Old 21st March 2003, 06:29   #1
Dazog
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 418
PUT ALL 498 bugs in THIS THREAD!

Please post all the bugs you have with 498 in here so we can sort through em and post them on Bugzilla and let you know the situation on the bug....

Thanx



FIXED Problems.. since 497

Release Notes:
- Fixed Bug #2483: Monitor Aspect Ratio "Other" Crash
- Fixed Bug #1566: Removing currently playing song stops PL
- Fixed Bug #1068: Playlist name saved clicking white space
- Fixed Bug #629: Dietecting Read-Only Winamp folder (XP/2K Admin Install)
- Fixed Bug #479: PL queuing oddities
- No more damn waveOut script errors
- The return of Internationalization
For better or worse. Appears to cause less problems, sill experimental though.
- Other unknown thingies

KNOWN BUGS in 498

- Issue: Eject (Open Files) button does not function.
- Issue: Delayed load time, last play list memory.

Taken from

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....7254#internals
Dazog is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 06:45   #2
vinnie97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to vinnie97 Send a message via AIM to vinnie97 Send a message via Yahoo to vinnie97
Some preferences won't save until resetting the option twice (in particular, "All windows always on top.")

Last edited by vinnie97; 21st March 2003 at 07:19.
vinnie97 is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 07:02   #3
QH0BBES
Banned
 
QH0BBES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ Posts: 1039
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to QH0BBES Send a message via Yahoo to QH0BBES
keyboard shortcuts seems to be broken, seems to have some problems sorting by abc order, putting M as artist displays artist as My Documents
QH0BBES is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 07:40   #4
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Wildrose-Wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 6,132
I am having trouble playing NSV files, it will play the audio, but not the video.

Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 08:05   #5
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Wildrose-Wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 6,132
no stream, I have some VHS tapes I converted to NSV files. I believe VP3 is used for the video in these files.

Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 08:49   #6
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Is it just me or is <bitmap id="studio.basetexture" file="blah"/> b0rked? I know that there is an <elementalias...> but it doesn't appear to be working.
Drunken Master is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 09:03   #7
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
-certain skins do not show the loaded playlist sidecar.
-loaded playlist do not save, a way around it is to create a new playlist and then add the saved playlist to the newly created playlist

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 11:58   #8
OCedHrt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 39
The device under directshow shows up blank. That seems to be a known issue but it works fine in all previous builds. Its not just the eject, all open related buttons/menu options don't work for me. But for most people it seems to work just fine (I uninstalled winamp3, deleted the wasabi folder, and deleted the winamp3 folder udner Application Data as well, still doesn't work for me =/) And it says internationalization is back, where is it?
OCedHrt is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 12:20   #9
vinnie97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to vinnie97 Send a message via AIM to vinnie97 Send a message via Yahoo to vinnie97
Quote:
Its not just the eject, all open related buttons/menu options don't work for me. But for most people it seems to work just fine (I uninstalled winamp3, deleted the wasabi folder, and deleted the winamp3 folder udner Application Data as well, still doesn't work for me =/)
I can confirm this as well...quite annoying.
vinnie97 is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 12:20   #10
-[WonderBlood]-
Major Dude
 
-[WonderBlood]-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 655
Send a message via ICQ to -[WonderBlood]-
Media Library:
- Click "All Media" and you get 2 Reset Buttons
- I miss the Add to DB Button
EQ:
- Still appears in the left corner of the screen

I've waited so long for this build, but I don't like it

Sorry for my really bad english
-[WonderBlood]- is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 15:41   #11
VooDoo`
Major Dude
 
VooDoo`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany >> Sax >> Leipzig
Posts: 626
Send a message via ICQ to VooDoo` Send a message via AIM to VooDoo`
yeah... again the crossfade bug
on press next or prev (crossfader is OFF) it takes 1-2 sec. and then wa3 changes the song

o_0
VooDoo` is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 16:09   #12
cybaix
Senior Member
 
cybaix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Uranus
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to cybaix Send a message via AIM to cybaix Send a message via Yahoo to cybaix
Clean install.. Program wont open at all, application error on startup.
cybaix is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 17:59   #13
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally posted by sanosuke
-certain skins do not show the loaded playlist sidecar.
-loaded playlist do not save, a way around it is to create a new playlist and then add the saved playlist to the newly created playlist
This is one of my problems too.

And, components like the Classic Vis and RM-X don't seem to work with this either.


Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 18:30   #14
ArbytheGreat
Member
 
ArbytheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to ArbytheGreat
How the heck do you add stuff to the media library now?
ArbytheGreat is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 18:39   #15
-[WonderBlood]-
Major Dude
 
-[WonderBlood]-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 655
Send a message via ICQ to -[WonderBlood]-
Playlist Editor: Rightclick -> Add directory / Add Files

Sorry for my really bad english
-[WonderBlood]- is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 19:15   #16
daven
Senior Member
 
daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to daven Send a message via Yahoo to daven
BUG: pressing the left and right keys when WinAmp has focus does not skip forward/back in music. Pressing up and down does not fade volume up/down. Ctrl+P does work tho, so its not all key presses... somin 2 do wiv the locales?
GREAT beta otherwise tho. i LOVE it!
thaaaaaaaaaankyou nullsoft!!!!!

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.
daven is offline  
Old 21st March 2003, 22:09   #17
daven
Senior Member
 
daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to daven Send a message via Yahoo to daven
BUG (another): While a song is playing, deleteing another song out of the playlist will enque the presently playing song (i.e. put a little '1' next to it). BUT if another song is already queued, then the presently playing song does not become queued.
Does that make sense? hope so!
Thanx for a great winamp nullsoft!!!

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.
daven is offline  
Old 22nd March 2003, 10:19   #18
daven
Senior Member
 
daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to daven Send a message via Yahoo to daven
BUG (sorry another...): In Windows 2003 (and I think XP, but I will check this soon) if you open the playlist editor, and in the loaded playlists sidecar, you use the buttons at the bottom and you click playlist>load playlist and select a playlist it loads fine. If you then click the same playlist button>load playlist then the playlist you next open REPLACES the existing playlist, instead of creating a list of playlists. HOWEVER, if you load the playlists by right clicking in the playlist editor, and selecting Load Playlist(s) then they load fine, creating a list of playlists to choose from. I'm fairly certain this bug has been introduced in 498.
Also, the way the playlists are changed displayed seems to have been changed. (Still in the loaded playlists sidecar) when you click a playlist title it selects the WHOLE of the sidecar, instead of that playlists title. This makes it slightly difficult/confusing to see which playlist you are changing, especially if you want to rename it or sumthing.
Hope this helps,
Dave

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.
daven is offline  
Old 23rd March 2003, 17:12   #19
Cannibal_Baldy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Unhappy Weirdest Bug ever in 498

The player itself works fine for me, its what it did to my comp. Right after I installed Winamp3 #498, all the programs that could connect to the internet before (IE, Mozilla 1.3, Norton Liveupdate, etc.) could only connect EXTREAMELY slowly, and timeouts were commun.

After several reboots, I figured that it was just something wrong with my comp so I reformated and reinstalled the latest drivers, versions of programs, etc. My internet connection was perfect until I installed #498 (BTW, I only installed wasabi and the audio filetypes, no video or visualization stuff). The same problem came back (connection slow, weird)After uninstalling it, my connection is perfect again.

Weird huh?

My specs are:
WinXP SP1 (with the firewall disabled)
Zonealarm Pro v3.7.143
Norton AntiVirus 2003
Asus P4PE motherboard
1.8Ghz P4 Northwood
Integrated Broadcom BCM440x Ethernet Adapter
48x24x48 Lite-On CDRW
Creative Audigy

I connect through DSL

Hope this helps I'm gonna go back to #488
Cannibal_Baldy is offline  
Old 24th March 2003, 03:39   #20
Jaxon
Junior Member
 
Jaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 49
Send a message via ICQ to Jaxon
RE: Playlist Sort Order

It seems that when sorting by name, capital letters and lowercase letters are sorted seperately, leaving all files with beginning with lowercase display names at he end of your list.
Jaxon is offline  
Old 28th March 2003, 12:19   #21
Andry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to Andry
Well my winamp 3 goes EXTREMELY slow and u can;t tell me this:

Winamp 3 is too slow?
Winamp3 is A LOT more powerful then Winamp2, so yes it will take more system resources. Also, yes Winamp3 may not work on some of the older systems that Winamp2 works on, but nobody is forcing you to upgrade to Winamp3. Winamp2 will still be available. Remember when Winamp 2.0 first came out it took a lot more resources on the systems of the day. Unfortunately you cannot make a Next Generation software product without raising system requirements.

On a Pentium 4 2.66Ghz, 1GB RIMM memory, Mp3'z on a seperate 320Gb RAID1 drive.

Winamp doesn't go slow all the time if i just start it in Windows XP and runs normal... After logging out (switching user) and returning later to my computer (usually 12 hours later or something) winamp goes extremely show the music keeps playing but u have to wait like a minute for selecting a song in the playlist or waiting for the equaliser to respond. And it stays slow.

Restarting winamp helps.
Andry is offline  
Old 28th March 2003, 12:42   #22
daven
Senior Member
 
daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to daven Send a message via Yahoo to daven
sounds like a memory leak somewhere?
daven is offline  
Old 28th March 2003, 20:37   #23
ctkatz8086
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: louisville, ky home of the CARDINALS
Posts: 401
Angry

Quote:
Originally posted by cybaix
Clean install.. Program wont open at all, application error on startup.
ibid

ctkatz8086 is offline  
Old 3rd April 2003, 07:01   #24
djhighlander
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: canada
Posts: 41
Wink build 499 or 500

i know i'm in the wrong threat but i wished brennan would release his much greater 499 build. 498 is great. the only important things missing is speed/resources and shortcut keys.

I hope some updates will come soon.
djhighlander is offline  
Old 1st May 2003, 01:49   #25
Janus
Member
 
Janus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 76
Send a message via ICQ to Janus Send a message via AIM to Janus Send a message via Yahoo to Janus
It takes a long time for track information to be loaded for files added to the playlist.

Ogg Vorbis files do not display any information when you pick 'view file info'.

Playlist editor windowshade mode is STILL missing the ability to modify its opacity (ctrl-right click does not open the usual menu, and there is no plus button to get to the little menu like all other windows have) - this particular one irks me This bug is also in the public build on the website.

Playback volume in DirectSound randomly gets set to near-zero even while the volume slider is at 100%. Tapping the volume slider resets volume to normal. (This usually happens when the playing song ends, and the next song on the playlist is in a different folder). This bug is also in the public build on the website. This bug is VERY easy to reproduce and happens very often. I have experienced it in numerous versions of Winamp3 with various driver versions and configurations. I reported this bug before, and Peter eventually gave up on fixing it because he couldn't figure out what caused it. (It is in the DirectSound component though; he figured out that much)

No output devices are listed in the DirectSound configuration screen.

Switching between sections in the Preferences window literally takes *seconds* of waiting, and Winamp3 freezes while switching. The amount of time depends on the complexity of the screen, which tells me something got changed in Wasabi to make window initialization VERY slow.

Opening the preferences window freezes WA3 for around 1 second.

The 'all windows always on top' option does not work.

Last edited by Janus; 1st May 2003 at 02:05.
Janus is offline  
Old 4th May 2003, 19:12   #26
eagle00789
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
I just get a lot of errors when trying to start #498. they all have to do smething with an entrypoint not found in common.dll
eagle00789 is offline  
Old 4th May 2003, 21:58   #27
eagle00789
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
i'm sorry to say this, but i ALWAYS uninstall older versions before installing a new one. except when the installation i have is especialy made for an update. then i leave the old version intact
eagle00789 is offline  
Old 5th May 2003, 02:56   #28
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
1)uninstall old version
2)delete wasabi folder in program files
3)install new version

try that.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 5th May 2003, 16:24   #29
eagle00789
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
i just did that and still get the same results
eagle00789 is offline  
Old 6th May 2003, 08:56   #30
civil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
To eagle00789:
After uninstall you must do next:
Use Jv16 Power Tools (or Regcleaner)-search register for "winamp"
and delete all finding keys (its will be about 300).Then install new
version.
Have fun!!!
civil is offline  
Old 6th May 2003, 09:00   #31
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
yeah but what does those registry key have to do with winamp working properly?

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 6th May 2003, 15:37   #32
civil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
I'm waiting reply's eagle00789...
civil is offline  
Old 6th May 2003, 16:38   #33
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
What happens if you've also got Winamp 2.91 installed, and Winamp3 build #488, but you installed #498 into its own new dir (like me)?
You still gonna delete all reg keys relating to Winamp?
I don't think so . . .

As long as the dev build is freshly installed in a new dir, then there shouldn't be any problems. If you've installed a previous dev build with multi-user support, you also need to delete the contents of the "C:\Documents and Settings\(username)\Application Data\Winamp3" dir first (where studio.xnf and the db are stored).

@eagle00789
what's your sys specs?
(mobo, cpu, ram, sound, video, window os, directx, etc)
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 11th May 2003, 18:05   #34
kimahri
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1
Stressed letters

Winamp 3 does not support reading and displaying stressed letters "àèìòù". If I try to open a song named "Filè.mp3", Winamp does not read the file. I must open it from Open menu or add it to a playlist.
kimahri is offline  
Old 12th May 2003, 04:52   #35
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
it is a know bug...requires internelisation

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 16th May 2003, 10:04   #36
trapdoor
Junior Member
 
trapdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10
Very Very unusual.

After ripping the same song over and over, i found a very unusual problem. I can't even begin to explain why so here's how I create it.
First I have a folder with mp3's in it. Yeah basic so far. Well If I have this exact folder/file setup....

G:\aspi - 192 - normalized\Relient K\The Anatomy of the Tongue In Cheek\Relient K - The Anatomy of the Tongue In Cheek - 03 - Sadie Hawkins Dance.mp3

The song plays at a lower volume than other songs, I tried renaming the file... Back to normal volume. Same with placing it in another folder. There are maybe 3 or 4 other songs that do that too. Now is this a bug or an unfinished feature? (like file specific volume control?)

I'm trying to have all my mp3's the same volume so I don't really want this happening.

Any ideas? Sure I can rename the problem files but is there a proper way?

Thanks
trapdoor is offline  
Old 16th May 2003, 10:17   #37
trapdoor
Junior Member
 
trapdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10
Open Playlists are not remembered next startup.

Well for the longest time I wouldn't use ID tags because Build #488 didn't allow for custom titles. and I wouldn't use #498 because it didn't remember what playlists I had loaded the last session.

Well I edited wasabi.ini and made
MultiUser=false
. After that, I needed to edit the studio.xnf file and add the playlists manually. It would remember if i made changes to the playlists but remember if i added any new ones. ONly if i added it manually.
trapdoor is offline  
Old 13th June 2003, 03:22   #38
Orlphar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Orlphar Send a message via AIM to Orlphar Send a message via Yahoo to Orlphar
I get the playlist not loading problem. I also get another problem on winamp startup, having to do with the playlist. I use daemon tools so that I can have two virtual CD drives going (if you've never heard of a virtual CD drive before, it's an emulated drive that acts as if an image file on your hard drive is actually a CD drive, which is usefull if you want to avoid CD switching to play various games, or if you want fast access to the data without having to wait for the CD to spin up). The thing is, neither of my virtual CD drives contain an audio image, but winamp loads both of them as a playlist anyways. It also opens the CDDB window (only to tell me that CDDB is not installed). You can get daemon tools to test this out yourself at http://www.daemon-tools.com. This issue doesn't occur with Nero's image drive, so it could be a bug unique to daemon tools, but Windows doesn't tell me that they are audio CDs, so there should be a way for winamp to figure that out as well. Note: I also have winamp set to not play audio cds, so even if there is no way for winamp to figure out that the cd isn't an audio cd, it shouldn't be loading them anyways.

Another thing: If you delete a file from the playlist that occurs before the currently playing file, the currently playing file will become enqueued. If you delete a file from the playlist that occurs AFTER the currently playing file, then the box surrounding the playing file will move to the song right before and that song will also be enqueued. Some sort of check must have been removed (or accidently circumvented), because from the looks of it, winamp is just acting the exact same way for any file being deleted, whether it is before or after it, when it should be playing song n-1 when a file x x<n is deleted, and continue playing song n when a file x x>n is deleted (where n and x are the song numbers on the playlist).

Edit: Also, the tooltip when you hold your mouse over the system tray icon no longer shows the song name like it used to, it only shows the song number, the length, and its status (ie: 150. (5:07) (playing)).
Orlphar is offline  
Old 15th June 2003, 16:23   #39
juank2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Angry Music skip (jump) during playback

Hello,

I'm running a 2.6Ghz, 512Mb, XP-Pro system & Winamp 3.0d (build #288) and have a large playlist which I usually load as my default. It's mainly MP3's, but there are a handful of WMA's on that playlist as well.

Problem is, Winamp tends to skip songs intermittently during playback. In other words, when a song is playing, it will do fine and then for no reason it will jump to about 3-5 seconds ahead in the same song, then it will keep playing like if the skip was part of the song itself. I used to think that perhaps the MP3 song being played was bad (ie: from a sratched CD), but it did it even for newly-ripped songs from my CD collection, so to test it, whenever it did it, I started using the playback slider to go back 10-15 seconds or so just to make sure.... Surprise, surprise, it DIDN'T skip the 2nd time around. Again, I am not playing CD's (so it's not a scratched song), but am playing an MP3 copy of the songs. If I play the same song again, it won't skip, but 2 or 3 songs later Winamp will skip again... Each time it skips it jumps about 3-5 seconds ahead on the same song and keeps playing like nothing.

I did a search on the forums, but didn't find anything... I'm not reminiscing or anything, but dont' remember having that problem with Winamp 2. Don't get me wrong, I like Winamp 3, but think that something in the way it plays large playlists may cause it to skip intermittently. Then again, my playlists weren't so large back then either...

Has this been reported? Is there a update/upgrade/add-in that will fix it? Thanks in advance,



Juan
juank2 is offline  
Old 16th June 2003, 21:37   #40
Andreas E.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 135
SORTING BUG

... that still persists in 498.

(BTW the thread title makes a really good pun! LOL! )

That is a bug.

If playlist is sorted by LENGTH, the length of the playlist items is either dragged away or not displayed.
(I don't know, I just don't see it anymore).

By magical powers, length reappears if playlist is re-sorted by name.

-ae-
Andreas E. is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump