Old 30th June 2002, 01:06   #1
FunkDoc
Member
 
FunkDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Down the street
Posts: 65
What the FUC..........

Ok here's the situation. I bought windows XP last month or so and I've registered online a few times already. But when I went to setup XP on my father's computer I wasn't able to register. The thing is he can still use windows XP and everthing but It's still asking to be registered, I don't want to have to go out and buy another XP program but I'm also worried that if he continues to load his work onto his computer and the 30 registration expires, will he still be able to use windows or will it shut down or something? Can I turn off the registration notice if it won't shutdown windows? Can someone please help me here?
FunkDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 01:14   #2
asshole
Senior Member
 
asshole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Between the legs
Posts: 293
Re: What the FUC..........

Is that register or activate?

Who's your daddy?
asshole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 01:15   #3
FunkDoc
Member
 
FunkDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Down the street
Posts: 65
I need to activate windows on my fathers computer. My computer is working. We have 1 copy of XP and 2 computers.
FunkDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 01:42   #4
Bizznatch
Forum King
 
Bizznatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,173
Send a message via AIM to Bizznatch
Re: What the FUC..........

Quote:
Originally posted by FunkDoc
Ok here's the situation. I bought windows XP last month or so and I've registered online a few times already. But when I went to setup XP on my father's computer I wasn't able to register. The thing is he can still use windows XP and everthing but It's still asking to be registered, I don't want to have to go out and buy another XP program but I'm also worried that if he continues to load his work onto his computer and the 30 registration expires, will he still be able to use windows or will it shut down or something? Can I turn off the registration notice if it won't shutdown windows? Can someone please help me here?
This is why nobody should BUY WinXP. My g/f's Mom went out and paid $200 on the Professional version BRAND NEW. INstalled it, and WnXP said the CD Key was used on a previous installation. She called up Microsoft and they would NOT give her a new CD key, even though she had proof she bought it brand new.

P.S. Thanks to me (and #gotw**ez? ) she has WinXP now.

[edit]ban prevention cover up [/edit]
Bizznatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 02:01   #5
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
[shameless plug]Remedial measures for your situation are regularly discussed on high-quality chatrooms, like #******* on irc.****.org.[/shameless plug]

Here's an excerpt of what we talk about in that room:
Quote:
<NameWithheld> LDQTW-F7EOH-416DU-XR2PN-YRBFT
<NameWithheld> OX9U6-94VV2-DCLGM-TKV6G-FGQ16
<NameWithheld> 0G6RW-CMMM7-EQBMU-5OC3O-7DV4P
<NameWithheld> 559HM-2ZBO5-EM141-FF9S1-305JD
<NameWithheld> NPGZC-9V9DE-J2CB2-H5KIF-UTOFC
<NameWithheld> TVL6E-WIC9T-GKMZ2-RY5IL-6MJVU
<NameWithheld> XQP5D-MB18M-C6QG1-XZDKC-633GV
<NameWithheld> NQRC3-3PIT6-VND9O-41RJY-SGRUO
<NameWithheld> TC86Z-KRUDG-RR14R-9BU3R-SFJ25
<NameWithheld> JH73X-TREYT-WEG8E-XMR34-4HQAM
Disclaimer: These are fake keys. They don't work.

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 14:50   #6
asshole
Senior Member
 
asshole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Between the legs
Posts: 293
Microsoft's policy: 1 copy on 1 computer only.
You can't use activation on one computer and then use that code on another computer. You'll have to call and ask for an activation code for every different computer.

Who's your daddy?
asshole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 14:54   #7
Scar Da Kookee
[Forum Pastry]
 
Scar Da Kookee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,032
well thats M$ for ya.

Needs more moo-cows.
Scar Da Kookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 15:02   #8
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
Hence my total lack of interest in the shitty softwear, that and the fact it eats up resorces and is made by $atan$oft and.... (rants for a long time)

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 16:17   #9
Mr. 75MHz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 354
Thats Micro$oft For You
Mr. 75MHz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 16:28   #10
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
now, lets' stop the childish microsoft bashing. You can only bash microsoft if you are not using windows, ie or any other microsoft product whilst you bash.

Funkdoc, it's your fault, you should have bought (or 'bought') 2 copies, not tried to use the same one.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2002, 17:39   #11
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
1 copy per computer, simple as that. To expect to be able to still buy one copy of an os and use it on every pc in the house these days is rediculous. Dont blame microsoft, if people werent so intent on using their software illegaly they probably wouldnt bother with the whole activation thing, and the only people that have a problem with it are the people that just want something for nothing.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2002, 03:14   #12
FunkDoc
Member
 
FunkDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Down the street
Posts: 65
How do you guys figure I'm wanting something for nothing??? I friggin paid for the program. Commen sense says the houshold should be able to share the program. Give me a freakin break, am I supposed to watch a different television than my girlfriend???

No worries though my friend is hooking me up with the crack for it. I'm entitled to it seeing as how it's a legal copy
FunkDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2002, 04:20   #13
_Blackdog_
Major Dude
 
_Blackdog_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: detroit
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via AIM to _Blackdog_
what did you think the point of registering is? its so you can't use it multiple times. but if you want, give me a pm and we might be able to work something out.
_Blackdog_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2002, 12:35   #14
cmisker
Major Dude
 
cmisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Emmen, The Netherlands
Posts: 681
Send a message via ICQ to cmisker Send a message via AIM to cmisker Send a message via Yahoo to cmisker
Well, it's Microsoft's software, so they can decide how many people can use it. Ofcourse, if you bought a brand new XP and it's not working, I think you're allowed to get a crack of the internet and have it cracked, since you did officialy buy it so you're allowed to use it (and MS won't send you a new one)... but, you can't use a bought XP on 2 computers (you can use "bought" XP's though, on more computers).

Wanna see my Winamp 3?
cmisker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2002, 12:48   #15
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by FunkDoc
How do you guys figure I'm wanting something for nothing??? I friggin paid for the program. Commen sense says the houshold should be able to share the program. Give me a freakin break, am I supposed to watch a different television than my girlfriend???
Well, you basically paid for a licence to use the program on one computer. If you want to use it on more than one you can buy more licences i think. If you think thats bad then think about how buisnesses operate. If they buy 20 computers they have to buy 20 licenses for every piece of software they use.

The household may share the program, but only on one pc at a time. Think of it like a game where you must have the cd in the drive to use it.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump