Old 3rd May 2003, 17:36   #1
bradco

User's Guide

I'm brand new to WinAmp, and came over from MediaPlayer not too long ago, where I was a light user. I know WinAmp is better in many ways. However, if someone is new to a web-based media player, I don't see where to get some basic guidance in using the thing !!

This site tells me to look up in the FAQ's and in previous posts. Still, I would think that a beginner's "User's Guide" would be a prominent link on the Win Amp homepage.

Up to this point, I know how to find, bookmark and listen to an internet radio station. But, this morning, I popped in an audio CD and tried to figure out how to play it in WinAmp. I spent a lot of time trying to get it to play, and just couldn't figure out. What's more, where to find a basic user's guide by searching Google or by searching this site ?

Would appreciate a referral or link to a basic guide that explains not only the buttons, but the concepts: This is for a user that has previously played music on a standard stereo. So, what is a playlist ? How does one work with it ? How do you play an audio CD ? Never, mind downloading or burning CD's, just basic operations and concepts. Thank you.
Old 3rd May 2003, 17:57   #2
m0e
This Space For Rent
(Major Dude)

Send a message via ICQ to m0e Send a message via AIM to m0e Send a message via Yahoo to m0e
There is no comprehensive "user's guide" for Winamp. The forum mods (a completely volunteer job) have done a very good job compileing(?) the FAQ's and if you read through them you will find the answers or links to the answers to most of your questions.Although the forums are provided by Nullsoft/AOL for the most part they are maintained by a community of end user's such as yourself

[edit]Here is a link to the official Winamp3 FAQ. The FAQ on the page you got to here from also covers a number of issues and provides links for problems not addressed in the official FAQ.[/edit]
Old 3rd May 2003, 19:26   #3
nierke