Old 12th January 2011, 22:23   #1
letter17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
We must be idiots / multiple streams

We've been using Icecast for the last year or so for about 40 streams because of the ease of mounting stations w/o having to run a separate instance of each server. Now that this new shoutcast is available, we're trying to figure out how to move things over, but we must not be very smart.

Our stations are either using Winamp, SAM Broadcaster or SOS and encoding to an IP in my server farm on port 8000. One encoder connects fine, but when we try a second, it will not connect. We don't know what we are supposed to change on the encoder end or on the server end. Instructions provided don't explain things very well and what I've found in the forum doesn't speak to what we understand.

Help?
letter17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 22:29   #2
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
You're not idiots

to have multiple streams, I believe you need DNAS 2 to be in "YP2" mode

but that means you can not stream to it using shoutcast 1 protocol, you'd need shoutcast 2 protocol ... I don't think anything except the shoutcast DSP plugin, and the new shoutcast transcoder "speak" shoutcast 2 (for now)

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 22:47   #3
letter17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
We have YP2 mode turned on, but if we have to use the DSP plugin or have to try to use the transcoder and/or relay, we may be drinking heavily
letter17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 22:49   #4
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by letter17 View Post
We have YP2 mode turned on, but if we have to use the DSP plugin or have to try to use the transcoder and/or relay, we may be drinking heavily
I think you'll have to

maybe someone will correct me if I'm wrong

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 10:00   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if the sources aren't v2 compatible (the v2 of the DSP is) then it's likely they are all trying to connect on the same port so only the first one will work - that sounds like the most likely issue though looking in the log files should give a better idea of what is happening when the other sources attempt to connect to the stream.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 18:19   #6
letter17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
So the only way to do this is to use a DSP plugin (which I can't do with our software)? Not possible to just use different ports for each stream?
letter17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 18:24   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
to have the server accept and server multiple streams then the sources connected to the server need to be a compatible v2 source which currently is via the DSP plug-in and sc_trans.

this is because the DNAS is designed to take inputs on a single port but the v2 spec allows for stream ids in the source data which then allows for it to cope with multiple stream inputs. however if the source cannot do this then the legacy mode is used (i.e. server + single source).

otherwise if using other sources (or the DSP / sc_trans in legacy mode) then the server will only accept a single source as that's what the old SCv1 spec only allowed.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 19:06   #8
letter17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
I have no way to use the DSP plug-in with SAM Broadcaster or SOS3 from Spacial Audio. I don't understand a thing about sc_trans to use it either at this point. I just downloaded it and to try to figure out how to use it with 100 streams makes no sense to me.

So unfortunately, I'm either going to have to run 100 instances of the old shoutcast server or continue to use Icecast and get the mobile apps I'm working on to use Icecast instead. Besides, the new server doesn't work on Windows Server 2003, only desktops.
letter17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 22:38   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by letter17 View Post
Besides, the new server doesn't work on Windows Server 2003, only desktops.
do you have more details about that please?

i understand that using the Winamp+DSP setup probably isn't going to be viable though maybe those apps you have mentioned have it in the works to support the newer format (i really don't know as i've used SAM once to test something and that was about as far as i got with it so i'm not sure what it can or cannot do).

i can have a look into things a bit more to see if there is anything which can be done to accept older formats as multiple sources (though sounds like you've got a right mix-match of things going on anyway).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 22:43   #10
letter17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
the apps I'm working with currently only support shoutcast because of the ICY header it sends.

SAM and SOS have a simple encoder. Currently it does not have a Shoutcast 2 option. I've sent email to the developer about adding support to SAM, but I know SOS3 will not be upgraded to include Shoutcast 2. So unfortunately I'm at a dead end there.

As far as the server issue - I tried on several servers and I get "The system cannot execute the specified program."
letter17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 22:50   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by letter17 View Post
As far as the server issue - I tried on several servers and I get "The system cannot execute the specified program."
k, i've a feeling that might be down to either an api used (as prevented Win2k to run) or the supporting dlls needed aren't present - am intrigued as i don't have a Server 2003 machine to test on.

will look into things over the next few days if only to definitely confirm it isn't viable with what you have available.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 22:53   #12
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
i can have a look into things a bit more to see if there is anything which can be done to accept older formats as multiple sources
the main issue (from an outsiders perspective) is that there is no way to specify which stream you are sourcing ... i.e. no "stream ID" as part of the authentication process - which in shoutcast 1 is
password\n\n

one way to "overcome" this would be to look for a certain pattern in the password (as that is the first thing sent by older shoutcast sources)
for example - number/password where number is the streamid

I've written a DNAS (v1) clone of sorts, and that's how I can handle multiple source streams

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 22:59   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that could be a viable option, i'm just not too keen on bastardising things though there are plans to make it easier for 3rd party adoption but i don't have much details on that at the moment.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 12:52   #14
sharijs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Server 2003 any answers?

Running into the same " system cannot execute" error on server 2003. Any update on what you might have done to get the program running on Server 2003?
sharijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 13:01   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
firstly, there is no need to make multiple posts about this including within the same thread and relating to 4 year old versions of the tools (as i've now cleaned up).

the only things which is likely to cause this is by not installing the appropriate redistributable dlls needed for the Windows builds to run as per http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas...rver_2#Windows

if that doesn't help then as i don't have access to a Win2k3 server there is little that is likely to be done.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 00:46   #16
voodoohippie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 214
Send a message via Yahoo to voodoohippie
FWIW SAM V 4.9.1 and up does support Shoutcast V2. The Mountpoints (if you want to call them that) are 0,1 and so on. I've noticed this on the newer versions of SAM.

Icecast was the pioneer of multi streams from the same server thus more applications support it. Even services like Loudcaster have been using Icecast for their server and then transcoding it to their Web player and TuneIn.

Most Shoutast hosting services also use Shoutcast V1. You could experiment with l i s t e n 2 m y r a d i o d o t c o m to experiment with Shoutcast 2 as they have a Closed Private Shoutcast V2 FREE server to play around with. After you get it figured out then go back to your public server and broadcast. This way when your streams go live you'll look more like a pro.

Great Broadcasting Software Windows XP/7/8
http://nextkast.com

For Progressive Rock, Classic Rock http://thelegacy.shorturl.com
voodoohippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 00:56   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
actually you'll find that it was v4.9.0 which added SCv2 support and the mountpoints start at 1 and _not_ 0 - that is a bug in SAM which should have been fixed in 4.9.4 or 4.9.5 (not 100% on which version it was meant to be or will be in).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 12:39   #18
sgolemanski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Guys, I really cannot find a simple tutorial for setting up two different radio stations on one PC with Shoutcast v2.0.

I want to run one SAM (4.9) and one Winamp, each with different playlists.

Can anyone help?

I can run one stream from either SAM or Winamp in the moment, so now I need to know what are the basic things I have to do to stream two different stations from the same IP and port.
sgolemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 12:52   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you just have to use a different stream id in either SAM or Winamp's config settings to be able to connect - that's what is needed at the most basic.

there are then things with the DNAS config which may block it like using requirestreamconfigs=1 and not specifying streamid_2=2 and if wanting them to be publically listed then you need separate authhash, but this is all covered in the docs or can be done via the config builder or by looking at the example configs, etc.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 14:00   #20
sgolemanski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Ok, I added:

code:
streamid_1=1
streampath_1=new
streamid_2=2
streampath_2=old



and the two sources (SAM and Winamp) managed to connect. I also see the two streams in the HTML page when I open "my-ip:8000" and when I click on each of the streams it shows the correct current songs playing.

The thing is that when I play the two different stations through the .pls files which I download from their respective pages, it plays just my first stream on both of them.

Should I add some other stream options in the config file? I just checked in the sc_serv documentation (4.0.12 Stream Configuration) and I don't see anything else I need.
sgolemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 14:12   #21
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you need to have a / at the start of the streampath option e.g. streampath_1=/new

is a bug in the handling which i fixed internally a few weeks back since (as indicated in the docs at http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas..._Configuration ) it does add it in some cases but not all. that requirement will not be needed with the next public release but i needed to get things working with the current build (though you don't have to use streampath at all and can just access it via the /stream/x/ method as is done by default).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 15:18   #22
sgolemanski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Thank you. It worked.

Will the new release with the bug fixed will be backwards compatible, I mean will I have to remove the "/" when it comes out and I install it?
sgolemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2012, 15:26   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it will be backwards compatible, it just automatically adds the / to the front of the read value if not found and a few other validations to make sure that what is entered should work.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2012, 21:33   #24
voodoohippie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 214
Send a message via Yahoo to voodoohippie
I'm sure SAM Encoders DSP for Winamp and 3rd party broadcasters will be SC 2 compatible just set Winamp or SAM to 1 and the next station to 2 and so on. So in an example you could have a Progressive Rock station on 1, 80s station on 2 and Alternetive Rock station on 3. Or you can stream 128K on 1, 64K AAC+ on 2 and 64K Mp3 on 3.

I know SAM 4.9.1 has this option and should work well. Otherwise Download SAM Broadcaster 4.9.6 (Latest version).

Hopefully AOL will see it in their heart to develope SCV2 encoders that will work on broadcasters like RadioDJ, RadioBoss, Stationplaylist, and other broadcasting software as Winamp (as of yet) has no DMCA auto playlist and does not have scheduling for station ID's ect. I do suspect a new Winamp Broadcaster (All In One) to be developed and be a competitor to SAM and could be lesser priced too. SAM has always been extremely expensive to legally own.

Great Broadcasting Software Windows XP/7/8
http://nextkast.com

For Progressive Rock, Classic Rock http://thelegacy.shorturl.com
voodoohippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2012, 22:20   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoohippie View Post
Hopefully AOL will see it in their heart to develope SCV2 encoders that will work on broadcasters like RadioDJ, RadioBoss, Stationplaylist, and other broadcasting software as Winamp (as of yet) has no DMCA auto playlist and does not have scheduling for station ID's ect. I do suspect a new Winamp Broadcaster (All In One) to be developed and be a competitor to SAM and could be lesser priced too. SAM has always been extremely expensive to legally own.
you're wrong as far as i've been informed. the Source DSP and sc_trans are the only encoders provided and then there's the publically provided documentation at http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas...otocol_Details so anyone can implement the 2.0 protocol if wanted. maybe a small library will be provided to allow for adding 2.0 support but that's currently low on the long list of things to work on.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2014, 09:43   #26
dJivad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7
With the new WinAmp, will this all continue to thrive, beyond just the WinAmp player? I was using DSP 1.9.0 and couldn't connected to various streams on one server. Upgrading to 2.3.3 made the difference.

I hope things continue to improve.
dJivad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump