Old 17th May 2003, 04:09   #1201
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
im going back to 2.91... too many bugs in 3

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House
oNaMiSsIo is offline  
Old 17th May 2003, 10:25   #1202
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by oNaMiSsIo
im going back to 2.91... too many bugs in 3
gd for you.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 17th May 2003, 11:07   #1203
phantombluefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: southern california
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to phantombluefan
hey I figured out how to outsmart real player when I want to see the winamp vids and real player tries to grab the feed I look in the addy on the real player browser which happens to be the location addy for the video I copy it and paste it into the winamp location addy thing and there it is I am in business and I finally outsmarted real player at least on this. I still cant figure out how to get around the live365 feed problem but at least shoutcast stations provide the direct feed addys well stay cool Dave
phantombluefan is offline  
Old 18th May 2003, 19:55   #1204
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
Quote:
Originally posted by sanosuke
gd for you.
uh.. thanks. im not sure if that was sarcasm or not, but.. thanks.

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House
oNaMiSsIo is offline  
Old 22nd May 2003, 02:21   #1205
Bob the Tomato
Senior Member
 
Bob the Tomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 258
Send a message via ICQ to Bob the Tomato
The only thing I don't like about Winamp 3:

It loads slowly at startup.

And that's about it.
Bob the Tomato is offline  
Old 22nd May 2003, 21:09   #1206
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
yeah.. and the fact that it doesnt automatically enque a bunch of songs when you tell it to play them all at once.

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House
oNaMiSsIo is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 09:57   #1207
hellohello
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
I think winamp3 in general is ok, BUT'

the media library SUCKS big time... if you want to move your mp3s or delete some of them, I guess you have to reinstall winamp, unless you want empty entries(song title appears but file does not exist) and artist names that are no longer on your harddisk...

what the fuck is Select Disabled??? it does nothing...
Select Duplicate = NOTHING.

How much time would it take one of your programmers to make a simple function that goes through the library and selects or deletes the files that no longer exist on the harddisk...

I wonder how much time was spent on the TOTALLY USELESS CRAPPY SHITTY video module... why the fuck did they put it in?

I guess in a couple of years some genius at NullSoft will come up with this idea.

Its pretty much clear where AOL is going with winamp: Windows Media Player.

About the Freeware status:
Free for the user does not mean NullSoft/AOL is not making $$$$$$$

Why did AOL buy NullSoft? They wanted to help out the winamp community and and support freeware??? I DONT THINK SO


Is Real Player, and WIndows Media Player not free?????

so please cut the crap about freeware and how everybody should bow down to AOL for not charging for winamp..
hellohello is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 12:07   #1208
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,001
RealPlayer is crap, WMiP is about the same, Winamp3 has bugs - workround them!

if you dont like the media libray (dito on that) then DONT USE IT!

If the vidio is unsatisfactory, disasociate Winamp3 with vidio!

it dose not take much work!

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 12:12   #1209
hellohello
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Yea, I didn't use it until recently,
I thought it was kinda cool to see all my mp3s and quickly organize them after artist/album/genre/etc...

But then I moved my mp3s...

Now even if I delete the wrong entries manually they come up again when I restart!!!!
hellohello is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 12:16   #1210
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,001
before restarting, close winamp.

you probably already do, but just incase.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 13:07   #1211
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Delete the contents of your /db directory (subdirectory of program files/Winamp3 OR documents and settings/username/application data/winamp3 {if multiuser support enabled}). Be sure Winamp3 is closed before deleting. Reopen Winamp3 and re-add your moved files to the library. This is fixed in the latest internal builds, you can fully remove all ml information from within Winamp3 in build 498, at least.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 23rd May 2003, 14:24   #1212
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,001
or do as he says, I bow down to his greater Winampilect.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline  
Old 25th May 2003, 15:31   #1213
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
hmmm.. winampilect.... i have to work that into a few posts somewhere.... lol

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House
oNaMiSsIo is offline  
Old 30th May 2003, 12:43   #1214
DougBTX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob the Tomato
The only thing I don't like about Winamp 3:

It loads slowly at startup.

And that's about it.
That's why I dumped it too, and the slow load from the system tray, and the slow time to change skins....

Long live Winamp v3 (not to be confused with Winamp3!)

Douglas
DougBTX is offline  
Old 30th May 2003, 13:05   #1215
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by DougBTX
Long live Winamp v3 (not to be confused with Winamp3!)
there is not winamp v3...never would be.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline  
Old 30th May 2003, 13:55   #1216
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
I will never ever understand this line...

"It loads slowly at startup"

I mean seriously , is that ANY valid reason for not using something?

I would hate to think that the same principal is applied in other areas of life.

"I'm not watching this DVD because it has a 10 second copyright notice that I can't skip thru"
"I'm not drinking coffee any longer cos it takes 3 minutes to boil a kettle"
"This microwave pizza is crap cos it takes 30 seconds to cook"
"I refuse to watch TV any longer because of all the long advert breaks"
"Pfffft CD's who needs them, they take at least 2 seconds to scan the TOC"
"Pah, I'm using Windows3.1 'cos it boots faster than XP"

Seriously, if Winamp3 comes along, shags your Girlfriend, Formats your hard drive and takes a crap in your bed, then by all means get rid of it, if it takes 5 seconds to load instead of 5 micro seconds I'd think of something more productive you could do with those five seconds instead of whining about it.

Mr Jones is offline  
Old 30th May 2003, 16:33   #1217
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
yeah... but its so damn annoying when you're used to having it load to quickly

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House
oNaMiSsIo is offline  
Old 31st May 2003, 07:26   #1218
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
so it loads slowly, but it has so many advanced features too.


Amateur AVS'er. All over again.

Last AVS Pack :
Resurgence

[Ishan] is offline  
Old 1st June 2003, 15:22   #1219
toowhite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to toowhite
shoutcast functionality- no bitching here

Yes I miss my shoutcast with winamp 3.

Winamp is the best, it's free and it keeps getting better. Compare that performance to the operating system you are addicted to.

Compare that performance with Real Audio, that tries to hijack your system.

You have the best artists in the world making skins for your WinAmp, compared to Media Player, who hire a few graphic artists to churn out some garbage.

Be nice to the programers. If you need to let off steam, pick a bar fight.

toowhite
toowhite is offline  
Old 1st June 2003, 21:00   #1220
phantombluefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: southern california
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to phantombluefan
I am listening to http://livehardrock.com which happens to be a shoutcast station on winamp3 right now lol
phantombluefan is offline  
Old 8th June 2003, 19:57   #1221
I AM ELECTRO
Member
 
I AM ELECTRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to I AM ELECTRO
All I really hate about Winamp3 is that I cant look 4 streams in the media library. And theres a plugin 4 that. Home run 4 wa3? it ate my old system but then I got a new comp. If ur wa3 crashes then try it on Win2k.
I AM ELECTRO is offline  
Old 20th June 2003, 10:53   #1222
DougBTX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Jones
I will never ever understand this line...

"It loads slowly at startup"

I mean seriously , is that ANY valid reason for not using something?
Sure it is, that's why I have two image editors, two HTMl editors etc: one loads quickly for small stuff, and I have a more powerful one which is slower to load. If I need to do some work, I use the slow loading one, but, once it is loaded it is fast too.

Same with web browsers, I have two. If I want a quick window to browse in, I hit win+I and I have IE up, but if I want to do some proper browseing, then I hit win+O for Opera, which is slower lo load the first window, but instant to load the second. This is a closer example to winamp: Every new window I open in IE is as slow as loading the program from cold, but in Opera each new page is instant. The problem with Winamp3, is that when you load it, it is slow. When you open it from the system tray, it is slow. When you load a new skit it is slow (I think that is the center of it all, slow skins... which is why I worry about putting the Winamp3 skins in Winamp v2...)

When you play a DVD, you only see the copyright once then watch the whole thing. That's 10 seconds in 2 hours. With Winamp, you might load up an MP3, then hit the close button to stop it, then load another MP3 by clicking in Explorer. That's 10 seconds x 2 in 6 minutes. Probably more like 5 in 2, but its still bad.

Winamp v2, I click a file and it starts playing

Douglas
DougBTX is offline  
Old 27th June 2003, 15:54   #1223
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,852
So stop closing it then
lol
DJ Egg is online now  
Old 29th June 2003, 22:38   #1224
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,032
i thought opera was the fastest browser on earth...

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline  
Old 30th June 2003, 07:56   #1225
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
opera renders noticably faster than any other (graphical) browser i know of. i'm not sure why you mentioned it though...

zootm is offline  
Old 30th June 2003, 17:40   #1226
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,032
it use to be their motto. supposedly the quicket to load and render. and the litest

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline  
Old 30th June 2003, 21:38   #1227
DougBTX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by whiteflip
i thought opera was the fastest browser on earth...
It is

But IE is already loaded when you turn your computer on, which is cheating (and slows your computer down too... you know windows explorer is based on IE?)

Douglas

PS: should rant about W3 here, but can't because it is a fading memory for my harddrive

PPS: Another speed of Opera is the way that you can navigate without having to click buttons on your toolbar or keybord to speed things up
DougBTX is offline  
Old 10th July 2003, 10:03   #1228
NeuroManson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Just wondering if it's just me, but does it seem like Winamp 3 takes an inordinate amount of time to load? I recently downloaded it after reinstalling Windows XP Pro, since my older 2.x version was wiped in a HD crash. Slow loading as in 10 seconds just to load, no visualizations, default skin, no minibrowser, etc.

My system specs are as follows:

P4 1.5 Ghz processor
256 Mb PC133 ram
Geforce4 MX 420 generic card, running latest detonators
60Gb Western Digital Caviar Deluxe (8Mb cache) (master)
40Gb Maxtor 5400 RPM (slave)
Realtek AC97 onboard sound
Hauppague WinTV 2 Go tuner card
FIC VC-31 mobo

Overall a pretty generic setup, but should be more than sufficient to run WA3, right?

*rattles his old man cane*

Back in my day, it didn't take longer to load a media player than it takes to load the latest Photoshop!
NeuroManson is offline  
Old 10th July 2003, 10:10   #1229
NeuroManson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Oh, duh, never mind, I just looked up the answer for myself. It's a pity they couldn't have optimized WA3 a little more before distributing it, however. Back when Winamp was in the lower 2s to upper 1.0s, some guys came out with a nifty MP3 player called Sonique. Only problem was stability, but it featured many of the same features that are just now "new" in Winamp, and was about 20 times faster than WA3.

Ahwell, that's my official bitchfest.
NeuroManson is offline  
Old 10th July 2003, 10:15   #1230
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
NeuroManson:
Winamp2 is still available and being updated if you want it.
http://classic.winamp.com
Reaper is offline  
Old 12th July 2003, 10:30   #1231
Mr_007
Banned
 
Mr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,838
Good!
Mr_007 is offline  
Old 14th September 2003, 10:28   #1232
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
* bump *

Yeah. That's right. I'm actually bumping this thread that hasn't been posted to in 2 months. Why the freak would I do this? Because I don't wanna run into any of this crap anymore, where I had to chase that guy all around the forums for a half hour.

So now, if anybody wants to BITCH again they should find this thread (hopefully).

Done. Nuff said.
Nunzio390 is offline  
Old 14th September 2003, 20:41   #1233
soviut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Jones
"This microwave pizza is crap cos it takes 30 seconds to cook"
This statement is kind of ironic since speed is specifically why the microwave is so popular! Baking a pizza in the oven takes too long for most people so they microwave it. The same paradigm can be applied to software where the slower it is, the less it generally gets used. A relativly lightweight app such as Winamp should NOT take 6 seconds to load, especially when most people use it so frequently! Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. Those actually make sense since they load up large font libraries, have rather complex rendering engines to mount, etc. But when Windows Media Player 9 opens faster and consumes less RAM and resources than Winamp3 does on my system I start making faces.
soviut is offline  
Old 17th September 2003, 11:50   #1234
Mr_007
Banned
 
Mr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,838
Wa3 is bad!
Mr_007 is offline  
Old 19th September 2003, 03:43   #1235
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
Well said, dont think I could have said it any better. In fact, that was a real milking you gave my cow.

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline  
Old 2nd October 2003, 13:30   #1236
Nameless23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Winamp 3 destroyed the ID3 Tags. I hate this bad programmed ID3 Tag Editor...
Nameless23 is offline  
Old 16th June 2006, 13:54   #1237
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
winamp3 sucks!
mark is offline  
Old 16th June 2006, 14:10   #1238
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
And Winamp 2 isn't available at classic.winamp.com anymore either.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 19th June 2006, 04:15   #1239
MegaRock
Forum King
 
MegaRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Inside my water bong
Posts: 6,862
Send a message via ICQ to MegaRock Send a message via Yahoo to MegaRock
Ah fuck this shit.

Megarock Radio - St. Louis Since 1998!
Tune In Now!
Corporate Radio Sucks! No suits, all rock!
MegaRock is offline  
Old 19th June 2006, 05:22   #1240
shakey_snake
Forum Domo
 
shakey_snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Everyone, get over here for the picture!
Posts: 4,313
winamp3 ate Katie Holmes' Placenta!


elevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladylevitateme
shakey_snake is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > The Bitchlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump