Old 2nd July 2001, 12:03   #1
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
right i want to get a nice new 40gig HD, i have my eyes on the ibm ones but i was wondering if it was worth going for the faster one (7200rpm) as i already have an ibm one at that speed. also i hear windows runs faster on fat 16 so i was thinking of putting windows and my swap file on my current main drive 13gig 7200rpm one on a fat 16 and partitioning it into 2 with the second half in fat 32 so id have room for my games on it which need the speed more.

I'd then have me nice new one for mp3's and other bits and a small 5gig onefor backup.

Should i do this or install Linux on one of em?

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 12:15   #2
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
Definitely go for 7200rpm 'cause their prices are almost as low as 5400rpm (?).

I wouldn't spend hd space on Linux. I installed it once, and found that I used it very rarely. It's also rather hard to configure (esp. network properties) if you're used to win98...

zorpidus is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 13:02   #3
ampburner
Forum King
 
ampburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 2,237
Send a message via ICQ to ampburner Send a message via AIM to ampburner Send a message via Yahoo to ampburner
I just bought a 30gig 5400 rpm... fine for storing my mp3's but for running games from you'd better get 7200
ampburner is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 13:09   #4
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
yeah I have one for my games (which i play once in a blue moon these days). I'm gonna have to get a new case too i just remembered. I have no free space inside my current case for it D'oh! i have my eyes on this beauty
the globalwin gw-802 midi tower:

http://www.theoverclockingstore.co.u...&categoryid=13

altough the Yeong Yang Black Server Cube at the bottom of that page is very tempting

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 13:28   #5
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
My god, those are some zexy cases

But do you really have to go for the cheapest one of them all? Come on man, do yourself a favor and get that black cube

zorpidus is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 14:48   #6
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
i would if i had the money and the space and the need for it, I've seen a swankey version of that globalwin one at overclocker.co.uk. it exactly the same but black!! I would get it, similar price but it would look stupid without black floppy and cd drive which'll add £50 is quid onto it

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 18:39   #7
pAk
Senior Member
 
pAk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: England
Posts: 369
This is probably something everyone already knows (except me)

I also need a new hard drive, but my motherboard runs with UDMA/ATA66 or whatever it is (I dunno) it's definitly 66 anyway and those letters come before it

My question is: will a UDMA/ATA100 work with it (I understand that if it does then it won't run at 100, just at 66)

pAk is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 20:49   #8
Jstalilwyrd
Major Dude
 
Jstalilwyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 948
Send a message via AIM to Jstalilwyrd Send a message via Yahoo to Jstalilwyrd
Yeah, an ATA/100 hard disk will run at ATA/66 if that is the case. Definitely go for the higher RPM too, the cost difference is worth the cost, IMO. I've got a 40GB at 7200rpm on ATA/100 and things run pretty fast.
Jstalilwyrd is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 22:25   #9
pAk
Senior Member
 
pAk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: England
Posts: 369
do you have to do anything to them to slow them down like change the jumpers at the back round, or do they just limit themselves?
pAk is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 01:34   #10
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,911
no

just wack it in there

the jumpers are only if your running it as a slave device
or a master device
Rocker is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 02:43   #11
talha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 27
Get those 75GB IBM HDs and put them in RAID 0.
talha is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 03:28   #12
Anacific
Major Dude
 
Anacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,744
Send a message via AIM to Anacific
IBM's Deskstars are the best ones out there. Get it if you can

"He who desires but acts not, breeds pestilence." - William Blake
WSPA | WWF | RSPCA | AAPA | Green Peace - Know and help...
The Rainforest Site | The Animal Rescue Site - Click and help...
Anacific is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 06:15   #13
pyu
Senior Member
 
pyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Singapore
Posts: 119
Send a message via ICQ to pyu
western digitals.

i dun know.. but both of my harddisks now are Western Digital Caviars. smooth and reliable.

heard alot of bad stories for the IBM Deskstars though.. especially the 75GXP.
pyu is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 08:07   #14
DJ ROACH
Chick God
[Major Dude]
 
DJ ROACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Your local mental hospital
Posts: 2,154
Send a message via AIM to DJ ROACH
western digital death click!

just wait till you hear the western digital death click!
you will then want ibm.
just my opinion

i have had the maxtor h/d
a western digital h/d
and ibm
so far my favorite has been ibm
thoe the price sucks!
it realy sucks to loose all your shit from a defective drive.
oh and i geuss if you wanted to say it.
there is the maxtor death click also.
DJ ROACH is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 08:15   #15
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
... And the Seagate death click.

Conner used to be the most reliable. But then Seagate bought them out and killed the whole line of products, just like Microsoft did with FoxPro.

Now the most reliable is: 1. Quantum; 2. IBM.

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 09:08   #16
DJ ROACH
Chick God
[Major Dude]
 
DJ ROACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Your local mental hospital
Posts: 2,154
Send a message via AIM to DJ ROACH
awww yes

awwww yes i forgot about quantum.
DJ ROACH is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 09:12   #17
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I like my quantum, it's served me well. but i'd rather got for an ibm one for the speed, rather than having a quiet drive

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 3rd July 2001, 09:40   #18
Wish
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 702
Maxtor has bought from Quantum their HDD division. So Quantum no longer makes HDD anymore. BTW, there is a newer model of Deskstars, the 60GXP. So far, I've heard the 60GXP range is more reliable than the 75GXP range.

75GXP is a 15GB per platter while 60GXP is 20GB per platter.
I would recommend the 60GXP over the 75GXP. Storagereview has some great reviews of HDD and other storage devices.

http://www.storagereview.com
Wish is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump