Old 27th July 2006, 15:59   #1
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Streaming video and ampx ravetraxx activex player

We have recently implemented the ampx player on our site. It works fine with audio but video does not. We have tested with both V3 and VP62 Codec using NSV Live capture but when you click play nothing happens. The streams work fine when opened in winamp. Some assistance would be apprieciated
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 20:08   #2
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
What is the exact URL that you are using in the embedded AmpeX player ?

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 21:39   #3
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
the stream that we are testing video with is not up 24/7. No one else has attempted video at this stage that I know of.

I could arrange this with a pre-encoded file to be up as a test stream but I dont think theres much to tell by that as the player does not initalise when video is streamed (click play and nothing happpens) whereas it works perfectly with audio. All listen2myradio stations use the same player and can be found through the main address, stations are listed on the left.
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 22:15   #4
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
What I mean is - what is the url syntax that you are using within the embeded player ?

Example : http://IP _ Address_OR _Dot_Com_Address:8001/;stream.nsv

The semicolon and the stream name are both required within the URL format.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 22:47   #5
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
ahhh ok.

Well I would imagine that is contained in the php not visible and not in the source of this

http://listen2myradio.com/pirsum.php...7.20&port=4728


I unfortunately do not have access to the php. I need to wait until the coder comes back, he is currently afk during the week. I will ask him as soon as possible.
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 23:32   #6
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
i thought that was coded for 6.1 but I also thought it supported all formats. and also maybe the code base location for on2's dll's are moved.
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 23:36   #7
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
<!--// enter stream location/url here //-->

var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728';

This is your page's stream ip, looks like it needs the stuff mentioned above.
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2006, 00:08   #8
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
ok it would check those links in sequence then ? So im guessing if so the nsv link would go above that normal stream link.

I'm not the coder.. but im trying to make it as easy for him as possible as he hasnt got much time atm.

Thanks for the help, what your saying adds up to what the problem looks to be
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2006, 14:52   #9
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
your stream works fine with this link

http://84.95.247.20:4728;stream.nsv
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2006, 15:10   #10
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
its the embedded player thats the problem I think. As I said i sucessfully viewed the video transmission in winamp

I have put a test stream up but I dont know if you will learn anything by it. Please access through http://harddance.listen2myradio.com after the 5 second page please click 'Cant hear click here' this will take you to ampx player page. To open in winamp click the same link again.

Im streaming in Video only....


What you said about adding that code will fix the embeded player ? Is that the definative answer.. anyone???

Last edited by newborn; 28th July 2006 at 17:01.
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2006, 20:35   #11
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
Using the correct url syntax as previously explained, will resolve the issues that you are having with the embedded AmpX player.

http : // ip address : port number / ; stream name . nsv

These are required to distinguish the stream as a Video stream and not a Audio stream.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2006, 20:38   #12
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
super.. cheers like this then

<!--// enter stream location/url here //-->

var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728;stream.nsv';
var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728';

it initally checks the video link and then the audio.. as streams may vary on their content..yup ?


Or does a player have to be fixed to either video or audio ?

We do have an alternative player on a different page that we can use for audio if this is the case.

Last edited by newborn; 28th July 2006 at 20:55.
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 02:11   #13
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
probably just the first one
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 02:52   #14
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
smelters right - it will be the first one

<!--// enter stream location/url here //-->

var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728;stream.nsv'

You will need to ensure that the broadcasters use " stream " as the name of their nsv broadcasts.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 12:03   #15
newborn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
So the player will only player one stream type? i'm still not clear on this.. sorry..


that > var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728;stream.nsv'
is not going to work with a audio only stream is it?
newborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 14:31   #16
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
This URL syntax is specifically for video

var leakurl = 'http://84.95.247.20:4728;stream.nsv

The semicolon and stream name + nsv designates this stream as video - not audio.

You will need to create a different php script for video and audio stations - as each media method requires different information for playback.


For audio only streams you may be able to use IP + port number - without using a stream name plus encoder method ( mp3 or aac ), i am not sure about that though.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 15:09   #17
Jeeper One
Major Dude
 
Jeeper One's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,055
Hi everyone:

While we're on this subject (but not to hijack it ), are we to understand that if you set the stream to be best viewed via Internet Explorer, you can use any audio and video codec INCLUDING x264 and AAC+ with the RaveTrax ActiveX viewer provided that you make the obvious changes i.e. like the following...

code:
<embed>
<object CLASSID="clsid:C5E28B9D-0A68-4B50-94E9-E8F6B4697516" WIDTH=352 HEIGHT=288 BORDER=0

codebase="http://www.nullsoft.com/nsv/embed/nsvplayx_x264_aac.cab#Version=-1,-1,-1,-1" id="nsvplayx">
<param NAME="Location" VALUE="http://127.0.0.1:8040;stream.nsv">
<embed type="application/x-nsv-x264-aac" width=352 height=288 codebase="http://www.nullsoft.com/nsv/embed/nsvmoz_x264_aac.xpi" location="http://127.0.0.1:8040;stream.nsv/">
</embed>
</object>

Would that work? If so, you can bet I'll change my Ham videos over to x264/AAC+ ASAP!

Cheers

Pat (a.k.a. Jeeper One)

Pat Cook
Englewood, CO
Jeeper One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 17:50   #18
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
Absolutly.
My old php script had a spelling error that caused a cab to not install, so a format was unavailabe. I never noticed because it was already in my browser. Somebody at php nuke pointed it out.
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 17:57   #19
Inedible Bulk
Forum King
 
Inedible Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: You're the man now dog
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeeper One
Hi everyone:

While we're on this subject (but not to hijack it ), are we to understand that if you set the stream to be best viewed via Internet Explorer, you can use any audio and video codec INCLUDING x264 and AAC+ with the RaveTrax ActiveX viewer provided that you make the obvious changes i.e. like the following...

code:
<embed>
<object CLASSID="clsid:C5E28B9D-0A68-4B50-94E9-E8F6B4697516" WIDTH=352 HEIGHT=288 BORDER=0
codebase="http://www.nullsoft.com/nsv/embed/nsvplayx_x264_aac.cab#Version=-1,-1,-1,-1" id="nsvplayx">
<param NAME="Location" VALUE="http://127.0.0.1:8040;stream.nsv">
<embed type="application/x-nsv-x264-aac" width=352 height=288
codebase="http://www.nullsoft.com/nsv/embed/nsvmoz_x264_aac.xpi" location="http://127.0.0.1:8040;stream.nsv/">
</embed>
</object>

Would that work? If so, you can bet I'll change my Ham videos over to x264/AAC+ ASAP!

Cheers

Pat (a.k.a. Jeeper One)
please stop with your page widening faggot

Originally posted by yeshuawatso :
...get Nullsoft to [accept] new moderators? ... election? ... If Inedible Bulk is the candidate, then I give my vote.
Inedible Bulk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2006, 22:01   #20
john@ROCKNTV1
Registered User
 
john@ROCKNTV1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: i have broken not a single rule and you deleted my sig craigF.. OK MY TURN CRAIGF and smelter thank for bumping bulks flame post
Posts: 641
word wrap

word wrap



any ways.....because i am an html idiot.....

my first few attempts at getting RAVAS player to work was tricky.....
the links i refer to for my show have been put up by sites
without my consent....dont know if it hurts me at this point
any way, but non the less they work with video.I have used these links to ship visiters to my show mostley because my dot com is still waiting for me to make a page......argh idiot
MY first reaction to your post was an encoding issue,but adding the correct urls is a major plus in getting it to work......not sacastic.

while we are on rava's
CAn any one explain the allowed usage of the rava- aol script.



john
john@ROCKNTV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 01:42   #21
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
Quote:
INCLUDING x264
Jeeper, where did you get that information from ?

AmpX never supported the H.264 video codec.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 02:08   #22
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
I thought a page will support any format you can provide the codebase for.
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 04:46   #23
hhb
Senior Member
 
hhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Active X Player codec support

Back when I was fiddling with the two Active X NSV webpage player choices, this is how it worked:

NSV Active X -- will play mp3/AAC raw, VP3 to VP6.1

Ampx Active X -- will play everything NSV will play and also VP6.2 and AAC+. If either plays x264, like the Winamp software does, that's a surprise. Don't think they do.

hhb
hhb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 13:52   #24
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
Nullsoft / AOL has never implimented support of the H.264 video codec for the NSV ActiveX player / NSV Mozilla XPI plugin player or the AmpX player.

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 17:24   #25
Jeeper One
Major Dude
 
Jeeper One's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,055
Hi everyone:
Quote:
Originally posted by Inedible Bulk
please stop with your page widening faggot
That wasn't me. It was the board that did that. I just simply inserted the code into my post. What the board software or your browser does with it is simply out of my hands as that's beyond my control.

In any case, it wasn't intentional on my part. To be honest, I don't like it either, but I don't see how I can correct it (especially now since it's been over 24 hours since I posted it).

Perhaps one of the mods can somehow straighten it up whereas it looks halfway decent and doesn't widen the page?

Cheers

Pat (a.k.a. Jeeper One)

Pat Cook
Englewood, CO
Jeeper One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 17:33   #26
Jeeper One
Major Dude
 
Jeeper One's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,055
Hi everyone:
Quote:
Originally posted by sankt
Jeeper, where did you get that information from ?
I didn't. That's why I asked.
Quote:
AmpX never supported the H.264 video codec.
Thanks for the clarification.

Looks like I'll just hafta direct people to the external Winamp or VLC Player (If I don't use Rockouthippie's now-old code) and provide links where my site visitors can download the x264 codec then 'cause that codec just does wonders with some of the vids I've got in order to make them look presentable (Most were transcoded from low bitrate Windows Media or RealVideo formats using the SUPER © Batch Windows Media Converter or the MMConvert program. Google them to download them).

Cheers

Pat Cook
Englewood, CO

Last edited by Jeeper One; 30th July 2006 at 18:54.
Jeeper One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:59   #27
Jeeper One
Major Dude
 
Jeeper One's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,055
Re: word wrap

Hi everyone:
Quote:
Originally posted by john@ROCKNTV1
word wrap
The problem isn't on my end. With the exception of the one above, all my posts wrap just like everyone else's posts do.

Anyways...Back to the topic at hand....

Cheers

Pat (a.k.a. Jeeper One)

Pat Cook
Englewood, CO
Jeeper One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 20:38   #28
Inedible Bulk
Forum King
 
Inedible Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: You're the man now dog
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeeper One
Hi everyone:That wasn't me. It was the board that did that. I just simply inserted the code into my post. What the board software or your browser does with it is simply out of my hands as that's beyond my control.
Sorry you use a shitty browser. Gecko based browsers and others that support "nobr" read the board's "don't word wrap this code" as such. This is so that it doesn't break at the wrong spot. However, with HTML, you can insert breaks between the <>tags and it won't cause a problem. You could have easily done that and stopped the page widening.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_widening

But yeah, the forum software itself is also to blame, mainly because for some dumb reason everything is centered instead of left aligned AND split (each post as it's own table or div). If it was left aligned your post would be wide, but I wouldn't have to horizontal scroll to read other peoples posts, just yours.

Of course, I will now assume you don't want people to put about 10 seconds of effort into overcoming inefficiencies in forum software (i actually quoted you and edited your code so you could copy it and put it into your post, or at least follow it as a guide, to unwiden the page), and will try to make things inconvenient for you if you need something.

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeeper One
Hi everyone:The problem isn't on my end. With the exception of the one above, all my posts wrap just like everyone else's posts do.

Anyways...Back to the topic at hand....

Cheers

Pat (a.k.a. Jeeper One) [/B]
Shit in code tags doesn't wrap.

Originally posted by yeshuawatso :
...get Nullsoft to [accept] new moderators? ... election? ... If Inedible Bulk is the candidate, then I give my vote.
Inedible Bulk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2006, 03:21   #29
Jeeper One
Major Dude
 
Jeeper One's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,055
Hi everyone:

Well apparently you seem to be the only one complaining about it. Maybe you should look at your own browser and/or browser settings before complaining about anyone else's.

I mean think about it. Out of all the people who post to and read these boards, the only person who seems to have problems reading them is YOU!!

Dontcha think that seems just a little suspicious?

True, part of the blame DOES fall on the board software being used and it's also true that it's in need of some serious upgrading (I know of some freebie board sites that use newer versions of phpbb that this!), but do the rest of us a favor before you respond. CHECK YOUR OWN BROWSER & ITS SETTINGS.

Now can we PLEASE get back to the subject at hand????

Cheers

Pat Cook
Englewood, CO
Jeeper One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2006, 22:01   #30
john@ROCKNTV1
Registered User
 
john@ROCKNTV1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: i have broken not a single rule and you deleted my sig craigF.. OK MY TURN CRAIGF and smelter thank for bumping bulks flame post
Posts: 641
ampx
sorry my ears were ringing
john@ROCKNTV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2006, 02:51   #31
darkstar2002c
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fort Collins, CO.
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to darkstar2002c Send a message via Yahoo to darkstar2002c
Quote:
Originally posted by newborn
No one else has attempted video at this stage that I know of.
What exactly are you doing that is so revolutionary?
darkstar2002c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast TV / Nullsoft Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump