well working version of Winamp before the website dies.
We already did this and couldn't reproduce your issue.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 22:17   #196
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 503
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
I also checked german langpack on win8.1. works well.
-Pawel
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 22:38   #197
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,362
@DrO: Is it me or in this last release you managed to shrink a bit the right gap in ML?

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 01:50   #198
Urge
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4
I've been using Winamp for what seems like forever, and want to thank you for all the good years of listening to music. The last updates have been great. Makes me sad to think that Winamp could use a little dying now and then...

I have a small issue with the latest build though. Enqueue selection from ML doesn't enqueue the selection, but instead the entire playlist.

And another thing - not sure if this is by design or not - is creating new APEv2 tag supposed to remove an existing Lyrics3 tag? Have lost some lyrics while thoughtlessly adding replay gain without checking that the create new APEv2 tag option is deactivated first.
Urge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 08:35   #199
OlexijL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to OlexijL Send a message via Yahoo to OlexijL
Well, this is an old autoplay issue, but it should be fixed...

1. If i am making a clean install and DO NOT select "Launch Winamp for Audio CDs" while setup (running OS Win7 x64) i still can select Winamp from the autoplay menue by inserting Audio CD.

2. However by doing so, Winamp will crash, because for some reason it cannot load the media library...

3. The only way out is to launch Winamp BEFORE, and insert CD just after, so the media library is already loaded, so no crash.
OlexijL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 08:51   #200
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urge View Post
I have a small issue with the latest build though. Enqueue selection from ML doesn't enqueue the selection, but instead the entire playlist.
Check the 1st check box option on the General Preferences - Media Library - Options tab. Disable it, if enabled.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump