Old 31st January 2011, 12:29   #1
daftspaniel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Question Windows Resource Files

Hi All,

I am wondering if it is possible to use Windows Resource Files (standard VStudio resource DLLs) directly from NSIS?



Thanks,
Davy Mitchell
daftspaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2011, 18:00   #2
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,321
Use them how?

With the system plugin you can call LoadLibrary and use FindResource, LoadIcon etc

To change the standard nsis pages you use the ChangeUI instruction, it works by extracting resources from PE files, but to create a custom ui you usually just use resource hacker on \NSIS\Contrib\UIs\default.exe

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2011, 08:36   #3
daftspaniel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks Anders - I will take a look at LoadLibrary.

This is primarily for the extraction of resource strings where we keep our translations. If we can use the same DLL's without an intermediate step, then that will make life much easier

Davy
daftspaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Tags
language, resources, translation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump