Old 6th March 2007, 22:04   #1
Dlusionz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Activewinamp on Vista

Hi, ive been trying to install activewinamp on windows vista ultimate for around 2 days, looked in all sorts of places for help, but there doesnt seem to be any documentation on this problem

windows vista ultimate with UAC off
winamp 5.33 fresh installed

i run the installer for activewinamp it gets around halfway and then it freezes and says

error opening file for writing: plugins\gen_activewa.dll

if i hit ignore it just gets stuck there, after the first attempt installing it it freezes in the beggining. here at the details

Output folder: k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins
Extract: gen_activewa.chm... 100%
Output folder: k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\Scripts
Skipped: closewinamp.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Add seperators.vbs
Skipped: playlist_AS Query Artist.vbs
Skipped: playlist_AS Users Recent.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Crop Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Enqueue all by Artist.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert all from Album.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert from Artist Sep.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert pause.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert script.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Preview Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Rand items.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Randomize Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Reduce Playcount.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Reverse Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Simple Rand items.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Last Played.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Playcount.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Rating.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Track.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Swap items.vbs
Skipped: sendto_Enqueue and play.vbs
Skipped: sendto_ID3 Export.vbs
Skipped: sendto_ID3 Import.vbs
Skipped: timeout_pausex.vbs
Skipped: xxxstartup_logsong.vbs
Execute: regsvr32.exe /s "k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

----------------------

ive tried reinstaling winamp, changing location,closing winamp, running as administrator, turning off anti virus, im not sure what to do now.

help would be appreciated
Dlusionz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 06:22   #2
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
Hmm sounds like some permission or path problems with the installer.

Just grab the .dll from CVS and put it in your plugins directory. .dll link here:
http://www.myplugins.info/activewinamp/doku.php

Then run the command:
regsvr32.exe /s "k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

replacing the path with your winamp plugins path.
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 20:00   #3
Dlusionz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
I was able to sucessfuly replace the gen_active.dll, but when i attempt to install activewinamp it still freezes halfway through saying it cant open it

i attemped to manually from the command console and on the run screen use regsv32

regsvr32.exe /s "k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

but nothing seems to happen, and on the task manager under processes it does show regsvr32.exe and around half an hour has passed and it still there apparently not doing anything.

i went to the properties of regsvr32 for security/permissions, and it only has full control available to a trusted installer, i attempted to add full control to administrator, user, system, but it says "acess is denied"

any ideas?..
Dlusionz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2007, 13:57   #4
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
I'm guessing this is because of Vista not letting programs write to the Program Files directory any more...

I tried the suggested workaround, but just like Dlusionz, using
regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

doesn't seem to do anything at all...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2007, 23:12   #5
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
I can't remember if it even needs to be registered to simply run internal scripts. But I could be wrong.

Either way, if you merge the following into your registry it should work ok, bypassing the need for regsvr (I think you are supposed to run regsvr on the .dll with your current directory set correctly, ie such that you are in the plugins directory when you run it). Theres obviously some permission problem.

http://www.myplugins.info/ActiveWinamp.reg.zip

Open the reg file in a text editor and change the references to C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winamp.exe etc to your location of winamp.exe. Then simply open the file, and sort out any permission problems if they occur. They would be non-ActiveWinamp related.
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 04:48   #6
Dlusionz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
hey, I appreciate all the help but..... still isn't working, to make things easier, i re-installed winamp in its default directory [c:/program files/winamp and tried all the steps, including the registry file one. just one thing though

you said "Then simply open the file, and sort out any permission problems if they occur. They would be non-ActiveWinamp related."

when i open the file the exact same thing happens, im not sure i understand the sort out any permission problems step
Dlusionz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 06:44   #7
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
I am referring to the .reg file when I say 'open the file'. ie, the settings should be imported. If not, then there is some Vista restriction which I guess needs to be worked around, or you aren't logged in as admin etc. You'd need to ask MS about that.

With the reg file imported, and gen_activewa.dll (downloaded from the cvs) put in your plugins directory, it should work ok. (activewinamp that is, not the installer. You would not be running the installer with this method at all).

I am not sure how 'the exact same thing happens' given that you aren't running regsvr32 or the installer at all.
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 07:48   #8
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Hi Shaneh!

Thanks for trying to help us out .

The thing with Vista is that for some reason, it doesn't like programs changing stuff in the Program Files folder - which is why the Winamp devs forced per-user-settings in Vista. So basically all of Winamp's plugins and settings etc. are stored in a Users folder, similar to the Documents and Settings folder from XP.

All my plugins, for instance, are in

C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\Plugins

Since I don't really know my way around registry entries, I changed these lines in the .reg file:

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{142FF258-EE9C-4527-B2C7-4EAD10B752D9}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Users\\Simon\\AppData\\Roaming\\Winamp\\Plugins\\gen_activewa.dll"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{142FF258-EE9C-4527-B2C7-4EAD10B752D9}\1.0\HELPDIR]
@="C:\\Users\\Simon\\AppData\\Roaming\\Winamp\\Plugins\\"

Should I have changed something else too? This doesn't seem to have any effect...

Thanks again, I hope we can get this sorted out

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 09:18   #9
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
The main thing you need is:

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ActiveWinamp.Application\CLSID]
@="{1C7F39AF-65C0-4C14-A392-6B4714705DC2}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{1C7F39AF-65C0-4C14-A392-6B4714705DC2}\LocalServer32]
@="C:\\Program Files\\Winamp\\winamp.exe"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

You need a 'scripts' directory under your (roaming) plugin directory which contains your .vbs files. This is a known problem with per-user setups. Throw an empty "playlist_test.vbs" file in there if you don't have any.

With this setup, do you have a 'scripts' menu item in your playlist?

I have grand plans on upgrading soon, which will include an 'upgrade' to vista. I will be doing a re-hash of ActiveWinamp with 5.33 unicode and extra meta data support with the new sdk (when its released) and fix up the per-user installation bug etc.
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 09:21   #10
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
w00t, it worked. So all that was missing was the scripts folder? That explains a lot, lol... Get going, Dlusionz!


Thank you Shaneh, 1. of all for the help and 2. for the awesome plugin(s)!

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 09:32   #11
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
I guess so. This bug is logged here:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index...65&atid=723332
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2007, 17:35   #12
Dlusionz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
alright!, I just did another fresh install of winamp, didnt touch the installer, changed the cvs, and did the reg thing, and it works.

:-D

thanks alot man
Dlusionz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2007, 11:26   #13
dzid_
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 1
Re: Activewinamp on Vista

Quote:
Originally posted by Dlusionz
Hi, ive been trying to install activewinamp on windows vista ultimate for around 2 days, looked in all sorts of places for help, but there doesnt seem to be any documentation on this problem

windows vista ultimate with UAC off
winamp 5.33 fresh installed

i run the installer for activewinamp it gets around halfway and then it freezes and says

error opening file for writing: plugins\gen_activewa.dll

if i hit ignore it just gets stuck there, after the first attempt installing it it freezes in the beggining. here at the details

Output folder: k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins
Extract: gen_activewa.chm... 100%
Output folder: k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\Scripts
Skipped: closewinamp.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Add seperators.vbs
Skipped: playlist_AS Query Artist.vbs
Skipped: playlist_AS Users Recent.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Crop Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Enqueue all by Artist.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert all from Album.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert from Artist Sep.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert pause.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Insert script.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Preview Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Rand items.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Randomize Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Reduce Playcount.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Reverse Selection.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Simple Rand items.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Last Played.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Playcount.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Rating.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Sort by Track.vbs
Skipped: playlist_Swap items.vbs
Skipped: sendto_Enqueue and play.vbs
Skipped: sendto_ID3 Export.vbs
Skipped: sendto_ID3 Import.vbs
Skipped: timeout_pausex.vbs
Skipped: xxxstartup_logsong.vbs
Execute: regsvr32.exe /s "k:\Program Files\Winamp2\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

----------------------

ive tried reinstaling winamp, changing location,closing winamp, running as administrator, turning off anti virus, im not sure what to do now.

help would be appreciated

When the instalation freezes, open Task Manager and terminate 'regsvr32' - the instalation will go ahead!
dzid_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2007, 03:59   #14
C26000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Hi, any news about adding compatibility with vista to the active winamp?, I'm developing a music library software and currently I'm using active winamp to talk with winamp, I would like to know if I can wait for it or if I should start with my own code to talk with winamp?
C26000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 10:26   #15
Aelux
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
I have this same problem and I can see the scripts menu, but there are no scripts to be found. Is there a compatibility issue with version 5.35 of winamp and this plugin on vista?

The scripts DO work though, if I manually run them going into the plugins configuration menu.

Last edited by Aelux; 30th July 2007 at 11:08.
Aelux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2007, 02:22   #16
C26000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
can someone help me with a step-by-step procedure to install activewinamp in vista?

I really don't know how to work with all that registry stuff and I'm afraid that I may broke something if I start to try out things.

thanks in advance I really need this.

Last edited by C26000; 8th August 2007 at 04:37.
C26000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 09:51   #17
Jim_Nastiq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Hi,

i'm using activewinamp too. I've made a widget using the dll file but i 'd like to know if it's possible to make it work if the file is not in the Plugins directory?
i mean i'd like to register the dll in another directory(not the winamp directory) and then use it.
Jim_Nastiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2007, 16:00   #18
Patheros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
So I had a similar problem.
I ran the installer and it stopped at

Execute: regsvr32.exe /s "k:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\gen_activewa.dll"

So I added the reg entries from the file.

Now I see the scripts menu and I see it in the plugins list but no scripts show up in the menu. Any ideas?
Patheros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 17:23   #19
florian.bobelka
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 1
If anyone of you is looking in here again and still has the "no scripts in list" problem with vista & ActiveWinamp:

Under Vista, ActiveWinamp is looking for the scripts in "C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\Plugins\Scripts\"

Copy all the scripts from "C:\[PROGRAMDIR]\Winamp\Plugins\Scripts\" to the before specified folder, and it should work.

Yours, Flo.
florian.bobelka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump