Old 19th January 2007, 05:43   #1
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
Dark side of the moon

More fooling around in Milkdrop

Someone asked me if I could do a Pink Floyd "Dark side of the moon"-thing, and these are some of the results. So far. I've been working quite a lot on these, not perfect nor cleaned up the code completely. It's not much though. Anyway, I think it turned out OK-ish.

Plus some variations and a couple of other beginner presets :P

Modifications welcome. Please post them, it'd be cool to see.
Attached Files
File Type: rar raron2.rar (8.3 KB, 429 views)

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 10:43   #2
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Awsome, good both conceptually and in exicution. Me and Eo.S. made some presets titled 'dark side of the moon' also a LONG time ago, but we just named them that because that was what was playing.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 13:17   #3
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
Ok, cool!

Thanks btw!

Made some improvements (I hope). I discovered opacity + a couple of other tweaks. Not much really. Hope it's easier on the eye now.

Still messing with Milkdrop 1.04 btw.. haven't gotten around to figure out why I didnt get the beta installed. Probably not hard to figure out, just me beeing busy(lazy).
Attached Files
File Type: rar raron - dark side of the moon 2.rar (6.2 KB, 394 views)

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 13:31   #4
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
Seems I messed up a tiny bit in the spinning versions of it.. should have the beams starting about 0.01-0.02 distance units further from the center.. so they don't begin/end inside the inner triangle, or outside the outer. Not by much but annoying anyway.

There's something mysterious going on with the rotations, causing the beams to not be exactly in the same relative position (with regard to the triangle) through a full circle. Ben puzzled by that since the beginning. Still working on that...

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2007, 15:36   #5
ORB 13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 79
Those types of errors are usually caused by the resolution of the screen. Since X and Y are scaled differently things don’t match up.

Try this q3 = meshx / meshy
Then multiply the y component of the waveform by q3.
ORB 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 00:00   #6
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
ORB 13:

Thanks for the suggestion. I haven't gotten around to test it yet, but I doubt that is it. Ordinary mesh would be 32/24, and the error is not that great. It's as if the triangles have a different rotation center than the rays.

Another thing I noticed while I made it (I have to test this more..things take time..) is that the triangles (custom shapes) rotated in the opposite direction than the rays, given the same rotation variables. This shouldn't be a problem though, if the centers are the same. Which they are..I think. Or it could be I'm missing something in geometry..

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 13:05   #7
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
ORB 13:

You were correct! Thanks for the help!

Posting the last "dark side"-variations. Modified them a bit too, now includes the ray inside the triangle.

I think I consider them pretty much done by now.. though you never know..

Feel free to modify them, if you come up with something cool please post.
Attached Files
File Type: rar raron - dark side of the moon.rar (11.0 KB, 374 views)

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 20:45   #8
redi jedi
Will code for food
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: orlando
Posts: 521
All you should have to do with the beta is put the .dll in your winamp/plugins directory and there should be an extra option in the plugin selection screen

Blah!
redi jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2007, 03:27   #9
raron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 34
Thanks!

I got it to work now. The problem was easy to solve: The downloaded file had a .exe extension when saved to my harddrive, even though the link in my browser (Opera) said .dll. I just renamed it.

And finally a google with dark background!!

You watched it. You can't unwatch it!
raron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop > MilkDrop Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump