Old 2nd August 2004, 20:22   #1
ziege
Senior Member
 
ziege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 363
Maki error with animatedlayers

I wrote a long script, but when testing found it gave a Guru Meditation error (Null Object Called). I've stripped it down to just these few lines and it's still giving the error, and it's probably staring me in the face but I can't see why it won't work.

PHP Code:
#include "../../../std.mi"

Global AnimatedLayer BBEAnim;

System.onScriptLoaded() { 
    
BBEAnim getContainer("manual").getLayout("normal").findObject("bbeanim");
    
BBEAnim.stop();

If I comment out the stop() bit it doesn't give the error, if I swap the stop() for *any* command with animations, it gives the error. I've checked the container/layout/group/id in the XML about 100 times and I'm sure it's fine. Have tried with 5.03 and 5.04 - what's wrong with the script!? Been messing with it for couple hours, think I'll take a break and go back to Doom3 for now =/
ziege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 20:42   #2
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
use the debugger!
compile with a bat file with the following
"C:\Program Files\Winamp\mc.exe" yourmfilehere.m /outpath test /df /d /dumpsym /pause

then check the guru errors with the debug.sym

if your having probs following the thing then look to this
http://www.stefanweb.com/wa3/guru.html
once youve got the hang of it, its by far the easiest way and better than scratching your head for hours
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 21:16   #3
ziege
Senior Member
 
ziege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 363
Wow this debugger is the coolest thing in the world.

OK it says my problem is:
PHP Code:
String |                  "This script requires "
String |         "Winamp 5.02 (skin version 1.1)"
String |                                  "Error" 
I guess I need to get an updated MC.exe...
[Edit: OK there is no other MC.exe than for 5.02 - hmmm]
ziege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 21:30   #4
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
you could post or pm the skin if you want some1 to look at it
there must be something not quite right

i take it this "bbeanim" is the correct id for your animated layer? (youve not given enuff info hence the silly question )
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 21:45   #5
ziege
Senior Member
 
ziege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 363
Ohhhhh crap

I had the container wrong, I must have copied that line from the wrong script, arghghgh how did I not see that with the amount of times I checked

I swear I'm not made for this coding lark!

Thanks for ur help

/Mental note: don't ask for help without checking it for at least 12 more hours next time

WIP: NSX-999
ziege is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump