Old 7th October 2006, 18:06   #1
3ngel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
[FEAUTURE REQ] Transcoding by external program

Hi,
first much compliments for the plugin.
It works well.
A thing i think it would be essential, would be the possibility to transcode using an external program like the free version of NeroDigitalAudio encoder neroAacEnc.exe
It would be good to set a "Custom Encoder", put the path of the encoder with the options and when "Send to Ipod" it opens the DOS shell, encode in a temp dir, then send to ipod. All in one.
I think it would be great.
Thanks.
3ngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2006, 21:18   #2
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Where can I get one of these programs, for testing?
Is it possible to encode into MP3 with it? With a given bitrate? Or only AAC, as the name implies?
Are there any other free commandline transcoders available?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2006, 21:44   #3
3ngel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
The encoder is free, is only AAC, is commandline and you can get it here:
http://ww2.nero.com/nerodigital/enu/down-ndaudio.php
3ngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2006, 22:18   #4
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
"The Encoder expects .WAV files in PCM wave format as input and provides .MP4 in MPEG-4/3GPP file format as output" (from the website)

Well, usually you will not have .WAV files on your HD, right?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2006, 22:51   #5
3ngel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
The point in using the nero encoder is that the encoding quality is the best among other encoders.
And in the case whatever file i have, i convert to wav and the to aac and then to ipod. So it would be one less passage doing the
wav->aac->ipod in one pass. It would be great if i could do anything->wav->aac->ipod in winamp, but i would be good even only for the above
3ngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump