Old 20th May 2005, 16:41   #81
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
If you uncheck the eMusic button on the Full + eMusic installer, you have the full install right there.

Same goes for eMusic and Hawthorne on that bundle.

More info here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=199851#guide

For the more visually-oriented: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....22#post1661322
jmatthews112 is offline  
Old 20th May 2005, 16:42   #82
wanderer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....25#post1674725 should answer that. if you want a full version then just uncheck the emusic bundle option.

the emusic bundle is some sort of free mp3 download thing or something, i always uncheck it so i don't know exactly what it is, someone else may be able to give you more information
 
Old 20th May 2005, 16:45   #83
Mooselips87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 9
cheers, done and dusted
Mooselips87 is offline  
Old 20th May 2005, 16:53   #84
Mooselips87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 9
just hope i dont get anymore of the same problems as with 5.09
_ _
\\//
,, \\ ,,
.\_/||\_/.
//\\@@//\\
|/ /|~~|\ \|
## \____/ ##
'' / || \ ''
\-||-/
.##||##.
Mooselips87 is offline  
Old 20th May 2005, 20:26   #85
Wooden
Junior Member
 
Wooden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by Wooden
What is Ctrl-B supposed to do exactly?
Isn't it just end of list?
With winamp 5.091,
when repeating is Off
when i press Ctrl-B, it changes the song but then when i hit B or the next song button, it just doesn't work.
Is it what Ctrl-B is supposed to do? lock the song in repeating off mode, because when repeating is 'all' or 'track', hitting ctrl-B just change the song and the next (>) button and B still work
If it's not a feature and that no one can reproduces, i'll try a clean install

edit: also, when after pressing Ctrl-B in repeating off mode (when it's locked) at the end of the song it stops playing and doesn't plays an other song, it's not the end of the playlist song tho.
Well, no one replied yet, and i just tested with the official 5.091 build and it just does the same.
Feature or not?
Wooden is offline  
Old 20th May 2005, 21:59   #86
reidy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london
Posts: 11
all very well but as soon as i d/l the newest version I lost my left speaker and bass box and no one has contacted me for info or advice since placing a problem post 6 hours ago....................................
reidy is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 01:59   #87
Viper6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Anyone else experiencing a really slow load time when winamp is first opened?

It takes about 6 seconds to open, and I have a FAST processor (FX-55).

I just downloaded the latest version (5.091) and even unchecked "AOL Videos" option but it's really slow to load...
Viper6 is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 02:02   #88
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
@Viper6

Are you using any third-party plugins?

Would you please post a HijackThis log?
jmatthews112 is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 06:28   #89
Viper6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Nope no plugins default modern skin no modifications at all...

And my PC is free from Spyware :O
Viper6 is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 10:52   #90
Viper6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Seems i'm not the only one with the problem...

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum...336375&p=5#r87
Viper6 is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 14:50   #91
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
are you running 5.091 using Windows XP Professional X64 Edition by chance? That might account for your slow startup problem. You need to make sure that the winamp program folder in C:\Program Files isn't read-only .. it may not be the cause in this instance but ya never know.
STanger is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 18:05   #92
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Anybody experiencing slow load time should read this recent post, as well as mrps2man's response and my subsequent reply. You may find it helpful.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 21st May 2005, 21:48   #93
dwarfy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Hi (and sorry for my english),

I've never had any problem with any winamp except this release.

I've tried the three (I think they were three no ? First build, second after the retirement and now the one we could direct download from the homepage) builds.

Everytime the same: I could seek forward, but could'nt go backward.

Sometime player become crazy (and no sound) with the seek slider moving alone. Nothing is possible except kill the task.

Sometime Winamp simply crash (the "topbar" take my xp skin) and I must kill the task.

On my two other computer, I don't have this problem.

I've a completly clean computer (and as I said never had any problem with previous builds, actualy 5.09), if any details are needed, please ask.


EDIT: oups, sorry, i'll post that into bug report section.

Edit --> DJ Egg]
No, you won't, heh. I've split your (cross)post from the Bug Reports sticky, and moved it to Tech Support here
dwarfy is offline  
Old 22nd May 2005, 16:50   #94
cyu
Major Dude
 
cyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: in front of my pc
Posts: 1,617
Send a message via AIM to cyu Send a message via Yahoo to cyu
Fileforum also has downloads now.
Winamp 5.091 Full Final
Winamp Lite 5.091
cyu is offline  
Old 22nd May 2005, 17:23   #95
Kado
Member
 
Kado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 99
Winamp 5.x is bloated?!

Sincerely I still don't get it... Where is the part that those guys at fileforum don't get in the installer that allows you to select only the things that you want to install? Just un-check what you don't want or install the lite version of Winamp v5.x.

Kado is offline  
Old 22nd May 2005, 17:48   #96
cyu
Major Dude
 
cyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: in front of my pc
Posts: 1,617
Send a message via AIM to cyu Send a message via Yahoo to cyu
A lot of open-ended users use winamp, and they skim right past the installation without touching anything.
cyu is offline  
Old 22nd May 2005, 23:46   #97
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
well instead of complaining about fileforum's incessant whining and misinformation why don't we go over there and inform the masses
STanger is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 02:49   #98
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Nice.

Thanks to all those responsible (after all my complaining with 5.090). 5.091 kicks the llama's ass. Great work, guys

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 14:34   #99
onestar
Junior Member
 
onestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
What I'd like to know is why Winamp is "phoning home" whenever I exit the program?

I've set the player up so that it's not connected to the Internet, not to look for updates, and not to report statistics back, but ever since I've upgraded to 5.091, whenever I close Winamp, my firewall pops up and says that Winamp is trying to connect to 205.188.244.138 on port 80.

What the hell, guys? What gives? Got some secret little "phone home" dll running in the background?

I don't like this. I'm very concerned about privacy...I've used Winamp for years, and have never seen this.

Unless this is addresses, I'm gonna have to look for a different music player...
onestar is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:24   #100
Kieran Walker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 155
Onestar, did you even bother reading this thread, or any of the threads on Winamp 5.09 at all?

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
- Update: Online Media tree is now dynamic (Checking can now be disabled)

And just a reminder... if you DO uncheck that option, then you will be stuck with the same 5 Online Media views forever... ie. no live feeds etc for you.

Also note that the check is now done on Winamp exit, and not at startup like it was in 5.09 :-)
Honestly, I really don't understand you "ZOMG COMPLET & UDER PRIVAYC" types. One program has to access the internet for ANYTHING and you totally flip out.
Kieran Walker is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:37   #101
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,845
I'm sure this has already been mentioned a few times, but here it is again :/

Winamp > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Media Library > Online Media tab:
Modify Preferences button > Uncheck "Look for new Online Media Channels on exit"

Note, unchecking that option will mean that only the current 5 Online Media views are always displayed, and you'll NEVER receive any updated channels (no live feeds etc for you).

[Edit]

Grr, damn crosspost
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:40   #102
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
aaaah...

I'm experiencing crashes every now and then when selecting a new internet radio stream from within the media library. Doubleclicking on a stream results in Winamp just disappearing... Never seen it happen before.

anyone else having problems with internet radio?

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:47   #103
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,845
No such problems here dude.
Maybe try Tech Support instead?
(including all relevant sys specs, HJT log & list of ANY extra 3rd-party plugins).

Note, that if your previous build was 5.09, then we recommend a clean install, as opposed to upgrading (due to potential .ini file conflicts).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:49   #104
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
hmmm... that's a good idea. Actually, this install was 5.08e... then came 5.09 over the top... then 5.08e back over the top again. Will try a clean install.

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 15:51   #105
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,845
By the way, has anyone noticed that the Online Media views now load a lot faster in 5.091?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 16:02   #106
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
okies, reinstalled. still got the same problem... ^o)

pretty weird... but not a big problem.

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 19:21   #107
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
By the way, has anyone noticed that the Online Media views now load a lot faster in 5.091?

sure do .. everytime I blink I miss it ..it's that quick for me at least
STanger is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 04:52   #108
babaoriley83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Anybody experiencing slow load time should read this recent post, as well as mrps2man's response and my subsequent reply. You may find it helpful.
I've had problems with load times of over 30 seconds with winamp 5.09. After disabling the media library loading at startup, this 30 delay happened only when opening the library for the first time. I still had the same problem with 5.091. I searched around online (sorry forget where i found it) and found it was related to PXSDKPLS.dll (primosdk.DLL in 5.09). If i remeber, the file is related to burning cd's and accesses gen_ml.dll improperly. I deleted this dll because i don't use winamp for burning cd's and now the loading time is practically nothing.

Motherboard: Abit KR7A
CPU: Athlon XP 2000
CD-RW: SONY CD-RW CRX175E2
DVD-ROM: LITEON DVD-ROM LTD163D
babaoriley83 is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 05:15   #109
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
should I consider myself lucky not to have any startup problems?
STanger is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 06:36   #110
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
@ STanger...

Maybe you are lucky. Maybe you're not. I dunno. But I certainly don't have any startup problems.

@ babaoriley83...

When you quoted me above, you evidently did not also continue on to read my subsequent reply in that thread to mrps2man, where I indicated that I also uncheck Sonic Ripping/Burning support in the Winamp installer options. And if you followed the other link I provided in step #3 in my initial post, you would have read the recommendations by both me and DJ Egg in the other thread I linked to, and have also seen that the Sonic CD Burning/Ripping Engine was one of the optional components that we both recommended not to install.

Screenshot...



PXSDKPLS.dll is included with Sonic Ripping/Burning support, and I and others always UNcheck that option when installing. It can indeed slow things down. Unchecking it is fine because you can STILL use Winamp's CD Ripper if you uncheck that feature and use wnaspi32.dll instead.

[Off Topic]
btw... with a name like babaoriley83, am I to assume that you are a Who fan?
[/Off Topic]
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 07:25   #111
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
so PXSDKPLS.dll is an aspi layer then? well what about ripping and burning performance using PXSDKPLS.dll rather then using wnaspi.dll?
STanger is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 09:33   #112
foxyshadis
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The deserts of California
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to foxyshadis Send a message via Yahoo to foxyshadis
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Nothing's changed there either. Same as it's always been in the ML. Double-clicking on "Playlists" will expand/collapse it. Double-clicking other "roots" in the left panel will do the same. Then as long as you properly shut down Winamp (Winamp retains settings upon a proper shutdown), the next time you start Winamp and open the ML your preferences will have been saved.
I'm not seeing this behavior. 5.091 clean, XP SP2. I can open winamp, double click the local media or devices root to close it, and close winamp; then upon next open everything's expanded again. The gen_ml.ini's being updated on close, and new playlists are being saved, but not expanded/contracted state.

Also column sizes occasionally reset, but I can't repro it now, so it's not important.
foxyshadis is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 11:57   #113
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
are any of the people having startup problems on dialup?

I'm thinking that since it's updating channels on exit it would be doing so regardless if you're actually using shoutcast or not .. which is rather pointless on dialup to begin with

but anyway ... if 5.091 is actually fetching channel info on exit it would prolly take longer and the OS could possibly auto end it as a hung program if the channel info request takes too long ..which it might

but after that point I'm not sure of what winamp would be doing to cause the startup slowness .. does it retry to fetch channel info if the exit fetch was unsuccessful?
STanger is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 11:59   #114
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
You could test that by disabling the "Look for new media" option and see if it makes any difference.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 15:46   #115
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
one problem .. I"M NOT ON DIALUP :P

that's the reason I was asking.....
STanger is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 16:05   #116
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,845
Quote:
Originally posted by STanger
but after that point I'm not sure of what winamp would be doing to cause the startup slowness .. does it retry to fetch channel info if the exit fetch was unsuccessful?
No, if enabled, the Online Media check occurs on Winamp exit only.

Some users have been reporting slow startup issues ever since v5.0 release, so I don't think it's anything 5.091-specific to blame. Alas, no-one has ever been able to reproduce them though.

If affected, refer to the FAQ

Slow startup issues:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=160147
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=160920
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=169085
http://www.winampunlimited.com/like_the_wind/
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 17:21   #117
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Quote:
I'm not seeing this behavior. 5.091 clean, XP SP2. I can open winamp, double click the local media or devices root to close it, and close winamp; then upon next open everything's expanded again. The gen_ml.ini's being updated on close, and new playlists are being saved, but not expanded/contracted state.
I am the one the originally posted about this issue and I agree that it has not been "addressed". However, I did not want to complain too much because I am sure that there are much more serious issues to focus on. But having the playlist stay collapsed in the left pane would be a nice feature. When you have 300 playlists like I do and it opens expanded everytime, it is a minor inconvenience.

Thanks for all of your hard work Winamp Team. There is no better player anywhere.
Juanus is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 17:37   #118
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
A foxyshadis & Juanus...

I take back what I said here initially, because I do now see with the latest 5.091 build that in fact I am no longer observing that behavior either. The ML is not saving that state. :/
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 24th May 2005, 17:47   #119
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Quote:
A foxyshadis & Juanus...

I take back what I said here initially, because I do now see with the latest 5.091 build that in fact I am no longer observing that behavior either. The ML is not saving that state. :/
Thanks for replying. I actually don't think that it has ever saved that state. I posted this same problem in the wishlist back in october here with no response.

I am sorry to be a pain. :/

Great work guys!
Juanus is offline  
Old 25th May 2005, 17:24   #120
DarkBeer
Junior Member
 
DarkBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by biggman15
I don't see it in there... Is there an option to stop winamp from Calling home everytime you turn it on?????
Thanks!
DarkBeer is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump