Old 18th June 2004, 16:38   #1
mixx941

Opinions on skipping/buffering

Hi everyone. I've been using SHOUTcast for many years, but this issue has got me stumped.

One of my best DJs, Dizzy Donmez has a lot of skips and buffers when doing a live show.

I have him stream in 64k to my live DJ server, I have my broadcast software listen to that stream, which streams out to my two broadcast servers.

We've ran several speed tests, and he has more than enough upstream for a 64k stream (around 256kbps up). I've also tried having him stream to a different live DJ server, just to ensure there wasn't a bad hop between him and the regular live DJ server...the same thing happened.

He isnt running any applications other than Winamp to stream, and X-Chat for our IRC channel. It's also a brand new computer. I'm not sure the specs of it, but he uses it for video editing, so it must be pretty good speed/ram wise.

I've never had anything like this happen, so I really dont have any more ideas other than what I've already told him. If you can think of anything to try, or if this sounds like a situation you've heard of before, please post with any opinions.

Thanks!

-Mark

Internet Radio: Party107 (Trance/Electronic) | Rock 101.9 The Edge (Rock)

Last edited by mixx941; 18th June 2004 at 17:15.
mixx941 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2004, 19:15   #2
mixx941

Friday night during his show, we ensured that nothing else was running than Winamp and X-Chat, and no other PC on the network was using any internet.

It was just about as bad as normal, alot of skips and buffers

Any ideas on this?

Old 26th June 2004, 02:08   #3
mixx941

Alright, this week we tried with Oddcast, and it virturally eliminated the skipping problem (we even bumped the quality to 128k from 64k), but it disconnected him from the server alot (like every 2 minutes).

Any ideas?

-Mark

Old 30th June 2004, 05:31   #4
mixx941

*Bump*

Any ideas?

-Mark

Old 3rd July 2004, 01:30   #5
mixx941