Old 11th September 2017, 16:57   #1
yeti1069
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Adding FLAC files to my iPod (30 GB "classic")

Hi all,

I used to use Winamp to manage my iPod, but after a couple of computer changes, I went to add some songs, and was getting an error message: "Some of these tracks were of an incompatible format and will not be transferred."

Would appreciate some help getting this figured out!

I tried searching online, but most of the info is for older versions of Winamp. I tried downloading an updated Essentials, but that didn't work. Transcoding is checked "On".
yeti1069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 22:45   #2
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 480
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
What format were you transcoding to? Were the FLAC files stereo? Can you post info on one of the songs that's giving you trouble?

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 02:26   #3
yeti1069
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
.flac file
Length: 234 seconds
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 16
Sample Rate: 44100 Hz
File Size: 28408404 bytes
Average bitrate: 967 kbps
Compression Ratio: 68%

Presumably it's transcoding to mp3 (whatever an iPod uses)?
yeti1069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 02:30   #4
yeti1069
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Update:

I added a bunch of other songs, hit Sync, and managed to remove all of the music from the iPod...and now Winamp ML isn't recognizing it when it's plugged in...
yeti1069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 02:54   #5
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 480
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
well hm, you might have to reboot your computer and your ipod to see if it will detect it again. Does your computer at least recognize it?

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 13:13   #6
arturo1000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
I like flac format to listen music, sometime synchronizing with other program, this songs don´t work in ipod, because the software copy the music without trascode. So I do it before, I use other program to trascode to alac and then pass in synchronization and now it can be played.
arturo1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 03:48   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,188
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i used to use mp3, and FLAC. now i use mp3, and ALAC (in a m4a container).

u can transcode to ALAC with winamp, see the link:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=388112

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing

Last edited by MrSinatra; 14th September 2017 at 04:52.
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 04:04   #8
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 480
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Winamp shouldn't have an issue with transcoding from flac though, that's why I think there's another issue. Especially now that he can't access the ipod via winamp.

I do know that I have issues transcoding if the flac file is multi-channel, and if he's transcoding to mp3 then he will have issues with anything higher than 48khz. There's also other issues that can jump up, like if he's trying to transcode a mpeg2 Layer 3 or some other format (I also had issues with wma).

So more detail is needed to figure out the issue.

Personally speaking though, it never made sense to me to have lossless on a ipod (by just uploading the ALAC) given that the DAC on there isn't really that good, and you have limited space, but to each is their own.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 04:59   #9
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,188
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
if it were me, i would mirror my lossless with a 2nd permanent mp3 clone library of em, and use something else to manage the ipod, not winamp.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 05:10   #10
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 480
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Which is why i'm still on 5.63 w/ ml_ipod, because I haven't found any better tool to sync my 120gb classic. Honestly I have been waiting for my ipod to die to upgrade to 5.666, but the damn thing wont die haha.

On another note though I have been playing around with a portable musicbee, and it's been working great to sync my music with my flash drives. I thought about using it for my ipod but it doesn't have the options that ml_ipod has.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 05:39   #11
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,188
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
can u not manually port the dll ml_ipod file/plugin from 5.63 to 5.666?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 06:10   #12
musicf8
Senior Member
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 480
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
nah, something changed in 5.65+ where syncing with the ipod causes it to crash, even if i'm just syncing play counts or rates (and i've tried everything I could think of). 5.64 has a lot of issues so that's why I stuck with 5.63.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump