Old 23rd July 2013, 23:35   #1
bjohnso5

Feasibility Check

Hey, I'm a long time Winamp user, and I'm a developer by trade (but I haven't touched C++ in years, and only then in school), but I've not attempted to write a plugin previously.

I'm posting here to get feedback regarding the feasibility of what I'd like to accomplish with a plugin, and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I've been experimenting with a Philips Hue LED starter kit, which are programmable LEDs controlled with a basic REST API. I've attempted to get a halfway decent system rigged up to make them change color in reaction to detected beat events in music, with mixed success. I had a basic HTML5 "media player" app set up, doing beat detection in javascript, but the interface is super clunky, and doesn't provide a good "party" vibe since it requires a lot of manual intervention.

I'd like to implement this functionality within winamp, as it already has excellent playlist, shuffle, visualization, etc. support.

What I've not been able to get a good handle on so far is what type of plugin this would be considered. I realize it's not a visualization, per se, but it sort of seems to be that it fits what a visualization does.

Anyways, if anyone out there can give me a few quick tips, it'd be appreciated. I have 5.55 SDK and I'm in the process of dusting off my C++ books to try to make some sense of it.

If you need any more info about what I'm planning, please let me know!
bjohnso5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 04:42   #2
thinktink
Forum King

Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohnso5 View Post
...fits what a visualization does...
I would agree. I've never done up a vis plugin but I've taken a cursory look at the API (about a year ago) and it does seem to be the most suitable for this project.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 22:49   #3
bjohnso5