Old 29th August 2001, 09:03   #1
madclown
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
L3CODECA.ACM Winamp CRASH - Please help!!

Ok guys,

Haven't seen too much info on this problem, but just recently (ie, within the past week) I have been encountering the following error message EVERYTIME i use Winamp 2.76 to broadcast my shoutcast streams after a certain indefinite amount of time (from 1 minute to 2 hours later, etc.)


WINAMP caused an invalid page fault in
module L3CODECA.ACM at 0177:075a5044.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=075a5044 EFLGS=00010202
EBX=031f246c SS=017f ESP=031f241c EBP=00000000
ECX=076169b0 DS=017f ESI=00000000 FS=1967
EDX=00000000 ES=017f EDI=07627004 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
89 6f fc 75 04 8b 7c 24 18 83 c0 20 83 f8 20 74
Stack dump:
fffffffe 000005d2 00000000 076169b0 076169b0 07598e42 076169b0 fff7d331 000832a0 031f246c 00000000 031f2468 00000000 00000000 031f247c fffffffe


What the hell... the only thing I can think of that might've affected l3codeca.acm is the installation of DIV-X 4 codec for newer movies, since it apparently installs a copy of its own.


Please, someone give me some help with this, I really want to get my show back up and running as soon as possible. This is really starting to piss me off because its totally random... its like Winamp just decides to crash itself after an unspecified amount of time, wether it be within 1 minute or 5 hours.

Thanks for your time.
madclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2001, 22:37   #2
Budgie
Major Dude
 
Budgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Hell frozen up
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via ICQ to Budgie
Hmmm, looks like your external Fraunhofer MP3 codec is corrupt.

In order to solve this, you should reinstall Windows Media Player, which will result in a complete reinstallation of several codecs, including the L3CODECA.ACM MP3 codec.

When you download the Windows Media Player, I would recommend to stick with v6.4, as it's the best version, still. Media Player v7 and above are too bloated and buggy, avoid v7 and above at all costs.

Unfortunately, the Windows Media Player, no matter if it's v6.4 or v7, installs an MP3 codec that is capable to handle MP3 streams up 56kbits only . There's another Fraunhofer MP3 codec out there, allowing you to go up to 320kbits without restrictions, but it costs money . Luckily, a very popular "tweak" exists on the net . Search for Radium Codec on Google or so, as I want to keep the forums clean and warez-free .


Peace.


Please consider the Forum Rules before posting utter crap. Thank you!
Budgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2001, 23:43   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,096
DivX 4 codec comes complete with the Radium MP3 codec.
The only problem being that they have it named as L3CODECA.ACM which overwrites the default Windows/WMP6.4 version of the same name, thus potentially causing problems (registry conflicts, etc)

L3CODECA is the Advanced version, whereas the Radium version should be called L3CODECP.ACM (Professional).

When I installed the DivX codec package, I edited the INF file and removed all reference to L3CODECA.ACM so it didn't get installed (I already had L3CODECP, so didn't need two of the same file with different names)

Best thing to do would be:
Close Winamp
Goto Multimedia Control Panel -> Devices -> Audio Codecs
Disable L3CODECA.ACM
(Fraunhofer MP3 Codec -> properties -> checkmark "do NOT use this codec")
Move the priority down to the bottom of the list, eg. 14
Download & install Radium Professional L3CODECP.ACM
Go back to Multimedia CPL and bump the priority of the Radium Codec up to 1
Try Winamp/ShoutCast again.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2001, 08:19   #4
madclown
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
L3CODECA or P.ACM Crashing !!!

Ok thanks for the info guys,

I tried both your solutions... reinstalled Media Player 6.4 and went to control panel as suggested by DJ Egg and setup the Radium Codec (which gives me L3CodecP.acm instead of L3CodecA.acm)...


Unfortunately... it looked as though it was workin swell till after about 1 hour's worth of use, then it crashed!!! NOOOOO!! This time the page fault was in L3CODECP.ACM...


SO now I really don't know what else it could be. I'm using Winamp 2.76, Shoutcast DNAS 1.8.3, 1.8.0 DSP... Win 98, Celeron 300A, 96 Megs of RAM, 64K BPS Stream ... never had this prob until maybe a week and a half ago, tops. Oh yea Im also running Direct X 8.0...


Any other suggestions? Maybe I should compact the Windows Registry? Or (gasp!)... FORMAT C:? What could be causing it to crash? Maybe you guys could ask the winamp programmers to use a diff codec or something in their next version? :P

Thanks...


mC
madclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2001, 20:11   #5
madclown
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Problem solved

Ok, after diggin a little deeper in the forums and anfter much searching, I cam across a link to oddsock.org and their oddcast DSP plugin.

So to make a long story short, I tried the oddcast plugin (which uses LAME)instead of the shoutcast DSP plugin and lo and behold, no more crashing.

This obviously has to do with the fact that the LAME codec is tied directly into the DSP, whereas the Shoutcast DSP uses an external codec (Frauhenhower or whatever its called).

So thanks for the help, I think I'll be sticking with oddcast from now on, or at least until I format my computer again
madclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2001, 20:12   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,096
Re: L3CODECA or P.ACM Crashing !!!

Quote:
Originally posted by madclown
Maybe you guys could ask the winamp programmers to use a diff codec or something in their next version?
Get SHOUTcast DSP v1.8.2 . . . your wish is our command, hehe
http://www.shoutcast.com/download/broadcast.phtml
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump