Old 2nd November 2002, 18:44   #1
CityRoamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Winamp registries in the registry

Hello....

I have a Logitech wireless keyboard (Cordless Freedom iTouch) and it has
a media button. When I click the media button it shows a list of media
players, including Winamp. But it lists winamp twice. I tried uninstalling
and reinstalling Winamp but when I uninstall there is still 1 Winamp
remaining, and then when I reinstall there are two again. Logitech told me
that there must be two Winamp regsitries in the registry and I need to
remove one of them. Where in the registry can I do this?

Thanks

EMAIL FROM LOGITECH:
Thank you for using Logitech's Electronic Technical Support. My name is Tom.
The following information addresses your original question. You may wish to
print this out and/or save this on your computer.

There must be dual entries of Winamp in the registry. When the iTouch
software installs, it scans the system registry for media players, and
includes any and all it finds in the list. The other entry will need to be
deleted. It may be best to consult Winamp to best do this. Uninstalling the
Winamp software, and then removing any and all occurrences of the word and
value for Winamp throughout the registry will probably clean it up. Once
again, it is probably best to consult Winamp on removing registry entries.
After this is complete, install the Winamp software, and then there should
only be one in the list.
CityRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2002, 19:40   #2
AjStone
Major Dude
 
AjStone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 993
Send a message via ICQ to AjStone Send a message via AIM to AjStone Send a message via Yahoo to AjStone
I could be incorrect, but I believe that Winamp doesn't create any registry values... I leave myself open for comments from more experienced tech support guys.
AjStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2002, 20:22   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
No, not as such, but it depends on whether Winamp is the default player for any file formats or not. If so, then the relevant registry entries will be created by Windows.
The only registry entries created by Winamp on installation are for the Ogg Vorbis Decoder (in_vorbis.dll), assuming you install support for it.
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Winamp\in_vorbis

What we need to know is:
1) Are you definitely only using Winamp 2.81 ?
2) Is the Winamp Agent enabled (winampa.exe)
3) Have you ever installed Winamp3 ?
4) If yes to 3, then have you uninstalled it since?
5) Have you ever installed AOL or Netscape browsers?
Older versions of Winamp come bundled with these packages, and usually get installed in a subfolder of the browser's program files dir.
eg. C:\Program Files\Netscape\Winamp
Whereas if you install Winamp separately from winamp.com
it gets installed to the default
C:\Program Files\Winamp dir.
6) Have you tried using Windows search to find multiple instances of winamp.exe ?

Answer these, and we'll take things from there . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 04:52   #4
CityRoamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Here are the answers to your questions....

1) Yes
2) No
3) Yes
4) Yes
5) No
6) Yes, no multiples found
CityRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 15:46   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Ok, I think it could be a bug in the Winamp3 uninstaller . . .
The Winamp3 executable is called studio.exe but it will also be registered as Winamp.

Did the Winamp3 uninstallation run smoothly?
Did all the associated files get removed properly?
ie. C:\Program Files\Winamp3 dir no longer exists?
ie. There is no studio.exe anywhere on your pc?

How comfortable are you with using regedit (to edit the registry)?
Have you ever edited the registry before?
Basically, using regedit is for experienced users only.
The slightest mistake can render the pc useless with no option but to reinstall Windows.

Oh, and what is your Windows OS ?



Start -> Run -> Regedit

Look for the following keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\STUDIO.EXE
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\WINAMP.EXE

Don't do anything else just yet, just tell me if these two keys exist.
Also tell me if there are any subkeys underneath STUDIO.EXE
(Studio.exe -> Shell -> Open/Play/Enqueue/etc)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 16:26   #6
CityRoamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Hi....Here are the answers to your questions.

I don't really remember if the Winamp 3 uninstallation went smoothly. I think I remember manually removing the Winamp 3 directory. There is no studio.exe on my computer as of now. I am very comfortable using regedit and do it very often. I searched for those two keys and they are both there.

Thanks...
CityRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump